We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Koh Kho Khao Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
US$55
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Water Palm Resort(Khao Lak)(Great Value!)
US$17
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Menara(Takua Pa)
US$128
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$248
US$167
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
16
26
15
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
26
15
4
5
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had a wonderful time, great beach, warm sea, friendly and helpful staff and a nice restaurant.
It is a quiet location so perfect for romantic couples, for couples that need to rediscover romance and for families with young children. In general I would not recommand a visit to the island for anybody between 15 and 28.
Furthermore, rent a scooter and discover the island, there is plenty to see in a day or two.
Have lunch and spend af we Horus at Hapla Beach cottages where the best Pad Thai ever is served. Next day, go all the way (.....about 25 minutes) up to the North to Sunset Seafood and ask for a grilled fish for lunch, enjoy the extremely wide and white beach. Just take some paths by scooter and discover unfound places and near-deserted beaches. We loved it but after about 4-5 days max its time to leave the island. Enjoy !

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank HollandRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Koh Kho Khao Resort between 14th and 30th March 2013 (two adults, boy of nine years and boy of 7 months)

The service is in general good. The taxiservice from the hotel is very fair prized and even cheaper than local taxis. Also we will highlight the service in the Chapa restaurant (lots of smiles and attentive staff) and at the tour desk, at which we had many good chats. On the other hand, the service level in the supermarket was near zero. No smiles and very limited supply of goods. An advice: Don't expect the supermarket to have what you need (except water, beer etc.). You will have to take a taxi to the pier to find better supermarkets.

Normally, traveling with a baby in Thailand is uncomplicated, but luckily for us, we brought our own baby food. It was not possible to get special baby food in nearby supermarkets. Nearest is about and hour away in car.

Quality of dinner at the resort is standard but quality of breakfast is below. The selection is limited and very standard. We have absolutely seen better.

If you don't want to consume the food at the hotel in the evenings, there are other possibilities - either walk left down the beach (appr. 800 meter to Lazy House at the beach) or further for other restaurants. Alternatively, have the hotel to drive you to the pier, where a few restaurants is located. Ko Kai have absolutely the best food on the island (among the places we visited).

The area and especially the buildings have seen better times and could need some repair and better maintenance.

The beach is good with fine white sand, but the sea water was unclear during our stay.

It was difficult for us to understand why there was no pool bar.

Furthermore, we will highlight the free free wi-fi in the resort area, which worked flawlessly during our stay. In these modern times, free and fast internet must absolutely be standard in all hotels. ;)

The resort offers a convenient location for visits to many places as for instance the Similan and Surin Islands, Khao Sok National Park etc. It was our experience that the quality of the tours was above standard.

We looked for at very quiet resort and we got what we looked for. Can absolutely be recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank johnfl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Well what can I say, it is quiet, far away from the mess that the big tourist areas can bring. The rooms are basic but clean (note clean freaks please do not look too hard!) The breakfasts are very basic however you need to know that all the food comes by long tail boat from the main land. Thai food is great with an egg, fruit and salad - what more could you really ask for. Dinner is better as they are not trying to cater exclusively western tastes.
The beach was great to swim in, clean however not clear water. It is however very quiet. If you head to the right of the resort looking outwards there truly is very little to nothin, Robinson Caruso here I come.
If you want to do excursion book from the hotel otherwise outsiders will charge you a premium for coming to collect you from the pier across on the mainland. Most of the tours you can imagine are listed at a very reasonable price. Any you find that are not listed just ask, they will go out of there way to help you.
There are restaurant to the left of the resort a short walk from the resort up the beach or for a small set fee you can you to the local peir where there are about a dozen choices to restaurants. We ate at several and all were good. Stand out was Chili and one up the beach to the lesft past the first resort.... Sorry it was a beach restaurant, cannot recall the name.
Just up from the resort is Blind Man Massage - excellent, two women and a beautiful blind man delivery top notch massage treatments with a bonus of some fresh fruit to take away when you leave.
all in all a great cheap family holiday.
ps dont bother goign too far to shop the little local shops at the island pier have the same cheap clothes as Khao Lak 30 minutes down the road.
Beware - cash is king re tours, dinners, massages AND there is only one ATM on the island - out of money two times we tried - once was ok. The hotel does not change money, merry go round, they send you to the tour operater who send you to the hotel! Snap...... a 20BHT ride on a long tail across to the mainland, oh no ATM or money changer, 100 BHT ride on a motor bike to the nearest ATM some 4 kms away - I do not like motor bikes...... the sacrifices one makes!

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the reception are wings, noisy chair scrappings all night long. Plus the AC units are on the ground floor so try for level three out on the wings. There is no room service nor fitness centre.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAZJMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Our second time on the Island, our first stay on this resort.

The island is really quiet and calm - and we value this, but make sure you are ready for a really quiet and relaxing time. The beach is nice BUT the water is muddy. Not clear. But you will have the whole beach to yourself - a rare pleasure.

The Hotel:


+ Beach side
+ Fast service at the restaurant
+ Restaurand actually good
+ Friendly staff generally

- not clean ( we had to change rooms because of pests)
- A bit isolated (far from other restaurants at pier etc)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Beautiful surroundings in the middle of nowhere. The hotel is nice, you can eat your breakfast or dinner between the palm trees in the sand. There is nothing to do here other than relax. Bathing in the pool or see or sunbathing.
The rooms and pool are clean but some roach find its way into our room true the gap in the balcony door. I guess that’s the price to pay for living so close to nature.
There were a lot of rumors about numerous cobras in the pool toilet but we newer sow any.
Try the restaurant Crazy house about 2km walk on the beach!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aakira123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews