We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gite Le Rocher(La Grave)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
79
34
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
34
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseach mealrooms are spaciousthree nightshis wifejeanalpsthermoshostsskiingcheesefrench
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at La Serac in early October 2013. Actually this was our second stay, the first one was 15 years ago in June, and we carried warm memories with us for all these years, thinking to come back. Of course the views of La Meije from every single window of the hotel are are the best views of the snow top mountains we have ever enjoyed, so near, a very intimate experience. Jean Michelle has not changed a bit, was the same welcoming warm and engaging host we remembered. And of course dinners at the hotel deserve special mention, every one of them, and we had four, all were delicious gourmet meals. We even tried escargot, and I brought one of the shells home, to remember La Serac. I am attaching a photo of one such dinner, trout for the main course. Wonderful deserts were part of every evening meal of course, and paired wish a shot of calvados were just the things to make one stay there longer. Altogether our stay at La Serac is and will be remembered as one of the best short vacations we've ever had, and we look forward to returning, hopefully sooner than 15 years from now. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: All rooms face the mountain so it is impossible to make wrong choice. Remember, it is a small hotel, and book in advance, particularly in season.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatiana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Michel G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Serac, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013
Google Translation

Hello Madam, Hello Sir,
Thank you first of your stay and then you think very highly on TripAdvisor. It was also nice for us to welcome you and we hope to see you soon, because of us, every 15 years is good, but it is long!
So very soon
Jean Michel

___________________________________________________________________________

Здравствуйте господа, Здравствуйте, сэр,
Спасибо первого вашего пребывания и тогда вы очень высокого мнения на TripAdvisor. Было также хорошо для нас, чтобы приветствовать вас, и мы надеемся увидеть вас в ближайшее время, потому что из нас, каждые 15 лет это хорошо, но это долго!
Так что очень скоро
Жан-Мишель

___________________________________________________________________________

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We travelled from Geneva, through the French Alps, down to the Riviera, over to St. Remy, up to Lyon, then back to Geneva. The dinner we had at Le Serac was the highlight of the trip - and the best value. Comfortable, basic rooms, except for the amazing views of la Meije glacier! This is a special place - a small, 12th century village tucked into the Alps and offering free-ride, no-frills steep skiing. This is my first review after using tripadvisor for many years, and my husband and I were tempted to keep this gem to ourselves (hoping to return one ski season, if our knees hold out). The host and his wife were so kind and accommodating, however, that we simply had to reciprocate with this review. Thank you for a stay that we will never forget and for that second amazing dessert (the blueberry tart) that we're still talking about!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 71CAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Michel G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Serac, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your kind review, it is great to feel supported and we look forward to seeing you very soon at the foot of the Meije.

respectfully,

Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a short cycling holiday. On arrival we were immediately directed to a garage to assemble and store our bikes, it was unlit but clean and even included some stands to help set up our machines. A nice touch. The room was basic but spotless and excellent value for money. It also included a separate utility room, which is very useful when using the hotel as a base for cycling or skiing trips. The main attraction however is the view from the balcony, which is spectacular. The service from the proprietor hit the perfect balance between friendly and discrete and the food could not be improved upon. The pizzas, cooked in a charcoal oven, proving to be the ideal fuel for a hard days peddling. In summary – it’s all good here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Michel G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Serac, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Customer,

We thank you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your warm Alpin short stay.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Le Serac in La Grave.
We would be happy to welcome you again in our hotel.

sincerely

Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

After wandering around France for a week or so, my wife and I thought we'd had the best food and hospitality available. That's until we chanced upon Hotel Le Serac and it's very genial host.

We called in unannounced for dinner and couldn't have been treated better. From a wonderful window seat with a view to die for, we enjoyed 5 courses of the set menu (you receive a choice of 2 things for the first 4 courses).

The food was magnificent. The best we've had in a 3 week tour of Europe.

The service was very friendly and efficient with our host even Googling in the kitchen so he could give us the English words for our dishes.

I'd ordered a few dishes with noises - "Quack, quack" got me the Duck and "Baaaaaaaa" got my wife the lamb, as well as a hearty chuckle and big smiles from our host.

The price was very, very reasonable (I'd pay more for a main course in Australia for what I paid for the 5 courses).

A wonderful dining experience - just wished we'd stayed in the hotel for the night if the value in the restaurant was anything to go by. Thanks!

Room Tip: Qyack like a duck for the best duck in all of Europe!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBugged2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Michel G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Serac, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour Les Australiens !

Madame, Monsieur, Chers Clients

Nous vous remercions pour votre très bel avis sur TriAvisor. C’était aussi, pour nous, un réel plaisir de vous accueillir. Et si tous les Australiens sont gentils comme vous, on s’expatrie prochainement.

A très bientôt, au pied de « La Meije ».

Jean Michel

*********************************************************************************
Hello Australians !

Dear Dear Customers

Thank you for your very nice review TriAvisor. It was also, for us, a real pleasure to welcome you. And if all Australians are nice like you, we expatriates soon.

See you soon at the foot of "La Meije."

Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Great place to stay. Everything you need for a great ski holiday. Great breakfasts, comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful host. Great value for money.
We stayed at Hotel Le Serac for a week in winter. We had a very relaxed stay and felt like we were really well looked after.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duncan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Michel G, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Serac, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Hello,

Thank you very much for your very nice review on this website is really nice to think of us on the other side of our planet!

I wish you a very good day, hoping to see you again at the foot of the Meije.
Very sincerely,

Jean Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews