We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Miramare
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Montemare(Positano)
US$568
US$553
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$422
US$357
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$475
US$462
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$767/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Palazzo Marzoli Resort(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$410
US$391
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
La Maliosa d'Arienzo(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$264
US$254
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
B&B Casa Nilde(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$341
US$332
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$503
US$418
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$499/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Casa Buonocore(Positano)
US$226
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Agavi Hotel(Positano)
US$928
US$868
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,853
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (781)
Filter reviews
781 results
Traveller rating
645
99
27
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
645
99
27
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast roomour honeymoonamalfi coastthe main roadspecial roomcarried our bagsspectacular viewswonderful hotelcafe positanola terralarge balconyboat tourpastriesthe entire staffhalf wayi highly recommend this hotelfew steps
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 781 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

We had an excellent 3 night stay at Miramare. My wife says it’s her favorite hotel ever. The terrace views are incredible and rooms are nicer than those pictures. We had a junior suite, so not sure what the other rooms are like. Breakfast was included and it was a nice breakfast and good way to start the day. Carmela (?) was extremely nice and hospitable. I booked this solely based on TA reviews and was not disappointed. As for the steps - we are talking a 5 minute (max) walk from the bottom. If you can’t handle 5 minutes of steps once/twice per day then Positano and the entire coast probably aren’t for you. This hotel is also well located as it has great views but is also very close to the main beach area and lots of restaurants above and below. I wouldn’t want to stay above this area and below wouldn’t have as good views. Overall exceptional - just look at pics from the terrace and breakfast room

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

Staff is nice and views from the balcony are good. However, 250 steps up and down is just too much for me. I am fairly young and healthy but can't imagine this can be good for everyone. I dreaded going back up to the hotel.

Rooms here are small. Bathroom had standing room for one so we couldn't get ready together in the morning. Closet was small. Get suites if u can afford. Wouldn't recommend the rooms without balcony. Balcony saved our vacation. No space in the room so we just sat in the balcony and looked out. Service was good but they are a little standoffish.

I would have stayed at the street level if I had to do it again. There are hotels in Positano were you can ride a taxi right to their front door.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RPMP2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miramarepositano, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Miramare, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Dear Guest
thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor .
it is not easy to please everybody, and we try to do our best, going beyond and above with our effort to every single person.
in your case we are sorry you haven’t known the issue of steps at the Miramare hotel, while you were very well informed about restaurants and activities in Positano ahead of time. I also feel sorry, you refused to switch room with a bigger one, on check in date, probably because was out of your budget.
I thank you for the smile you gave us every day responding to our sincere smile
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

Where do we start......

Firstly, Positano is on the side of cliffs - so there are steps and lots of them. From the Hotel there are 201 steps down to the beach and 150 back to the road above. Welcome to Amalfi coast where steps are just how it is. Now we have that out of the way.....

We arrived by car - we could park approx 100m and 150 steps from the hotel. You message hotel on the intercom (we had instructions of where to go) and parked. Back packs on we walked up the road a little and down 150 odd steps to the hotel.

We booked a suite - room 209 which was amazing. Not cheap but worth it. The view is breath taking. We have established that Positano is beautiful, this hotel is amazing where it is placed as it gives you parking (25euro a night and worth it) and it gives you options - down to the beach with the many eating spots or up to just as many. Bfast is sensational with a huge variety of options and again overlooking the view.

While all this is great - then comes the icing on the cake - the Staff!! Carmella, Rosita and Nicola. There are no words that do justice to the work they put in to make this hotel what it is. The vibe is amazing (see my review on Fontana in Amalfi regarding vibe). They are so helpful and set the tone for your entire stay. What Rosita doesn't know about the Amalfi coast isn't worth knowing and she knows every nook and cranny of Positano with great eating recommendations and even shopping. Her enthusiasm for the area is infectious and the time she takes to help you with everything is just brilliant. I think she saved us hours and hours with her guidance and recommendations.

We can not recommend this hotel more highly.

Michael and Karen (Sydney Australia)

Room Tip: we had 209 - a suite and was sensational.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hankfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

Hotel Miramare's location is great. The views are absolutely incredible.

But that is what you're paying for -- the views. We were not impressed with our room (212); it felt very dated and was quite small. The bathroom was very small as well. I understand this is Positano, who is staying in their room anyway... But for the price, know you are paying for the views only. I'm not sure if all rooms have balconies, but it would not be worth it without.

We would not recommend to others or stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alyssa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

We looked around quite a bit before selecting Miramare as this was our first stay in Positano. In terms of location, this place really can’t be beat. Steps from the ocean yet far enough away to be quiet. The staff is wonderful as well -- they went out of their way to talk with us and make sure that we had a pleasant stay. If you can, I would definitely recommend the rooms in the annex. They’re about 100 feet away from the main building, but bigger and quieter. If you stay in the main building, you might have people walking outside of your room on the way to breakfast. And speaking of breakfast, that room is just heaven on earth. One of the best breakfast views in the world with a nice selection of food.

Pros:
-Great staff, very friendly and knowledgeable.
-Ideal location – about 5-7 minute walk down to the beach, and 3 mins down from some great restaurants.
-Incredible views from our room (we had a room in the annex but I believe every room has an ocean view)
-Reasonably quiet – no street noise. I’m a light sleeper and slept great here.

Cons:
-Bathroom was a bit small compared to the rest of the room. Like we had a gigantic room but hardly any counter space in the bathroom.
-Hallways definitely echoed because of the tile floors and stucco walls. Luckily we were in the annex so only shared 2 neighbors but could be an issue in the main building, especially because you have to walk by several rooms to get to the breakfast room.

Note that their private boat tour only runs during the summertime. We were a bit disappointed that it wasn’t offered since we stayed in mid-April.

Overall a pleasant stay. Would certainly consider staying here again!

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex seem to be quieter
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews