We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotellerie du Bas-Breau
Nearby Hotels
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budget Hotel(Dammarie-les-Lys)
US$62
US$60
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
US$76
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Victoria(Fontainebleau)
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel de Londres(Fontainebleau)
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$91
US$87
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Le Richelieu(Fontainebleau)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Aigle Noir Hotel(Fontainebleau)
US$151
US$145
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
53
49
44
34
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
49
44
34
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbas breaudining roomfirst classup to datemain restaurantexcellent foodcountry innthe main streetcheeseedgevillagebistroforestfontainebleauexpectationsdishescentury
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2016

This hotel is set in a very nice surrounding. I like the charming decor and the receptionist is also very helpful. We dined at the hotel and every meal was well prepared. However, not all staff is that friendly and the room I stayed at Room 17, although very spacious and has a lot of charm in it do need some updating. The bathroom is great though! Massive!

Room Tip: I see that there are rooms which have more modern decor. But this is certainly not Room 17!
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NiceGirlC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basbreau, Propriétaire at Hotellerie du Bas-Breau, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2016

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for such a positive comment on our property. It comforts us in our everyday quest for excellence in service at Bas-Bréau.
We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2015

We had to back up our stay by one night and did so within their 48 hour window. Upon our arrival we were refused a room and charged for the night before. Whether or not this was our mistake or booking.com they were rude and unaccommodating. Even though the hotel was practically empty and it would have cost them nothing to let us switch nights. Very disappointing! Had to stay at the Budget Inn across the street. By the way the people at the Budget Inn were very nice and had a great breakfast! Would recommend them instead!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LisaWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basbreau, Propriétaire at Hotellerie du Bas-Breau, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2015

Madam,

Thank you for having posted your so nice comments on our property!!!!
We are very sorry to have had to charge you the room that you had not bothered to cancel.
When booking on Booking.com you were informed of cancellation and you had accepted.
Also arriving at the Bas-Breau you had problems with your taxi that you did not want to pay because you find it too expensive race !!!!
Everything is said, we have nothing to add except that the receptionist who greeted you was nota rude as you say !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2015

I stayed a few months ago and were the only guests. The staff were very unhelpful and lazy. For instance, we chatted for almost 3 hours by the fire which we tended ourselves and only when we were literally getting up did the staff ask whether we wanted anything to drink! Meanwhile, dried dirt on the stairs stayed there for days and staff kept busy and hardly said a word…it looked like there was only one manager who was a very pushy guy as he also served dinner and ripped the wine menu out of my hands to ensure my generous parents would choose his (inflated price) instead…Dinner at the hotel was good, but not worth the exorbitant price…many other options in the area…our rooms were nice and comfortable but clearly in need of some renovation…the gardens have potentially but were in need of some serious work..a huge pile of dirt in one corner is really bad form…with so many staff (many from Eastern europe), what does the Bas breau get up to? It was once part of the Relais Chateau and its clear why it no longer belongs…this once popular weekend retreat no longer lives up to its reputation…as many have noted so lets hope some improvements are under way…and that Management gets rid of this obnoxious maitre D/ manager…when we left, I he asked if we needed help to which i replied yes as my mother is very old and he didn't come out until we were driving away..she is far too sophisticated to comment or worry about prices but I think this poor service should be taken into account considering we were THEIR ONLY guests and that this hotel is supposed to be EXCELLENT!

Conclusion: fundamentally a nice hotel but in need of new management and refurbishment. At present, it is simply NOT WORTH THE PRICE!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Veritas12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basbreau, Propriétaire at Hotellerie du Bas-Breau, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2015

Thank you for having posted your comments on our property.
We are quite surprised that you waited so long to submit your comment after reading we understand that three months were needed on reflection.
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2015

That was a deal through Groupon, and I am happy it was. The room was spacious with a super duper bathroom, bed was 160mm bended but still ok, and 2 uncomfortable pillows.
Welcome was friendly, service was nice with attention to details, like the waitress offered to have our dessert by the fireplace, nice attention.
The food is the big problem in that place. The 5 stars is a joke at best a lie at most, but certainly it was a very average meal not worth the 50E p/p I paid for.. My coquilles St Jacques were 2 rubbery small ones with some sort of ridiculous court bouillon. The next day they presented me with a bill for $14 for 2 1/2 glass of an average wine, that's a scam, sorry...
I do not recommend that place at all because quality is inflated...and where or how exactly did they get their 5 stars, is a true mystery to me...don't go there period...

Room Tip: don not go there, there are undoubtedly better place in this over expensive town...
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bob r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basbreau, Propriétaire at Hotellerie du Bas-Breau, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2015
Google Translation

Nous avons pris bonne note de vos remarques.
Nous sommes sincèrement navrés que vous n'ayez pas apprécié votre Dîner.
Merci pour votre commentaire positif concernant l'accueil.
Vos commentaires ne font que nous aider à mieux progresser en nous motivant.
Nous espérons avoir l'opportunité de vous accueillir à nouveau.
Cordialement,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2014

We have always wanted to return to the charming little village of Barbizon after two prior visits over the years. We stayed at Bas Breau about twenty years ago, and read the mixed reviews. Our experience was once again that it was cozy, comfortable and charming. Not a Luxe place, but nice. We had a second floor room on the other side of the courtyard, and liked it a lot. It was roomy with a comfortable king bed and big enough to have a couch and two chairs with the flat screen TV. The bathroom was very modern, with a jacuzzi, two very chi-chi stand alone sinks, and a walk-in shower with multiple level nozzles, i.e. unusual in most places even on a higher level. Another couple travelling with us was on the first floor, and didn't seem quite as happy with their room. We enjoyed the main dining room menu, with nice foie gras and venison stew, and THE BEST CHEESE TRAY OF THE TRIP. It took two people to carry it over to the table. Multiple choices in every variety of cheese; chevre, softer cheeses, and harder cheeses. Excellent! We love the large fireplace with leather chairs where you can enjoy a nice drink before or after a meal. They also now have a bistro with less expensive menu and regional dishes. We left from here to go to CDG airport, which is about a 1:15 ride; about 60 miles. Be mindful of traffic hours. If you're leaving from Orly, it's a lot closer. Free WIFI was excellent. Staff was very helpful and accomodating. We will return again in the future.

Room Tip: We would recommend the second floor in the building opposite the restaurant. It has two sides, one facing a garden area on the side; the other with a deck with chairs/table near the parking area, but also with a nice view (we stayed there last time). The latter is probably a nice feature in warmer weather.
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conseiller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basbreau, Propriétaire at Hotellerie du Bas-Breau, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for having posted your so nice comments on our property.
Your satisfaction is all we need to try even harder to welcoming our guest the bestway we can.
The whole Bas-Bréau's team will be delighted to welcoming you soon in Barbizon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews