We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auberge de la Calanque
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Le Lavandou
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We stayed at the Auberge for our honeymoon nearly 40 years ago and again 4 years ago. Since our last stay considerable improvements have been made. Rooms are clean, well-painted and maintained. We had a medium sized room "for 3" for the extra space with a covered balcony overlooking the port. The bed was large and comfortable and sheets and towels were of good quality and were changed daily. The bathroom was smallish, but clean and with a separate toilet. he room had a TV with mainly French channels, a safe and a refrigerator but as is often customary, no "in-room" tea or coffee making facilities. Breakfast was €12 extra and hotel parking €10.00 per day but spaces could be found nearby. But after all, this is the Cote d'Azur which has always been ott expensive.
The pool area was immaculate and the reception area through to the breakfast room were equally so with comfortable chairs and bar facilities.
The Auberge de la Calanque offers a pole position over the port and town with easy access to all facilities such as a long flat promenade, restaurants, shops and boat crossings to the Islands etc. Marianne and all staff were friendly and helpful towards us - merci.
All in all, a happy, relaxing and satisfactory stay and we will return when we can.
Bon sejour

Room Tip: Overlooking the port
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Our second visit to this wonderful hotel. Built in the thirties it is being sensitively restored by the current owners. The common areas ooze understated elegance. The rooms are basic but nonetheless clean and comfortable. Our shower was very good. We did not have the breakfast as we only want a coffee and croissant and 12e would have been a lot for just that, so walked down to a local cafe most mornings.
The hotel is in the best possible location, a nice swimming pool and only minutes from the old town with its wealth of restaurants, the port with the boats to Isles D'Or and a short walk from the glorious sheltered Plage de Sainte Claire.
Having looked at some of the previous reviews, I don't think they take into consideration that the hotel whilst being renovated has relinquished its star rating and it is in the most expensive area of France.
We found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful and look forward to our next visit to this gem.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Ideally situated a the top of the main shopping street in Le Lavandou. Parking on the pavement outside the hotel. Warm welcome from Marianne who has an English Mother.
Lift to our room( 27),that had a balcony overlooking the Marina.
Bathroom on the small size where you are unable to use the toilet with the door closed, shower, bidet, wash basin complete the ensemble.
Bedroom is also compact. No mirror so difficult to dry your hair. Have to ask for hair dryer and enough hangers.
Bed sheets were badly darned. Woken up at 9 am by cleaning maid as there were no
"Do not disturb"signs available.
Our friends who visited were less that impressed with the facilities and the cleaning. Her view is to be respected as she was manager of a prestigious Hotel in Sussex.
Hotel is closed during the Winter.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsC2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

We booked this hotel based on very good reviews from previous guests, but the hotel did not live up to our expectations.

When arriving in the afternoon we were warmly welcomed by a friendly staff member who followed us to the room on the 2. floor. The room was with sea view and a balcony, but was very simple and sparsely equipped and had dirty carpets. No luxury at all. WC room was very small, the shower was leaking and the waste basket was broken. We noticed no fire alarm.

The public areas were the best. Open and nice breakfast room, but with a 3 star breakfast without warm dishes. Our visit was at the end of the high season, and the hotel seemed to have few guests. Due to the cold weather we did not use the pool.

We highly recommend to renovate the guest rooms and to add some more atmosphere.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Egil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Stayed here late season 2017 and I can update previous reviews from 2016 that this hotel has been freshly refurbished with some considerable investment.

Historically one can see that once upon a time this hotel fronted onto the main Esplanade and beach of Le Lavandou, however, over time and as the waterfront’s been developed, its status has been diminished to the back streets of Le Lavandou - very sad to see. It was obviously once a very majestic sea side Hotel, full of flunkies, fine dining, with all the swagger and atmosphere, Today, its so quiet you can walk in there and hear a pin drop. This Hotel is now just B&B only, the huge grand dining room has to had to give way and surrender to the numerous restaurants that line the Esplanade, realising it would be futile and a waste of time to complete with them. Instead the Dining room is only used to serve a pretty poor buffet breakfast, or to be more precise its more of a DIY breakfast. I get the French petit dejeuner thing, but lets not forget here this Hotel charges 270 Euros a night you’re expected to get everything yourself. None of the tables are laid and you have to collect and carry everything to your table from a central buffet which its overseen by some caretaker donned in shorts and flip-flops. The Juices and coffees are dispensed by machine and my supposed ‘double express’ was simply flavourless brown water. The dining room and indeed all the public rooms that take up the ground floor are simply empty of life - its so quiet you here a pin drop. The Hotel is completly void of staff - the one man in reception is all you see or hear. The clean rooms are are beautifully refurbished with great views over the marina, yet spoiled by silly details like sterilised disposable plastic cups in the bathroom. The back of the Hotel, which is where the main entrance is, fronts onto a busy road, which I’d imagine would be noisy if unfortunate enough to have a room over this road.
The Hotel is located at what I’d call the posh end of Le Lavandou and where all the nice shops and restaurants are situated. The other end of the town is pretty seedy and rough and portrays the very worst of French seaside towns. A word of warning for travellers booked for homeward flights on a Sunday - involving a taxi to either Toulon or Nice Airports. Sunday Taxis in France are scarce and come at a premium charge. We booked a taxi, through the hotels reception on the Saturday afternoon. The receptionist confirmed the booking that evening. Come Sunday morning, and after no taxi showed up for half and hour after the appointed time, we discovered reception had made no such booking at all!!! Thankfully I’d bagged an extra 30mins to my travel schedule and made the flight, however this oversight, or blatant lie to be precise, could have cost me £100’s of pounds in alternative travel arrangements. The motto here s never trust a Frenchman’s word or better still book the taxi yourself.

Room Tip: South facing with sun terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank monday s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Lavandou
0.3 km away
Hotel Espadon
Hotel Espadon
#13 of 38 in Le Lavandou
124 reviews
0.8 km away
L'Orangeraie
L'Orangeraie
#15 of 38 in Le Lavandou
108 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Baptistin
Hotel Baptistin
#19 of 38 in Le Lavandou
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Hotel Les Terrasses du Bailli
Hotel Les Terrasses du Bailli
#3 of 5 in Rayol-Canadel-sur-Mer
268 reviews
4.7 km away
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#14 of 38 in Le Lavandou
186 reviews
4.6 km away
Grand Hotel Moriaz
Grand Hotel Moriaz
#1 of 1 in Cavaliere
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de la Calanque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de la Calanque

Address: 62 avenue du General de Gaulle, 83980, Le Lavandou, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Le Lavandou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Le Lavandou
Price Range: $164 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge de la Calanque 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge de la Calanque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing