We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place on the beach”
Review of Hotel Mara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mara
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ortona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2016

This hotel is just outside Ortona and from the street it looks like it could use a little sprucing up. This could be in part because the surrounding area isn't the nicest.

Inside, the hotel is clean and fairly modern looking. Our superior sea facing rooms were modern and clean with a large bathroom and nice linens. There was a very strange hairdryer that resembled a vacuum hose. OK to use one day, but if staying longer, take your own. We had a very large balcony which provided a nice view of the sea, beach and pool. The only problem was that we were directly over the A/C units and duct work.

The weather wasn't the greatest, but the staff did make sure their lifeguard was available when we used the pool. The outside bartender wasn't very friendly. We found all the rest of the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

Dinner was very nice at the hotel. We had quite a language barrier, but managed pretty well. Our waiter was very nice.There was a small mix-up with 2 of 4 dinners which resulted in a minor delay, but they more than made up for this and we were quite impressed.

Breakfast was good and the dining room looks out to the sea which was nice. Plenty of free parking as well.

The main purpose of our trip to Italy was to go to the Moro River Canadian War Cemetery and this hotel is only a 10 minute drive away. The Cemetery is very easy to get to from here. If we were ever to go to this area again I wouldn't hesitate at all to stay here.

Room Tip: Book the superior sea facing room-it's a lovely view. A train track is across the street, so str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bellaann2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Awesome customer care !

A special thanks to all the staff, in particular to Mr Umberto Massari , in charge for the beach services management, for his savior faire and skills .
He made me feel home .
Good food as well .

Definitely I'll be back next year !!!



Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Raf C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea_Civitarese, Direttore at Hotel Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

Dear Raf,
thanks for your review and for the words you have addressed to us.
It is very important for us to be able to create a family atmosphere, and we are pleased that we made you feel at home.

Thank you again, we look forward to welcome you back at Hotel Mara as soon as possible!

Best regards,

Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

A grand old hotel with a beach kept pristine, the sea shallow up to the man made breakers. The service at the front desk was superlative and friendly, the room ok with a small tv screen and a large balcony. Comfortable bed and very quiet location, a few Kms away from the city of Ortona, needing a car or public transport. The breakfast provided was basic, we did not try the restaurant.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Nolinice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Nice location fantastic hotel well conducted and with a Great restaurant with chef Alessandro. The rooms are big, good furnished and with quality linen , good and safe parking and with good location to joining Pescara AIrport or Ortona Harbour.
Special thanks to Andrea the director

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank valerianom48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea_Civitarese, Direttore at Hotel Mara, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Dear Valeriano,

thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor your opinion about Hotel Mara.
For us it is a great pleasure to know that we met your expectations and that we made your stay special.

Thanks for pointing out some of the strengths of our hotel, such as the excellent restaurant run by Chef Alessandro, the rooms large and comfortable, and the location ideal for both holiday and business trips.

Thanks again for the time you spent for us! We are looking forward to welcome you again to the Hotel Mara!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night during a long drive home. This was at the very beginning of the season so that the whole area looked deserted and Hotel Mara seemed to be the only hotel being open at this time. The hotel is situated between the railway and the sea. The trains are well audible even though the windows are good and prevent most of the noise in the rooms.
The hotel is very clean and the service is excellent: we had lots of special wishes with our little daughter and the staff tried everything to help and was very friendly. Food in the restaurant (only Fish on the menu, no meat!) was good.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christian_1555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ortona
4.1 km away
Hotel Ideale Ortona
Hotel Ideale Ortona
#4 of 5 in Ortona
51 reviews
5.1 km away
Hotel 4 Strade
Hotel 4 Strade
#2 of 5 in Ortona
36 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#3 of 5 in Ortona
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Katia
Hotel Katia
#5 of 5 in Ortona
23 reviews
9.6 km away
Phi Park Hotel Alcione
Phi Park Hotel Alcione
#1 of 7 in Francavilla Al Mare
254 reviews
9.6 km away
La Terrazza sul Borgo
La Terrazza sul Borgo
#1 of 2 in Villa Caldari
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mara

Address: Via Lido Riccio, 66026, Ortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of Chieti > Ortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ortona
Price Range: $117 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mara 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing