We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Podere Violino
Nearby Hotels
Hotel La Balestra(Sansepolcro)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anghiari Hotel(Anghiari)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Euro Hotel(Pieve Santo Stefano)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Borgo Palace Hotel(Sansepolcro)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relais Oroscopo(Sansepolcro)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
B&B Biribino(Citta di Castello)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveller rating
188
180
37
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
180
37
9
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 417 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Podere Violino was our base for a week in July when following the 'Piero della Francesca Trail'. It's ideally placed, if you have a car, being a few minutes drive from Sansepolcro, a pleasant town with plenty of good shops and restaurants as well as the Civic Museum (with 2 Piero paintings), Duomo and other historic attractions. It's also about half an hour from Arezzo, and about an hour and a half from Urbino over the hairpin bends of the mountain route. There's loads to see in this area, including plenty of ancient hilltop towns within easy reach, such as Anghiari, Monterchi and Cisterna, all very quiet, few tourists around, but excellent maps, tourist info etc, and free parking at the edge of the town. Very scenic area, lots of sunflower fields and steep wooded hills. We also visited Siena (1.5 hours away), Perugia and Assisi (both about 1 hour) and Citta di Castello (20 mins).

Podere is a charming restored Tuscan farmhouse, we had a lovely room with ancient beamed ceiling, shuttered windows (with mosquito screens - worked well), big comfortable bed and private bathroom, all clean and spacious. The pool and sunbathing area was lovely especially after sightseeing on a hot day. There were a few flies around so insect repellent is worth packing, but not really a big problem. The restaurant was great, so convenient being on site, we ate on the terrace four evenings out of our seven, and had excellent, simple local food. The Siena da Cinto (?) pork steak, a local speciality, was possibly the best meat I've eaten, so tender and flavoursome. Also delicious were the grilled vegetables, and the hot crostini starters, and the pasta dishes with local mushrooms and truffles, and the pecorino cheese (we asked for some instead of dessert to finish off our wine with, and they brought us a lovely plate of three or four varieties). Breakfasts were buffet-style, plenty of coffee, juice, cereals, fruit, croissants, cakes, cheese, ham, eggs, etc. The staff were quiet but efficient and everything ran well. It was excellent value for money, we won't hesitate to recommend it to our friends and would return if we visit this area in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brinscall001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Wonderful setting and charming premises. However the breakfast buffet was very standard and never ready on time. The Restaurant's menu was almost totally the same day in day out. The bar was unattended most times and the place is infested by musquitos which are treasured by the staff as their presence guarantees close encounters with swifts. 15 days after leaving we are still counting the bites.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank LuciA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Podere Violino in Sansepolcro is a family run hotel on the banks of the Tiber river which is an excellent fly fishing beat for trout and grayling.

The staff are always friendly and available for all your request. The Chef is excellent and his meals will make you stay extremely pleasant. Great for family holidays. There is a beautifully kept garden, a pool and there are horse riding facilties right next door!

Room Tip: Rooms in the old part are more quaint
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moreno B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This hotel was really everything we (as a young familiy) were looking for:

- the staff was very very nice, they treated our 3 years old daughter (Yana!) as their own!
- the king size room was very beautiful and clean
- great restaurant: Stefano & Fabio every day worked with fresh ingredients
even when the restaurant was (everynight) fully booked, they first prepared dinner for our daughter!!
So she could go and play in the garden and we could dine at ease :-)
I suggest to make reservations for the restaurant, because people come from a long distance to eat over there. It's very very good!!!
- there's a garden with playtoys for the children
- great swimming pool

and there was.. Stella; the hotel-dog!
That was even the biggest attraction for our child!

On Monday & Tuesday the restaurant is closed for lunch, but you are allowed to picnick (bread,...from the supermarket) on the terrace!

We will surely come back and allready recommended Podere Violino at our friends, parents and colleaugues!

|Baci da Yana, Monisha & David|
||Lummen, Belgio||

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monisha-David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Podere Violino deserves an Excellent rating because (1) location near the Piero della Francesca towns; (2) private, park-like setting -- pool, playground, and an equestrian center; (3) main building and bedrooms that have old farmhouse estate character; (4) terrific staff; (5) excellent restaurant; (4) bar available all day; (6) all for 85 euros a night. Italian couples and families were enjoying a weekend in the country while we followed the trail of Piero della Francesca's painting and explored local fairs and ancient towns. Breakfast was a large spread that included homemade cakes. At dinner, we enjoyed entrees that included wild boar. Our waitress brought us a special liqueur and the biscuits that go with it -- on the house. The receptionist kept us with our wanderings and suggested a very good restaurant in Sansepulcro for our last night (Podere Violino is 5 minutes outside Sansepulcro.) Location, Value, Charm, and Friendly Helpfulness are my keys to a favorite lodging. I don't like chain hotels or resorts. I'd love to return to Podere Violino. They also offer spa items like massages, but I didn't have one; also, they have a nice looking pool, but we were ahead of swim season.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the main building
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colona1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews