We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Dodleston
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Take an off the beaten track location in Dodleston, a menu bursting with fresh seasonal dishes and a cellar full of real ales and fine wines and you have the ingredients for the perfect country pub and restaurant. It's a winning formula of traditional mixed with a few contemporary touches that makes The Red Lion a special place to visit.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely little local pub, great staff and great customers. Love the food, delicious. Will be back before we head home to NZ!

Thank mollycat232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Wow, NZ :) that's great, you can spread the word over there and we may see some of your friends when they visit! Thanks for you custom and we'll see you before you leave.
Kind regards
Sue Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was a Friday lunchtime catch up with a friend,and she suggested here for a change. She had visited a few weeks ago with colleagues.
No sparkling water and waitress didn’t know or had a suggestion for a non alcoholic drink.
Anyway we ordered ... my friend the apple and parsnip soup and I ordered the prawn and lobster cocktail..... followed by the fish pie and Wagyu burger.
The soup was a little thick and had an awful after taste,really bitter.This was pointed out to the waitress at the end.The prawn and lobster cocktail was prawns and a few flakes of lobster (looked more like crab to me ) and a tiny amount of sauce.
My friend seemed happy enough with her fish pie.The Wagyu burger was juicy and the chips were ok.
Nothing on the sweet menu hit me ,so as my friend had the hot drink and dessert on her last visit so I plumped for the same. Treacle and pecan tart for my friend which she enjoyed and an Eton mess for me.
My friend enjoyed her extra hot latte and I was very disappointed with an awful espresso.
Nice location in the village and good outside seating.
Seemed popular,but not for me.

Thank Anwen62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are disappointed to hear that you did not have a more positive experience with us at The Red Lion, Dodleston. It is a shame as your friend seemed to have a much better experience. The menu choice is preference and unfortunately we cannot cater for everyone. Thanks for taking the time to send a review and we hope you enjoy your day.
Regards
Team Red

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Mr Jones surprised me by taking me here early one Saturday evening. Hadn’t booked but got a table straight away. Food was really tasty. I’m really fussy but there was several meals I would like to try - very unusual. Great Service too. We will be back soon

Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Diane, thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review! Mr Jones definately has good taste and brought you to our wonderful pub. Did you try any of our puddings? I can strongly recommend the raspberry milkshake cheesecake. We do hope to see you again soon and look forward to your next review.
Many thanks
Sue Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went on Friday evening with my wife and two friends . We have been there on several occasions and got a table straight away. This time we booked and waited 30 minutes to sit down. Service was quite efficient . Food came and was very nice apart from both rib-eye steaks being a bit chewy. The rest of the food was fine. I must give a big shout out to our waitress CLAIRE i wish we had here on other visits. Nothing was too much trouble. If not for her the rating would be three. Every time we go there the food is fine but the service lets them down but not this time. Perhaps they need to employ more like Claire.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gareth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Gareth, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here (especially Claire) at The Red Lion, Dodleston!
Hope to see you again soon.
Team Red

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

The Red Lion is only a short drive outside of Chester but could be 100's of miles away. it is a lovely village inn with a sunny beer garden. food and drinks always good. .

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cappleton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, thank you so much for your positive comments about The Red Lion, Dodleston! It is truly all that you have said. Beautiful pub in a beautiful location.
Kind regards
Sue Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing