We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Review of Il Cicero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Il Cicero
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Our first trip to Sicily we wanted something self catering but with a pool. We looked at reviews and chose this place.
When we arrived we were greeted by very nice staff who made you feel very welcome.

We were shown to our accommodation which was so disappointing. It was very small & very basic, one bedroom was so small that the bed was wall to wall. The kitchen area was very small (about a metre in total) and one of the two cupboard doors was hanging off. There was a very small L shaped bench which was the seating area - nowhere inside to put a table and chairs. The bathroom smelt of damp and when I closed the door to use the facilities there was hair and dust build up on the floor.

The air conditioning was on a meter. Right behind the accommodation was a train track which we were unaware of and was quite a noisy shock when a train went by.

The pool area looked inviting but a bit grubby. The beach was across the main road which was quite busy and an additional noise while sitting in the bar area.

This is budget accommodation but the price we were being charged was not a budget price.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jmm47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

6 - 10 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2015

Stayed for a week in a bungalow at Il Cicero. Great location, lovely pool and baby pool, right across the road from beach which U.S. A mixture of sand and pebbles. Shallow calm sea good for kids. Deck chairs (rather than loungers) on the beach and loungers around the pool. We were upgraded on arrival so had a 2 bed bungalow with basic cooking facilities. Baker comes round every morning with fresh bread and croissants, and fruit/veg man most evenings. The staff are super helpful and friendly and there is an entertainment team who do volleyball, aqua aerobics, Latin dance, kids disco, table tennis etc. The only downside to this is was quite noisy at our bungalow if you wanted an early night. (Campsite is further away from entertainment). We had a excellent week and I would definitely recommend and go back to Il Cicero. Thanks for a great week.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateA880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

Friendly staff. Great pool. Nice beach. The local town is small, so you need a car to get around. Beautiful view to the Eolian Islands. On weekends an open disco not far away can be noisy. Would stay again.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
Thank Halkier48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Andrea was incredibly generous and kind to me while I was there. My room was clean and very nice - just perfect. There was much construction happening while I was there which means the place will be even better soon. I would recommend this place very highly to anyone.

Thank you again Andrea!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank JiveTurkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We have just returned from a three-weeks camping holiday in Sicily. We had booked a pitch for a week's stay (3rd to 10th July 2013) to start with at the Il-Cicero campsite with our trailer tent and then had intended to move on to some other campsites so we could explore more of the north Sicily as we had previously only stayed in the south of Sicily.

We were pleased when we arrived at the campsite and had a look around. You can pretty much select the pitch that you prefer and we chose the green area as the pitches had huge green "tarpaulin"- type sun shields over them. The toilet and shower blocks were cleaned every day and there were plenty of them; the swimming pool is very nice with two sections so the younger members of the family can play safely in shallower water and there is ample seating area around the bar and the table tennis table where you can also access wifi.

The campsite is directly opposite the beach with lush greenery above it which rises to the mountains beyond. A beautiful view. It is a fairly short walk along the sea road to the small town of San Giorgio and this has sufficient shops and plenty of restaurants and the roads are lined with oleander shrubs which are very pretty. The entire area of this coast is lovely, mountainous and sometimes breath-taking in its beauty and drama.

The owners and staff of this campsite were all extremely welcoming and helpful (especially Andrea and Marion) and it is true to say that they put the extra shine on our stay here.

The beach being directly over the road was very handy as we took our old dog with us (who was also made to feel welcome and given a bowl of water to drink whilst we sat and cooled off with a long cold drink at the bar and checked our e-mails after a swim each day!)

We are a retired couple and although we love our own kids and grand-children, we didn't want a campsite that provided lots of loud and screaming entertainment for young children so this campsite was ideal as it is a fairly quiet, family-run business. There was a small children's play area of swings etc and plenty of entertainment for children outside of the campsite by organised entertainers.

At the end of our first week (we stayed an extra day!) we moved on around the coast to a campsite near Cefalu, as was our holiday plan, but towards the end of that second week, after going out and viewing three other campsites, we decided to ask Marion if we could return to Il-Cicero and that's what we did.

Once again we had a big welcome. There is a large restaurant/pizza place next door which allows a discount for Il-Cicero clients, which was very nice. Finally our holiday came to an end and we needed to arrange a vet's appointment for our dog to have the necessary jab to be able to go home and Andrea was good enough to phone and arrange this for us.

We said our sad goodbyes to them all and came home but - we shall return! We can recommend this campsite to people who like a friendly and relaxed atmosphere with a welcoming feel to it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheelagh235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Giorgio
44.5 km away
Camping La Focetta Sicula
Camping La Focetta Sicula
#1 of 4 in Sant' Alessio Siculo
268 reviews
220.3 km away
Camping Lilybeo Village
Camping Lilybeo Village
#4 of 55 in Marsala
121 reviews
71.5 km away
Rais Gerbi Camping Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 km away
Salicamp Boschetto Holiday Villaggio e Campeggio
Salicamp Boschetto Holiday Villa...
#1 of 2 in Terme Vigliatore
87 reviews
192.6 km away
Camping Village La Pineta
Camping Village La Pineta
#12 of 53 in San Vito lo Capo
470 reviews
155.3 km away
Akramar Village
Akramar Village
#30 of 73 in Agrigento
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Cicero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Cicero

Address: Via Pola, 98, 98063 San Giorgio, Gioiosa Marea, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Gioiosa Marea > San Giorgio
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in San Giorgio
Price Range: $30 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Il Cicero 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located approx. 60 km west of Messina, along the Tyrrhenian coast of Sicily, Il Cicero is just in front of the Aeolian Islands and very close to the ancient Greek Roman town of Tyndaris. The Residence Il Cicero is based in an ancient garden, planted over 50 years ago at no more than 40 m far from the seashore. It’s a very special place where 25 small bungalows are literally submersed in tropical vegetation. A new space, where you can find 8 Mobil homes has been created in 2009. All our accommodations (bungalows or Mobil home) are equipped with TV, safe, telephone linked to switchboard, 1 beach umbrella and 2 deck chairs on our private beach as well as free access to our private swimming pool. Our pool is double, and the smallest one is specially made for very young children (as you may see on our website's pictures) Our inner reception office will be at disposal to supply any guest’s needs and make their holiday the most easy and relaxing. Since they are a few steps away from the long stretch of fine (and sunny) beach of San Giorgio, going for a swim is something you can do easily, on foot, simply wearing your bathing suit and a towel. Each property, is self catering and can comfortably accommodate up to 4 or 5 persons; each has a front terrace where our guests can relax, have breakfast, have a candle-lit dinner . Il Cicero as got a diving center P.A.D.I, organize all kind of excursions to the Aeolian Islands, Etna and all the historical and archaeological Sicilian sites as well as transfers from Catania and Palermo’s Airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Il Cicero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing