We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely and Inviting”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Henley on Klip
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tree of Idleness Guest House
Reviewed 11 April 2016

I loved my stay at the Tree of Idleness, my room was clean, warm & cozy & I was given my space as I am a very private person with all my needs been met at the same time. I am a very fussy eater & I found the food to be delicious & homely. The garden is beautiful & tranquil with lots of bird life, a wonderful place to stay, a home away from home. Thank you Dee for making me feel so welcome,I will come and visit again soon,so looking forward to seeing you soon.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belbinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2016

The Tree of Idleness was my home away from home, in a tranquil setting, I relaxed into the natural feel of the venue without a worry in the world - all possible thanks to the helpful owner and both quintessential surrounds and amenities. A special thanks, considering my specific requests which were handled flawlessly.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nathannisbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2015

I was very concerned about my stay at this B&B considering my needs included being complicated by organising a party of 6 diverse people, specifically considering the previous mixed reviews.
I was VERY pleasantly surprised at how the owner run facility went out their way to accommodate my needs. The rustic country style and old fashioned hospitality oozed from every interaction from the classical furnishings to the homemade catering. The owner even arranged secondary accommodation when our stay needed to be extended.
If you are looking for Holiday Inn style bland accommodation then look elsewhere, if you are looking for charm, beauty, tranquillity and old fashioned hospitality, or less just wanting to be left alone in this beautiful village then The Tree of Idleness is STRONGLY recommended.
Thank you Denise for a lovely stay. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Variety of rooms/services from a quiet back room with self catering, to a budget honeymoon suite and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gettothefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2015

Nothing like advertised in their brochure - it's a ramshackle dump, old, rundown, dirty & smells of old furniture & incense everywhere. The staff have no idea of guest relations - a helper/cleaner was scouring her heels right at the porch entrance to the rooms - eeeuuuww!!! Charging R580 per couple per night & then I was given the 'early bird' special of R500 - payment to be made in full beforehand - I should have listened to the alarm bells screaming in my head! Seriously not worth even R200/night. Damn that I didn't take photos! Let's see if I can reverse the payment I made...

Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
2  Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The Tree of Idleness gave me back my Soul. I escaped to this little piece of Heaven here during the Break-up of my Marriage. I found Peace, Solace, Whispering Trees, Birdsong and Care in this Green Paradise at extremely Low Rates.
The Owner, a charming loving Hostess, stayed out of my face giving me the peace of feeling That I was Living in My Own Home!
THANK-YOU THE TREE OF IDLENESS GUEST HOUSE
I LOVE YOU AND DEE TOO!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Tree of Idleness Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tree of Idleness Guest House

Address: 1645 Windsor Avenue | Henley on Klip, Henley on Klip, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Henley on Klip
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Henley on Klip
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing