We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
FindHotel
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveller rating
84
158
76
49
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
84
158
76
49
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amazing location town square balcony room views lake
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 404 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The great location of the hotel is the major advantage of staying here. Like other package tour guests we found it insulting to be restricted to a table inside the dining area rather than next to the water like overnighters and restaurant customers. the food was very poor and staff took their cue from the old couple who ran it - they were surly and unfriendly, apart from one girl on reception and the lady who cleaned the room. So don't worry about tips. My advice to thomsons is either drop it from the brochure - which would be a shame considering the great views - or deliver an ultimatum to the matriarch in charge (if you dare) to improve food and be more flexible with seating. And to smile!

Room tip: We had room 403 which had a balcony and the most delightful lake views, plus airconditioning, You MUST have a lake view!
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 958mrJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My pregnant wife, 1 year old son and I stopped by here for dinner. The hostess was pleasant and put us at a nice table. The older woman who owns the place gave us a hard time after asking for a high chair, but in the end brought it out. She took our order with difficulty and made us feel guilty for even being in her restaurant. The food was average and the view is very nice. It took us about 20 minutes to get the bill and when we asked for the rest of our food to take away she claimed this is not a take away place. As we stood waiting she nearly ran into and tripped my pregnant wife which most other patrons noticed in shock. As we waited for our take away others exclaimed that they also had issues with her being rude and asked if we knew what was wrong with her. As we left at least 3-4 other couples remarked it's the last time they will come here. Another couple cancelled their order and just got up and left. Decided to check reviews here when we got home and wish I had done so beforehand. Everyone says he same thing, the view is nice, but the old hag ruins it all. I have also noticed someone even asked her if she reads the reviews which she bluntly replied no. So I am going to print them all out and hand deliver them to her this afternoon.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 661timw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This hotel wears it's 3* well - you get what it says on the box. Food is typical for an Italian 3* is simple, generally well cooked and plentiful. Continental breakfast only but again as much as you can eat. Rooms are on the small side but kept very clean. The hotel is small and the staff get to know you quite quickly and are always ready to help. A good grasp of basic English is common and the reception staff have a good grasp. The owner never smiles but the feel of the hotel is friendly. The major PLUS point is the hotel's position. Nearly every room has full uninterrupted lake views better than most on the lake and a balcony. The pool and restaurant are also lake side again uncommon on Como. The ferry dock, town square and promenade and bus stop are all outside the hotel. We would recommend for touring, walking and cycling trips.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night on 10/9/2013 - 11/9/2013. Hotel located very well. The promenade starts from it. Near it there is a public parking which was full when we arrived. A parking place in 8 Euro cost for one day was offered to us. We eventually found a parking place few minutes walks from there. Room small but very clean and well maintained. Bathroom size very large and comfortable. Wi Fi reception OK. Our room addressed the street and not the lake.
On the floor that we stayed on, elevator didn't reach room level and we need to carried the luggage up few stairs. No hustle but just note it. Breakfast was good. We sat on the terrace with Como lake view

Room tip: If you want to add money to room price ask for lake view
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItzikLevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Mixed feelings... The two young women on reception were fantastic when we arrived. Very accommodating and helpful. The concierge, a young guy, who seemed to the concierge, cleaner and repairman was also ever-helpful and smiling. The elderly couple who ran the hotel made it difficult to feel welcome.... They made every customer feel as if we were causing them inconvenience by our presence, and all staff had to ask their permission every time we requested something.
That being said.... The hotel is very basic, it has not been renovated in a long time. Breakfast is basic, but the dinner we had there was very good, and the wait staff were helpful and pleasant. The views across the lake is also very good.

Date of stay: September 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank stevenb818
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews