We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent short stay”
Review of Hotel Le Serac

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Grave
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Le Serac
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in La Grave
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights, while touring through France, as we wanted to do some hiking in Les Hautes Alpes.
It was very quiet in La Grave at this time of year and the hotel was very peaceful. It has beautiful views of La Meije. The hotel rooms are basic but spotlessly clean.
The meals, as mentioned by other reviewers, are lovely - very varied, super home cooking.
Our host was very welcoming and we had fun communicating with our limited French and his better English!
All in all it was a very enjoyable stay.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms have views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christa England H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Michel G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Serac, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Client,

Thank you for your stay and your review on this site. We hope to see you very soon at the foot of La Meije.

Very cordially,

Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at La Serac in early October 2013. Actually this was our second stay, the first one was 15 years ago in June, and we carried warm memories with us for all these years, thinking to come back. Of course the views of La Meije from every single window of the hotel are are the best views of the snow top mountains we have ever enjoyed, so near, a very intimate experience. Jean Michelle has not changed a bit, was the same welcoming warm and engaging host we remembered. And of course dinners at the hotel deserve special mention, every one of them, and we had four, all were delicious gourmet meals. We even tried escargot, and I brought one of the shells home, to remember La Serac. I am attaching a photo of one such dinner, trout for the main course. Wonderful deserts were part of every evening meal of course, and paired wish a shot of calvados were just the things to make one stay there longer. Altogether our stay at La Serac is and will be remembered as one of the best short vacations we've ever had, and we look forward to returning, hopefully sooner than 15 years from now. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: All rooms face the mountain so it is impossible to make wrong choice. Remember, it is a small hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatiana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Michel G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Serac, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013
Google Translation

Hello Madam, Hello Sir,
Thank you first of your stay and then you think very highly on TripAdvisor. It was also nice for us to welcome you and we hope to see you soon, because of us, every 15 years is good, but it is long!
So very soon
Jean Michel

___________________________________________________________________________

Здравствуйте господа, Здравствуйте, сэр,
Спасибо первого вашего пребывания и тогда вы очень высокого мнения на TripAdvisor. Было также хорошо для нас, чтобы приветствовать вас, и мы надеемся увидеть вас в ближайшее время, потому что из нас, каждые 15 лет это хорошо, но это долго!
Так что очень скоро
Жан-Мишель

___________________________________________________________________________

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We travelled from Geneva, through the French Alps, down to the Riviera, over to St. Remy, up to Lyon, then back to Geneva. The dinner we had at Le Serac was the highlight of the trip - and the best value. Comfortable, basic rooms, except for the amazing views of la Meije glacier! This is a special place - a small, 12th century village tucked into the Alps and offering free-ride, no-frills steep skiing. This is my first review after using tripadvisor for many years, and my husband and I were tempted to keep this gem to ourselves (hoping to return one ski season, if our knees hold out). The host and his wife were so kind and accommodating, however, that we simply had to reciprocate with this review. Thank you for a stay that we will never forget and for that second amazing dessert (the blueberry tart) that we're still talking about!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 71CAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Michel G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Serac, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your kind review, it is great to feel supported and we look forward to seeing you very soon at the foot of the Meije.

respectfully,

Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a short cycling holiday. On arrival we were immediately directed to a garage to assemble and store our bikes, it was unlit but clean and even included some stands to help set up our machines. A nice touch. The room was basic but spotless and excellent value for money. It also included a separate utility room, which is very useful when using the hotel as a base for cycling or skiing trips. The main attraction however is the view from the balcony, which is spectacular. The service from the proprietor hit the perfect balance between friendly and discrete and the food could not be improved upon. The pizzas, cooked in a charcoal oven, proving to be the ideal fuel for a hard days peddling. In summary – it’s all good here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Michel G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Serac, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Customer,

We thank you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your warm Alpin short stay.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Le Serac in La Grave.
We would be happy to welcome you again in our hotel.

sincerely

Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

After wandering around France for a week or so, my wife and I thought we'd had the best food and hospitality available. That's until we chanced upon Hotel Le Serac and it's very genial host.

We called in unannounced for dinner and couldn't have been treated better. From a wonderful window seat with a view to die for, we enjoyed 5 courses of the set menu (you receive a choice of 2 things for the first 4 courses).

The food was magnificent. The best we've had in a 3 week tour of Europe.

The service was very friendly and efficient with our host even Googling in the kitchen so he could give us the English words for our dishes.

I'd ordered a few dishes with noises - "Quack, quack" got me the Duck and "Baaaaaaaa" got my wife the lamb, as well as a hearty chuckle and big smiles from our host.

The price was very, very reasonable (I'd pay more for a main course in Australia for what I paid for the 5 courses).

A wonderful dining experience - just wished we'd stayed in the hotel for the night if the value in the restaurant was anything to go by. Thanks!

Room Tip: Qyack like a duck for the best duck in all of Europe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBugged2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Michel G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Serac, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour Les Australiens !

Madame, Monsieur, Chers Clients

Nous vous remercions pour votre très bel avis sur TriAvisor. C’était aussi, pour nous, un réel plaisir de vous accueillir. Et si tous les Australiens sont gentils comme vous, on s’expatrie prochainement.

A très bientôt, au pied de « La Meije ».

Jean Michel

*********************************************************************************
Hello Australians !

Dear Dear Customers

Thank you for your very nice review TriAvisor. It was also, for us, a real pleasure to welcome you. And if all Australians are nice like you, we expatriates soon.

See you soon at the foot of "La Meije."

Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Grave
0.1 km away
Hotel Auberge Edelweiss
Hotel Auberge Edelweiss
#1 of 4 in La Grave
108 reviews
3.9 km away
Hotel Restaurant Castillan
0.6 km away
Panoramic Village (Chalets de la Meije)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 km away
Rock Noir
Rock Noir
#1 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
311 reviews
22.7 km away
Chalet des Touristes
Chalet des Touristes
#6 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
42 reviews
2.2 km away
Gite Le Rocher
Gite Le Rocher
#3 of 5 in La Grave
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Serac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Serac

Address: 1 Rue Du Grand Chemin, 05320 La Grave, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Hautes-Alpes > La Grave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in La Grave
Price Range: $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Restaurant Sérac La Grave offers twelve rooms facing south with a panoramic view over the Meije. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing