We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calais Wine Store”

Calais Wine Superstore
Ranked #1 of 11 Shopping in Calais
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are a British-owned, 100% independent business whose owners have been in the Cross Channel trade since it began in 1993! We stock a huge range of wines and beers at UK duty-free prices. Not having to pay UK duty means we can pass on savings of up to 60% on UK retail prices - on average, this means you save £4 a bottle on UK supermarket prices - often the savings are even more. We aim to have everyday low prices but whenever we can, we'll give you even better deals and special offers. We offer free crossings on both the Ferry and on Euro Tunnel. Check out our website for more details.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I love going to this wine store, I pre order on line and they always have the order ready for me. Although I do also have a look around and usually buy more wine.
They do great deals and I always manage to get a box of 6. Wines free with my order.
Easy to get to from the Tunnel although I was a little concerned with all the people hanging around the streets. This is a great store the staff are very helpful even packed my car for me.

Thank Sandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, Manager at Calais Wine Superstore, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for this great review. We're glad to hear that you must have been picking up the voucher in store for '6 free bottles when you spend just £99 on your next visit'. It's worth remembering too that if you arrange your own travel and spend just £250 in store you can qualify for a free Day Return ferry crossing to be used anytime over the next year, or a free 3 Day Short Break Return ferry crossing if you spend £500 - just fill out the voucher in store with your details! In fact depending on how much you spend, you can earn up to £100 worth of free wine when you arrange your own travel - for details please click "Already Booked Your Travel?" at the bottom of our homepage. We look forward to seeing you at The Calais Wine Superstore again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tasting room"
in 116 reviews
"free travel"
in 70 reviews
"great value"
in 91 reviews
"pre order"
in 101 reviews
"tasting area"
in 39 reviews
"helpful staff"
in 63 reviews
"on line"
in 63 reviews
"tunnel crossing"
in 26 reviews
"free ferry"
in 29 reviews
"excellent service"
in 67 reviews
"on arrival"
in 47 reviews
"no brainer"
in 16 reviews
"booze cruise"
in 44 reviews
"uk prices"
in 40 reviews
"excellent choice"
in 15 reviews
"free tasting"
in 15 reviews
"took advantage"
in 14 reviews
Filter

18 - 22 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having tasted and purchased wine for my sons wedding, with four days to go he panicked and thought we needed some more, no problem. We ordered on line and booked our free trip to Calais via the Tunnel and were able to get there and back by lunchtime two days later. Great service and no time wasted, even though I ordered the wrong sparkling wine, this was changed without any problem.
Thanks again to Calais Wine for great value and great service.

Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, Manager at Calais Wine Superstore, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Great to hear that we were able to help out with your emergency wedding purchase! We hope you took advantage of the great offers we have on Jacob's Creek sparkling wines at the moment - starting from only £2.99 each, a saving of £7 a bottle on the UK price! The Calais Wine Superstore really is the ideal place to stock up on wine and champagne for a wedding because of our huge range and the massive savings you can make! Thank you so much for visiting us and leaving this wonderful review - we hope to see you back in store again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are regular visitors to CWS and its usually a quick stop off before getting on or off the Ferry... they have a good selection of wine all at great prices and some French wines I can't find in France. If you place the order online it's always there to collect... giving minimal delay to our 7 hour journey. Always very helpful staff, great service, keep it up...

Thank Bigozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, Manager at Calais Wine Superstore, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks so much for taking the trouble to leave this fantastic review, we really appreciate your continued support of our business. We've recently added some superb Provençal rosé wines to our range, so its a great time to stock up for the summer! Please keep checking our website for the latest offers - we look forward to seeing you in store again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We're regular customers of Calais Wine Superstore and make an annual trip to stock up. There is a huge selection of wine all at discounted prices compared to what you'd pay in the UK.

The order process is simple and the website is easy to navigate. The travel offers are brilliant and no hassle as the team at CWS make your booking and send you the details.

The store is 10 minutes from the Eurotunnel terminal and very easy to find. When you arrive the wine is all ready on pallets and the team will even help you load the car up.

The tasting room is an added bonus so you can try before you buy!

Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, Manager at Calais Wine Superstore, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to describe your experience of visiting The Calais Wine Superstore, this really is a great review!
We're particularly pleased to hear that you have found our Eurotunnel booking service so efficient and that our system is working right through to loading the car. In fact our staff, trained by the Wine & Sprit Education Trust, are very knowledgeable and they're only too happy to provide any help or advice you may need in making your selection. There's no need to book to use our Tasting Room - it's open seven days a week, 9am-7pm, for our customers to try wines completely free-of-charge. Thank you for your continued support of our business which, as always, is very much appreciated. We hope it won't be too long before you're back in store to stock up on more bargains.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Pre order and the wine is ready for you to collect. Very helpful staff and wine at good prices.
I have also used the free crossing offer and that is a great deal.

Thank JohnFeering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, Manager at Calais Wine Superstore, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Combining our streamlined 'Click and Collect' service with one of our free travel offers saves you huge amounts of money and time! Thanks so much for this great review, we look forward to seeing you in store again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calais Wine Superstore also viewed

 
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Calais Wine Superstore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing