We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (711)
Filter reviews
711 results
Traveller rating
193
327
125
46
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
327
125
46
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews riviera travel ferry terminal scrambled eggs dining room lake view lovely hotel four courses melon half board swimming pool the air conditioning landing stage facing the road allocated room evening meal walk in shower lovely position
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 711 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2018

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a wonderful stay. The rooms are a little dated, but clean and comfortable. The pool was lovely and beautiful views of the lake. The breakfast was included and we all enjoyed the selection - especiallly the freshly squeezed oj. This hotel is in a great location and a short walk into town. We all loved Mennagio and hope to return one day.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

We travelled with Tui to Menaggio for my 30th Birthday, please be aware that as standard Tui rooms are not lakeside view rooms. We contacted the hotel in advance to see if we could upgrade to a lake view as it was a special birthday and they weren’t very helpful to accommodate any special requests, I saw this mentioned in a previous review also, this definitely let’s the hotel down.

It is a very quiet hotel and most of the guests are a lot older, it does make for a lovely relaxing break poolside, we never struggled to get a sun bed - even when returning back in the afternoon from a day out.

The rooms are traditionally decorated and a decent size - despite being road facing we had no problem sleeping on the 3rd floor - the air con is very good. Tea and coffee making facilities have been introduced in the room which is a nice touch. The mini bar is well stocked but very pricey.

We were half board and found the breakfast to be fine - there is a selection of fruit, yoghurts, pastries, cold meats etc as well as beans, hot dog style sausages, bacon & scrambled eggs. They are generous with the morning teas and coffee!

We enjoyed our evening meals also, 4 courses, you can tell however they are not cooked fresh and are just kept hot or reheated. It didn’t hugely disappoint us though, drinks in the hotel can be pricey.

It is a beautiful location and the pool and terrace overlooks the lake (some hotels are separated from their pool by the road so this is a huge plus!), there is a little jetty and it is right next to the Ferry port which is very useful for day trips to the other towns!

Overall we enjoyed our stay and it’s only let down by very minor points.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank rubberducky88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

Like many of the other reviews, we agree it is a wonderful hotel. It is a little dated and the decor could do with a little work doing on it. The staff were great, friendly and helpful throughout the hotel. The bar men were brilliant in making sure we never ran out of nibbles with our drinks.
The one area that the hotel let themselves down on is the food. We have stayed on all the lakes and this hotel had poor food. They had no salad bar, the food had been sat far too long under the hot lamps in the kitchen waiting to be brought out, the veg accompanying it was limited in variety and dry and there was no sign of any cheese. Plus, the dessert on the first night was disgusting, three of us never got past the first spoonful, mind you neither did others in the restaurant.
Other than that a nice hotel on the lake.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank ahmedq2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

This hotel is lakefront and has wonderful views. The staff is very responsive and very nice. That said, the hotel is a bit dated. The clientele tends to be on the older side and very content with reading by the pool. Very few families.

Breakfast was included and was good. Restaurant is decent too. That said, it felt a bit like a library, so keep that in mind.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wheels73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

We stayed in the hotel only a couple of nights however our experience was positive during the entire stay. Parking is limited, we were lucky to find the space as a couple of hours later the car park was full, with no access possible - I believe concierge had keys to be able to move the vehicles. Check in was quick and we took a lift to the first floor to our room overlooking ferry terminal. The room was clean and had a safe, kettle, tea, mini bar (limited stock), good AC, TV. Bathroom was stock with soap, shampoo, bath stuff etc and had a small walk in shower. The hotel is situated near the main town square, 5 min walk, where you can hire a boat, stop at the restaurant etc. Breakfast was excellent and the staff attentive, as expected from 4 star hotel. Our room, overlooking ferry terminal, was quiet. Swimming pool was busy and we had no luck finding a free space during our stay. The hotel interior isn't modern, it is very traditional 70-ties style (including uniforms) as I was told, dominating across the place. Would I recommend the hotel? Yes, it worked for our short stay - excellent breakfast, perfect location, clean interior are the main advantages. the only disappointment is that the hotel did ignore my request to help me surprise my Husband for his birthday (celebrated during our stay) - it is a standard practice in 4 or 5 star properties where we stayed that guests celebrating anniversary or birthday are welcomed with a symbolic cake or/and a wee bottle of wine.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews