We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$109
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$92
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/12/21
Lol.travel
US$85
View deal
PricelineUS$121
Hotels.comUS$92
HurbUS$123
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
84
93
57
38
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
84
93
57
38
34
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 306 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2020 via mobile

The front desk staff was very nice, the rooms use a regular key so it’s a bit disappointing to take the key to everywhere, the Italian restaurant serves excellent food , the pool was very clean, but my complaint is that the staff doesn’t wear their face masks properly, and the maid came by for the room service but she didn’t wear the face mask at all.
The spa was great! We really enjoy it !

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank Nelsy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 March 2020

We were here a few years ago and found the Martino perfect for us. That trip we took some local tours to the Paos Valley and San Jose. It is close to the airport, easy to find by car and close to most major roads in Costa Rica. Room was spacious, all done in natural wood. I do not get the negative reviews. It is extremely clean, beautiful pool, wonderful staff, budget friendly and a lovely breakfast with fruit, juices and hot breakfast of your choice cooked to order. It's not the great resort you may have in mind, more of a great boutique hotel for a short stay. I'll be back.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tangi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 February 2020

This hotel is so falsely advertised it's disturbing and the entire property looks to be in disrepair .
the first room we booked in the villa was Dark, old musty and dusty smelled like an antique shop so we had to request another option.
Ths second room option we saw was upstairs in the villa Had only one old queen size bed in a room with no air-conditioning and in the room that had the air conditioning next to it was an old dirty couch that pulled out into a bed and only had one uncovered piece of foam as a mattress. My daughter saw the foam and said Mommy I can't sleep on that .
Finally they said they had a room in a newer building yet it had no decorations no toiletries old bedding dirty walls in the bathroom and old uncomfortable beds.
Their website & Name suggest a luxurious Spa that only has one maybe two practitioners working at any given point in time.
Still the spa is the nicest part of the entire property ... yet even there the equipment they are using to do manicures and pedicures look old with dirty cushions and looks like it was handmade 40 years ago..
We called to book services weeks prior to our arrival and they told us we needed to wait until our arrival.. then when we arrived and tried to book our services they told us they were booked up for the day and so when we tried to book the next day we had to wait all day to find out if they could get a practitioner to come.
Then By dinner time they told us they could do a couples massage as well as manicures and pedicures for my family Yet when our massage rolled around they only had one massage therapist and one other practitioner doing manicures and pedicures available and so we had to get our massage services done separately while the other practitioner there did manicures and pedicures .. though the two girls working were absolutely wonderful I feel like they are struggling in a spa with no support from a business that looks like it could be going out of business any day now.
Their web site touts four bars but actually only has one working bar and sever and several abandoned spaces that look like they once were bars. The property has a room with a neon sign that says casino that is only used as a church on Sundays and several other event buildings that are empty and have been abandoned and look like they have not been used in years. The website also says there are shops on the property which is not true only a boarded up building that says art studio. There is no gift shop only display cases along the walls with sparsely added items for sale. Everything about this hotel is falsely advertised and looks as though it might have been nice in its heyday possibly 50 years ago. Though now it looks like it's aging rapidly and is understaffed and not cared for as it once was.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 February 2020 via mobile

grounds of the resort are well maintained and tranquil. certainly a great value for the price and perfect for the night of arrival to CR or prior to departure. about 15 minutes from the airport.
if your looking a luxury property, this is likely not for you. the interior of the rooms/Villa's are a bit dated, but very adequate.

the pool is great and the onsite Italian restaurant is great.

a hidden gem.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mikewC1707GH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 October 2019

Service is at times unfired and pedantic. The food is poor. Rooms are definitely in need of a refurbishment. Forget about this hotel if you have a physical handicap: too many stairs to go everywhere. Very isolated and far away from the city... won't go back

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Palmeroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews