We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Agriturismo il Geranio
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Il Castellaccio(Piccione)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
129
42
6
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
42
6
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2015

We had a really good time here, super food, really nice people and a great part of Italy. The food is traditional Umbrian and locally sourced the vast majority of it is made on the farm. The range of food is superb and each evening we had a wonderful meal that was beautifully cooked and prepared, there is a set menu of four courses and it was the best Italian food we have ever eaten. Out hosts were delightful and nothing was too much trouble, we will definitely be returning. All in all a fabulous holiday !

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harold M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed at il geranio for two nights in October 2011 and couldn't have asked for a more relaxing time. The highlight of the visit was having dinner in their restaurant where we sampled wonderful cooking using many ingredients from the farm. The wine from the vineyards that we could see from our bedroom was fabulous and provided a flavour you just don't get from big wine making operations. The staff were delightful and friendly. ThNk you for a wonderful break.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soulmates63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Okay, I see I'm writing the first English language review of this Agriturismo, that's a lot of pressure. To be honest, it kind of felt like we were the first English speaking tourists to stay there, too! And by that I mean that while there was a significant language barrier, our hostess was very excited to have us there, and very careful to make sure that we got everything that we wanted and needed.

This generosity extended to bringing out her personal laptop so that we could use the internet, packing us lunches for free, and giving us olive oil, marmalade, and preserves as a gift when we left. It was pretty amazing!

We registered for the Bed and Breakfast option by email, but were easily talked into going half-board when we realized that there weren't any other restaurants around (this is a farm in the countryside after all) and that it was only 40 euros more. Those 40 euros bought us a full, and I mean full, meal for 2. Prosecco to start, then antipasti, then pasta (always two varieties), then secondi, and then dessert. Bread, water, wine, and coffee were all included. You'd be hard-pressed to find a better value.

Our room was huge, with a great view. And I really mean huge, not just by European standards. It was actually set up to sleep 4, with a lot of floor space. Since it was just the 2 of us, it was plenty of space.

The atmosphere was also a lot of fun. We were there quite early in the season (April 28-May 1), so there weren't a lot of other guests. In fact, we only saw one other couple. But they were also hosting a large family birthday party one night, and a bachelor party. So there was lots of laughter and singing, and champagne, and we even got some of the birthday cake!

I feel bad saying anything negative because, really, we had a great stay, and the value was so unbelievable. The quality of the food was a little lacklustre, unfortunately. It may be the Umbrian cuisine, I don't know. But we weren't terribly impressed by everything we ate (and you get whatever they're cooking, there's no menu). Particularly the breakfasts were bland, just bread and prosciutto. The first morning we were cooked up bacon (actually just proscuitto) and eggs, but we declined after that. There was yogurt the first morning, but then not again. Even just more yogurt would have made it better.

Overall very positive, though, and it was a great and unique experience to be out on a farm, with a large family living and working on the farm, and to be fed a huge homecooked meal from very friendly, generous hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cfrydj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews