We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bentu e Sole(Fertilia)
Book now, pay at stay
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Il Pagio(Fertilia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vel Mari(Fertilia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Villa Ortensia(Fertilia)
Booking.com
View Deal
Le Cicale(Fertilia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Fertilia(Fertilia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (749)
Filter reviews
749 results
Traveller rating
369
248
81
37
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
248
81
37
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspata negrainfinity poolprivate beachsea viewthe busil paguromins from the airportsalt waterkept spotlesswonderful hotelpastahalf boardno liftpeace and quietthe hotel receptionsun loungersplenty of loungers
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 749 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017

This little hotel is stunning. Located slightly off the beaten track yet only a 25 minute cycle ride to the main town of Alghero, through national park. The hotel is spotlessly clean with laid back and simple amenities that we would expect of a small 4 star hotel. The food was extensive, an enormous choice of breakfast, fresh fruits, different breads, cold savoury platters, yoghurts, cereals, dolci cakes (and to please the British palate, even some scrambled eggs and bacon- which is nice of them to do as remember we are in Italy, after all.) The evening meals were traditional, plentiful and well cooked, not fancy, but again we are in Italy in a small hotel, so rather good, and to be honest I could not eat it all. If you want something grander, then take the bus to Alghero which is full of amazing restaurants.

The small private beach saved the hassle of going to larger beaches, literally fall out of the hotel on to the beach. Some fun facilities such as a SUP, canoe and pedalo, but generally a beach for relaxing and swimming. Yes, there is occasionally a whiff, but, we are in Italy!! (and I don't think that it is the hotel's fault)

The pool area is beautifully done, and true that the water is colder than the sea, but not unbearable for such a late time of year. The hotel provide separate swim/beach towels for you.

This was a stunning little place, with multi cultural guests from all over the world. I think it is a little gem and hope that it stays slightly quirky and unique. I loved it because it is Italian and extremely accommodating to everyone. It is clearly loved and respected as part of the community as a wonderful wedding took place and locals come to eat at the restaurant.

If you want a faceless, 4**** mass market hotel without any personality, then this is not the hotel for you.

Room Tip: All rooms are superb. The rooms not facing the sea are still gorgeous.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNAlghero, Reception at Hotel Punta Negra, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Clair R, we are grateful for your kind words and we really appreciate it.
We are glad that you are satisfied with your stay and that you recommend Hotel Punta Negra to other guests who are maybe thinking of spending their stay here.
We will be more than glad if you visit us again in the future.
Our best regards
Paola and Hotel Punta Negra Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

This is a lovely hotel for a holiday,if you don't want to do a lot. The food is good and the staff extremely helpful, pleasant and willing. There are two swimming pools as well as a small private beach with plenty of loungers and parasols. For those wanting a relaxing beach holiday, I can thoroughly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Recommend sea view. Top floor has large balconys. No lift but only two floors from receptin
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Margot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNAlghero, Reception at Hotel Punta Negra, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Margot S, thank you for your kind review and for recommending our hotel.
We hope to meet you again next year. Best regards.
Paola and Hotel Punta Negra staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

I absolutely loved our stay at the Punta Negra hotel. The service is excellent, with all the staff delighted to help - with a smile - and the room was spotless & well-appointed. Bathroom had a lovely big, efficient shower. The bed was so comfortable that I wish I had looked to see what make the mattress was so that I could order one! Excellent selection of foods and drinks at breakfast, and though I was a little daunted by the limited menu at dinner (I have several allergies and intolerances), it was always possible to find something, with the aid of the waiter/waitress and the kitchen staff who made sure that my food was safe and tasty, and would provide foods off-menu where needed & where possible. A variety of live music is provided on the restaurant/bar terrace most evenings and some mornings - mostly piano or guitar, one night a man with a guitar who sang old standards with karaoke-style backing. He was very good! This is not so loud that it is disturbing in the room, and we were directly over the restaurant.

We had room 220, which is on the second floor, and overlooks the sea with its own private sun terrace, two sun loungers and a table with two chairs. The view is absolutely lovely; Fertilia a short walk away, Alghero across the wide bay, and cormorants on the rocks below. It was a real pleasure to walk out onto the terrace each morning with the blue sky, and equally blue sea laid out before us. The small beach is white sand and clear, shallow water with a few (easily avoided) rocks and access is direct from the hotel and easy. A lifeguard is on duty. I can't swim at the moment due to an injury but I had a great time wading out into the water, chest-deep, and watching the little fish swim around my feet, while the sun warmed my shoulders. After reading reviews before we arrived, I was a bit nervous about the bad odour that was mentioned, but I smelled nothing but a sea 'tang' which was very slightly seaweedy. Nowhere near as strong as I remember from childhood holidays in Cornwall, for instance! Maybe after a storm it's worse, I don't know.

The reason I haven't given this hotel the full five blip rating is that when we arrived there was a wedding reception in full swing and then everything seemed to be geared towards this with other hotel guests taking a little bit of a back seat. Because of this, the restaurant was closed until 8pm, they had trouble providing me with 'safe' food (regarding my allergies), and the pool was completely taken over with the wedding party - as was the car park. Not a huge deal, but a little annoying when the hotel is an expensive one.

Alghero is one of our favourite Italian towns, by the way. The atmosphere is great and the historic old town very lovely.

Room Tip: Sea-facing rooms 2nd floor - great views, worth the extra cost. Rooms on restaurant side larger than those on the pool side.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNAlghero, Reception at Hotel Punta Negra, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear Judy S,

we thank you for choosing Hotel Punta Negra for your holiday in Sardinia. We are glad that you are happy with your stay and that you underline the fact that our restaurant and our kitchen staff made their best to provide you safe and tasty food.
Our guests are really important to us and we always try to do our best to have happy and satisfied guests.
We hope you visite us again next summer.
Paola and Hotel Punta Negra staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Myself and my wife have just come back from a weeks holiday here.
We had a room on the third floor overlooking the gardens and reception at the front of the hotel. The room was kept spotlessly clean and was quiet.
On the whole the staff are very friendly and helpful.The only exception to this was the duty restaurant manager on at breakfast time. Unfortunately he has a very abrupt and officious manner which didn't seem to change all week.
The position of the restaurant overlooking the sea is excellent.
The food is well cooked but we were disappointed by the the limited variety on offer both at breakfast time and in the evening.
The pool position is good and very clean. We didn't use the pool as much as we would have liked due to the fact it was very cold water despite the weather being good. Although the beach is small it is very safe for swimming and the sea water is warmer than the pool. It was spoilt by a slight sewer smell which was more apparent closest to the hotel and when the wind was coming in from the west.
The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the village of Fertilla and a short bus ride into Alghero.
There is very pleasant piano music played on the restaurant patio and if you are looking for a peaceful place to stay a bit away from the main centre of activity then this hotel meets the requirement.
Overall we enjoyed our stay here and only marked it down from very good because of the restrictive food menu and slight beach smell.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Birdman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNAlghero, Reception at Hotel Punta Negra, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Birdman47, we thank you for choosing Hotel Punta Negra for your stay in Alghero. We are very glad to read that you are satisfied with your stay and appreciate your comment on Trip Advisor. We take into consideration our guests advice and suggestions; they help us to improve the facilities we offer in our hotel.
We hope to have the possibility to welcome you again at Hotel Punta Negra.
Paola and Hotel Punta Negra staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

We booked this week's break via Thomson's, M having done his usual research beforehand. Thomson's had no sea view rooms available so we got in touch with the hotel via email and managed to get one that way, paying a supplement direct to the hotel. We also booked a rental car for a couple of days, via the hotel. The hotel reception were very helpful and responsive with all this. We arrived early, at 10.30 am, but were immediately taken to our room - impressive. The room was simply decorated but had everything one needed, plus the stunning view. The hotel is in a super location, peaceful, terraces overlooking the sea, two pools (a bit chilly for us), and a small beach with sun beds and parasols. We had breakfast on the terrace every morning and dinner in the restaurant. Food was good with adequate choices but perhaps not outstanding (cf the Sportsman Hotel, Lake Garda). The staff were all superb. Cheerful, efficient, responsive. We were delighted with this hotel which is set in such a peaceful area.

Room Tip: Do try and get a seaview.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gaisie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNAlghero, Reception at Hotel Punta Negra, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear Gaisie46, thank you so much for your review and for your kind words towards our hotel staff. We are very glad to satisfy our guests requests and our goal is to let them feel at home. We hope, we succeeded with you too.
We do hope you want to visit us again next year. Our best regards
Paola and Hotel Punta Negra staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews