We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Le Chabi(La Chapelle-D'Abondance)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chalet Cannelle(La Chapelle-D'Abondance)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Chalet Le Dragon Ski Chalet(La Chapelle-D'Abondance)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Les Cornettes(La Chapelle-D'Abondance)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
L'Ensoleille(La Chapelle-D'Abondance)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Ferme du Chateau(La Chapelle-D'Abondance)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Esprit Montagne(La Chapelle-D'Abondance)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Petite Bergerie(La Chapelle-D'Abondance)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L'Escalade(La Chapelle-D'Abondance)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
174
66
22
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
66
22
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main roadhalf boardrecommend this hotelon arrivalstayed nightsbeautiful hotelhigh standardspachapellechatelsimilarlyswitzerlandvillage
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights last weekend and had a great stay. Friendly greeting and upgrade from the owner on arrival to a very nice newly renovated corner room.

Had a walk around the village which is attractive but a bit strung out along the main road. You definitely need to use a car to get around if you want to ski as the buses are confusing and infrequent particularly getting from Chatel to La Chapelle des Abondance.

Ate in the main restaurant on the first and third night and had very good meals on the half board set menu. Second night we ate in the downstairs fondue/raclette restaurant which is very cosy but felt poor value compared to upstairs considering the cost of half board.

Good pool and spa too.

Overall loved this family run hotel.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Les Gentianettes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your kind review about your recent stay.

A message of satisfaction from a recent guest is always a reward and incentive for our staff to continue with their efforts to uphold our high standards.
We do our best to ensure that our guests feel welcome, it is very rewarding to read that you both enjoyed your stay.

We are glad you appreciated your modern, comfortable room.

We are glad you were able to make the most of our restaurant and are grateful for your positive comments about the quality. Thank you also for mentioning our pool and spa.

We all look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

With very best wishes,
Nathalie Trincaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

We stayed 2 nights. This is a family-run, high quality hotel in all respects - maintained grounds; friendly reception and staff; well furnished rooms: but especially an excellent restaurant - the best during our 2 week stay in France and Switzerland. Highlights included a mushroom cappuccino; pork offal cooked 4 ways and a deconstructed tarte au citron. Lots of imagination combined with wonderful flavours.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Les Gentianettes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Geoffrey,
Thanks a lot for sharing your two night stay in our hotel.
Les Gentianettes Hotel welcomes its guests for a memorable experience in a typical Savoyard Chalet Hotel in the village of La Chapelle d’Abondance, at the heart of the French-Swiss Portes-du-Soleil mountains. We are really pleased to know that our hotel met your expectations. Your compliment in respect to the team is well appreciated. We are glad you fell under the charm of our rooms. Inspired by his many travels across the world, Chef Claude and his team combine regional products with exotic tastes to offer you a variety of delicious and original dishes. It delight us to read that you like the quality food served in our restaurant.
We would be thrilled to welcome you again.
Warmest regards,
Nathalie Trincaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Amazing staff
Amazing food
Amazing view

Rooms are somehow small, but very clean and neat

Wifi is good

Really enjoyed every second in this hotel,
Would definitely recommend this hotel

Do not miss the mountain activities, local restaurants are lovely there as well

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lord B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Les Gentianettes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for sending your comments about your stay at Les Gentianettes Hotel, La Chapelle d'Abondance.
A message of satisfaction from our recent guests is always a reward and incentive for our staff to continue with their efforts to uphold our high standards. We are pleased to hear how much you and your family appreciated our restaurant and varied, tasty breakfast buffet. We are very pleased to hear your positive feedback regarding the cleanliness and comfort of your room as well as the wonderful view and free WiFi.We are glad you were able to make the most of all the outdoor activities and hiking. We are very grateful for your recommendation and look forward to seeing you on a future occasion.
We all hope to welcome you back very soon.
Warmest regards,
Nathalie Trincaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We were only there for dinner, but I want to come back and stay at the hotel! Such a beautiful and charming hotel, traditional but with modern amenities.

We were welcomed, even though we did not have a reservation, and had a lovely dinner on the patio just outside the dining room. Everything was absolutely perfect, beautifully presented and very delicious, a delight! The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming, and made our experience even better.

I totally recommend Les Gentianettes! Again, thank you so much and I look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vtlocalvore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Les Gentianettes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write such a nice feedback regarding your experience at Les Gentianettes Hotel, La Chapelle d'Abondance.
It is a pleasure to read that our guests enjoy the hotel's ambient and atmosphere. I am especially glad that you got to experience our outdoor dinning area and the rich menu our restaurant offers including duck breast, beef tenderloin, lamb chops and many more. You are always welcome to try more of the delicious specialties, and of course spend a night in our hotel.
Our team would be delighted to welcome you again on another occasion. My kind regards,
Nathalie Trincaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

We came for a lunch with 5 fiends during a rainy day when we couldn't ski
This is an excellent restaurent very good quality and great service
I recommend
We were served by a very charming young lady
And the bill is ok too

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank azar76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Les Gentianettes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2017

Dear Guest,
Our sincerest thanks for writing the enthusiastic review relative to your lunch at Les Gentianettes, in La Chapelle d'Abondance.
We're glad you enjoyed this day with us, despite the fact you couldn't ski in Les Portes du Soleil ski domain which surrounds us. We're glad you appreciated our terroir specialties, like our beef tenderloin, duck breast and lamb chops assortment.
Many thanks on behalf of the team for your valuation of the service.
The entire team really do hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back again in the future.
My best wishes,
Nathalie Trincaz, director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews