We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Park Hotel Gran Bosco
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Reviewed 17 March 2017

I know this hotel is only a 3 star and in ski resort so possibly deserves the benefit of the doubt but it really was average at best. That said we had a fantastic weeks' skiing thanks to the bucket loads of snow we had and just generally Sauze being such a fantastic resort. Brilliantly linked to other ski areas.. anyway - the hotel is what I am reviewing.
So - on arrival we got checked in, there was an odd smell in the lobby and the room smelt slightly of drains so not a great start but that went pretty quickly. Staff weren't particularly friendly other than the servers in the dining room who were lovely. Room had a little balcony, bathroom was nice and large but tiny shower. No bath, which really is needed after a days skiing. Hairdryer (wall one) and plenty of storage but no tea and coffee making facilities (a bit of a European thing) and when we did have a pot of tea one afternoon when returning from the slopes we were charged for it which I thought was a bit steep. Hotel is a 10 min walk from town, we left our skis and boots at the rental place in town so some days we walked back. Gigi is on hand though for trips otherwise but watch his dinner time if you are out on Apres! Breakfast was ok but the 'hot' water for tea was never really hot enough. Orange juice one day they had clearly forgotten to re-juice it. That said mini baguettes were fresh, bread for the toastie machine however was dry. Cereal and yoghurt but def could have done with an egg.
Dinner was good for filling you up, was ok, not amazing... if you have experienced really good Italian food you will know what I mean but some of it was delicious. It was just a bit hit and miss. We ate out a few nights which worked well. Wine was good value at the hotel €9 a bottle for house and it was good. When we settled our bill and checked out I found the reception lady quite rude when we queried the bill and she had made an error. Also we got locked out of our room on a number of occasions due to the key not working, this was irritating, as was the toilet that kept refilling. Other than that a great week, would definitely return to Sauze but not to this hotel. Stayed in La Torre 4 years ago and this is in another league so would pay the extra next time. I hope this is useful.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidgetGemT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2017

As the title says there is good and bad.
1. Room generally good but the shower (No bath) is only for rather small and thin people so Poor.
2. Breakfast / Dinner all i can say is rubbish. They cannot even stretch to a boiled egg and the quality of food served at dinner well i will say no more but plenty of good restaurants in town. The waitresses are very nice though.
3. The distance into town isnt a problem to walk but there is the brilliant GiGi who is willing to transport you around.
Had a great weeks skiing though !!!

Room Tip: The front rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank christopherjohnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

The hotel is a 10.min walk from town but the minibus allows for easy trips to and from the slopes .The rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean plenty of hot water and very warm.Breakfast is continental the only complaint was drinks were poor from a machine take a travel kettle! Evening meals were mixed in quality but there was always plenty to eat .The staff were very efficient and friendly overall a really enjoyable trip with excellent skiing

Room Tip: First floor rooms over the dining room will hear chairs being moved for cleaning front rooms have gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Great hotel. 10/15 min walk to town which was very flat and pleasant. (Slight slope to hotel itself) Free transport from Gigi wherever and whenever needed just a phone call away-made the fantastic quiet location completely doable without missing out on town activities and skiing.
Great views from hotel and food and hospitality great. We did B and B but ate in the restaurant on our last night-excellent food and value for money.
Sauze Doulx as great as ever-great après ski extensive skiing, great restaurants and reasonable cost.

Room Tip: Top floor (2nd) good so no one above you. Views great from everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We stayed for a week with a large organized group (65 people) and had many problems with the management. One week before we arrived, they announced that the hotel was overbooked and that we can no longer stay there together, as a group. They offered a reservation for part of the group in another hotel (La Terrazza - much better option) which caused us to spend the holiday separated. Even though they initially said we could all have dinner together, after we arrived there they said it was not possible.
The managers have zero hospitality skills, with no regard towards client requests, even when serious problems are mentioned (like no heating in room).
The staff was nice and friendly, but only as much as management allowed. You cannot have anything except what they want to offer you for breakfast (like boiled eggs), not even if you are willing to pay for them.
The hotel is far from the center (about 30 minutes walking) and they offer a free shuttle service with the help of Mr Gigi, a very nice and friendly person who did his best to help everyone, but without having too many options to do so (one driver for so many people).

If you want a nice and stress free holiday, do not stay here! There are many other options closer to the center and with much better services.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leevvvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sauze d'Oulx hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Stella Alpina
Hotel Stella Alpina
#4 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
235 reviews
1.3 km away
Petit Bed & Breakfast
Petit Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
39 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Gran Baita
Hotel Gran Baita
#1 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#22 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
103 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Relais Des Alpes
Hotel Relais Des Alpes
#5 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
268 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#9 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Gran Bosco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Gran Bosco

Address: Via Monfol 48, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sauze d'Oulx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Price Range: $155 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel Gran Bosco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel of new construction in the area of Grand Villard, is located about 900 meters from the center of the village. Completely surrounded by greenery in panoramic position, overlooking the entire valley. It offers 40 rooms furnished in alpine style, all with private bathrooms, some are equipped for wheelchair users. A small wellness area with sauna and jacuzzi awaits the customer who wants to relax in a serene atmosphere. During the winter season offers its own shuttle service to/from the slopes. Free outdoor parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Park Hotel Gran Bosco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing