We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Le Meysset
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
La Verperie(Sarlat-la-Caneda)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Le Madrigal(Sarlat-la-Caneda)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Clos La Boetie(Sarlat-la-Caneda)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de Compostelle(Sarlat-la-Caneda)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel de Selves(Sarlat-la-Caneda)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Les Remparts(Sarlat-la-Caneda)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel de la Pagezie(Sarlat-la-Caneda)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plaza Madeleine & Spa(Sarlat-la-Caneda)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel des Recollets(Sarlat-la-Caneda)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
La Villa des Consuls(Sarlat-la-Caneda)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
73
61
29
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
61
29
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are smallbed was very comfortabledordogne valleysaturday marketcroissantsterracesarlatlounge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

I was here as part of a group of 14. The rooms are small, but most hotel rooms in Europe seem small, so that's ok. It was cold and rainy while we were there, and the hotel was unable to turn on the heat. Also, the food was disappointing. Cold hb eggs for breakfast (but fantastic croissants!). The only dinner we had there was not liked by the majority of our group. (It may have been the gizzards.) And the pool, probably the reason Odyssey uses this hotel without A/C , had a ring of algae around the sides. Also, it's a short ride but a long walk into town. Stay here if you have wheels, and want that authentic summer camp experience. If not, choose someplace more modern and centrally located.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Susan1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent P, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Meysset, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear guest,
doing our own statistics, the majority of groups we recieve are satisfied with our hotel and restaurant.
There is not algae in the swimming pool (that was closed at the time you came by the way because of the bad weather). The change of color on the ring is due to suncreams swimmers use reacting with the sun. The swimming pool is regularly controled by an external technician according to French regulations.

Best regards,

Vincent and Janetta Peyruse, owners
Louise,Eric, Gilles, Jessica, Elisabete, Maria, Sabrina, Julie, the Meysset team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

This was a transit stop for us on the way to Spain. Le Meysset is set on a wooded hill side which overlooks Sarlat. The hotel rooms are set out over three (or even possibly 4) floors of the main building.. We had a basement floor room with its own terrace. The room size was fine and modern. There ios an outdoor pool - but not used on this occasion.
The breakfast buffet was simple and adequate. However, no hot food on offer.
Would definitely consider staying here again if stopping off in this area of the Dordogne valley.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank spmmik53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent P, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Meysset, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Dear Client,

thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and we would be very pleased to welcome you for your next stopover or holidays in Perigord !

Janetta et Vincent Peyruse, propriétaires
Louise, Eric, Julie, Sabrina, Maria, Elisabete, Jessica, Gilles, the Meysset team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We stayed here 3 nights with a small tour group. As others have noted, the rooms are very small. We were placed in #101 which was in dire need of a refresh. The carpeting was dirty and the bed was lumpy. There were few amenities provided in the bathroom - just shampoo and the smallest piece of soap! We had to ask (several times) for more soap and for the tissues to be replaced.
The dinners we had were not very good. After seeing all the wonderful produce at the Saturday market, we were surprised that there were hardly any vegetables served with the entrees. There were no cheeses or fresh fruits either.
Their website shows a very lovely sitting room, but the fireplace needs a good cleaning. The room reeked of soot.
We did not find the owners to be outgoing or friendly even though we passed them several times in the small lobby.
The property is too far from Sarlat to walk to so you are pretty much stuck here if you don't have a car.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DestinyRides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Meysset, Gérant at Hotel Le Meysset, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2016

Thank you for your comment. The sizes of the rooms are different depending on their category (standard, superior or suite). Even traveling with a group, it is possible, depending on availability and on request, to stay in a suite.
Bathrooms are equipped on arrival with 2 shower gels and 2 soaps, they are replaced daily as well as toilet paper and facial tissues. There is also a soap dispenser in the shower.
Regarding meals, know that our chef stocks at the market, our dishes are served with vegetables and starchy and as the fresh fruit salad is made every morning for breakfast it is possible to request a fruit instead of dessert if it does not suit you.
The fireplace work on request of our customers, it is normal that a smoke odor can be detected.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016

As part of a tour we spent three nights in this hotel. Our room was very small. WI-Fi reception in the room was non-existent and was very spotty in the lounge and dining area. This was the only hotel or lunch/dinner location that the tour provider arranged that did NOT include wine with the meal. The prices for wine was not high, but it was an unexpected downer. The view over Sarlat from the terrace was good, but it did not compensate for the hotel's deficiencies. We had three dinners in the hotel's restaurant; they were were acceptable, but nothing to rave about. We suspect that accommodations for a group of 20 is hard to come by in Sarlat.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realbigbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Meysset, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Meysset, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2016

Thank you for your reviews, we had problems with the internet during your stay and we apologize. This is beyond our control and know that we are the first penalized! We pay particular attention to welcoming our groups and we take into account your comments to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

This lovely hotel is located in an idyllic setting, with a wonderful and helpful staff. Our only problem was our room was located on the third floor and it was quite a hot 3 nights. Dinners were average.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Twin1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Meysset, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Meysset, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Dear client,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Meysset. Indeed, this summer was particularly hot. So we set air-conditionning in rooms on the third floor.

We hope we can welcome you again for cooler nights in Dordogne :-)

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews