We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A service to dream about”
Review of Hotel Stella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Stella
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sulmona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 31 July 2016

A small hotel, with a "just perfect" accommodation. The people running it provide you with a service you only have seen in movie pictures. You feel it: they are doing this with their whole heart and want their Stella to be the best place for you.

Room Tip: Once night, it is quit all over the place. All rooms are just freshened up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dirk D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 292 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

We had the best time! They welcomed us as if we were long lost cousins.The room and location are perfect. Breakfast was delicious. Sulmona is a wonderful town. I highly recommend you spending some time here. Go for the Confetti and stay for the food. You will love it. We did!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016

This hotel was recommended by a good friend who has family in Sulmona. After researching we decided to book this for three nights. We were visiting my grandfathers birth place for the first time. We could not have had a better experience. Staying at this hotel was like staying at an upscale bed and breakfast. The hotel is family run by mostly 2 brothers with assistance by their mother. Both brothers went out of their way to assist my wife and I. They assisted us with finding restaurants, parking, and booking a hotel in Pineto our next destination. The room was clean with a nice bed and a spacious bathroom. The continental breakfast was better than we expected. They even offered to cook eggs if we wished. Hoping to return to Sulmona and we would not stay anywhere else. The hotel was located on a side street off of Sulmona's Main Street with a short walk to the Piazza Garabaldi and many other sites in town.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms seemed newly renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank brojohnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2016

One night in January...biggest double bed I have ever slept in! Cafe breakfast was delicious and staff were so helpful. Would happily go back to this lovely town and very central hotel right by the Town Hall.

Room Tip: 2nd floor was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LadyBountiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2015

Sulmona must be a good place to ride your bike and Stella certainly accommodates. We stayed there for the night on our tour of Abruzzi and we already noticed bike clothes hanging to dry out of one of the windows. This probably wouldn't be permissible in the US but we weren't in the US. They allowed us to store our bikes in the restaurant and we noticed at least 4 other bikes there.

The staff was very nice and accommodating. However, my two main gripes is that the bathroom was very tight despite the room being spacious, even with an extra hallway for the closet. The bathroom could have used a makeover but at €80, I guess I'm not staying at a luxury hotel.

The second gripe I have is that thought the wifi is free, it was not working on the 2nd floor with our iPhones. The guy at the front desk was helpful by rebooting the router. Unfortunately, it just didn't seem to work for some reason. He said that iPhones have issues whereas other devices like Android don't. Normally, I would say that is a bunch of BS. However, my Garmin had no trouble connecting to it and uploading my ride. This is the first time I've ever encountered such a situation, so I'm inclined to say that it's their setup that was the culprit.

I don't remember what the breakfast was like, so it must have been OK. However, when we asked to fill our water bottles in the morning, they used the water from the bar rather than from the faucet even though we told them it was OK to just give us water from the faucet. That was very nice of them.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank man910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sulmona
0.1 km away
Hotel Rojan
Hotel Rojan
#1 of 5 in Sulmona
416 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Santacroce Ovidius & Spa
4.6 km away
Hotel Santacroce Meeting
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Manhattan Village Hotel
Manhattan Village Hotel
#5 of 5 in Sulmona
92 reviews
26.2 km away
Garni Il Riccio
Garni Il Riccio
#1 of 25 in Roccaraso
532 reviews
5.4 km away
Villa Giovina
Villa Giovina
#1 of 1 in Pratola Peligna
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella

Address: Largo Mazara 18, 67039, Sulmona, Italy
Region: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of L'Aquila > Sulmona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sulmona
#2 Green Hotel in Sulmona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sulmona
Price Range: $111 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Stella 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to hotel “Stella” caffetteria “Bono vino&caffè”Located in the historical heart of Sulmona, not far by foot from the main tourist sites.Common areas, the reception and all our rooms recently renovated (2005), are the the perfect union of classic and modern style, conceived to satisfy whichever guest.All the mod cons of a big hotel together with a warm welcome and careful personalization of service that only a small hotel can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Stella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Stella Ristorante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing