We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agriturismo il Geranio
Ranked #2 of 3 Piccione B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Picture this: you are sitting on a stone terrace, overlooking the rolling hills of the Umbrian countryside, a quilt of greens of various hues, and the yellows of the sunflower fields. In the distance, you can see a medieval castle perched atop one of the hills. The sun is setting. Jazz is pouring out of the 16th C. stone farmhouse behind you, and gently caressing the landscape with the smooth sound of the saxophone. You are tasting the earth's bounty on the plate before you -- and you know you will never taste food this good again. You are with your family. Overwhelmed by the beauty of the experience, you begin to weep. Such was a typical experience for me at Agriturismo il Geranio. The beauty of the landscape, and the excellence of the food was only matched by the great kindness and generosity of the hosts, Angela and Giovanni, their family, and the cook and owner, Giuseppina. One litmus test of the food, if you can't take my word for it, is this: the locals regularly went there to celebrate their most important occasions -- honeymoons, marriages, romantic getaways, birthdays. We remarked to Angela one night, "But...there's a party here every night!" In Italian, she replied, "Yes. And You'll remember us for this!" Indeed we have. And you will too. Grazie Mille! Peter, Claudia e Olivia.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2015

We had a really good time here, super food, really nice people and a great part of Italy. The food is traditional Umbrian and locally sourced the vast majority of it is made on the farm. The range of food is superb and each evening we had a wonderful meal that was beautifully cooked and prepared, there is a set menu of four courses and it was the best Italian food we have ever eaten. Out hosts were delightful and nothing was too much trouble, we will definitely be returning. All in all a fabulous holiday !

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harold M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed at il geranio for two nights in October 2011 and couldn't have asked for a more relaxing time. The highlight of the visit was having dinner in their restaurant where we sampled wonderful cooking using many ingredients from the farm. The wine from the vineyards that we could see from our bedroom was fabulous and provided a flavour you just don't get from big wine making operations. The staff were delightful and friendly. ThNk you for a wonderful break.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soulmates63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Okay, I see I'm writing the first English language review of this Agriturismo, that's a lot of pressure. To be honest, it kind of felt like we were the first English speaking tourists to stay there, too! And by that I mean that while there was a significant language barrier, our hostess was very excited to have us there, and very careful to make sure that we got everything that we wanted and needed.

This generosity extended to bringing out her personal laptop so that we could use the internet, packing us lunches for free, and giving us olive oil, marmalade, and preserves as a gift when we left. It was pretty amazing!

We registered for the Bed and Breakfast option by email, but were easily talked into going half-board when we realized that there weren't any other restaurants around (this is a farm in the countryside after all) and that it was only 40 euros more. Those 40 euros bought us a full, and I mean full, meal for 2. Prosecco to start, then antipasti, then pasta (always two varieties), then secondi, and then dessert. Bread, water, wine, and coffee were all included. You'd be hard-pressed to find a better value.

Our room was huge, with a great view. And I really mean huge, not just by European standards. It was actually set up to sleep 4, with a lot of floor space. Since it was just the 2 of us, it was plenty of space.

The atmosphere was also a lot of fun. We were there quite early in the season (April 28-May 1), so there weren't a lot of other guests. In fact, we only saw one other couple. But they were also hosting a large family birthday party one night, and a bachelor party. So there was lots of laughter and singing, and champagne, and we even got some of the birthday cake!

I feel bad saying anything negative because, really, we had a great stay, and the value was so unbelievable. The quality of the food was a little lacklustre, unfortunately. It may be the Umbrian cuisine, I don't know. But we weren't terribly impressed by everything we ate (and you get whatever they're cooking, there's no menu). Particularly the breakfasts were bland, just bread and prosciutto. The first morning we were cooked up bacon (actually just proscuitto) and eggs, but we declined after that. There was yogurt the first morning, but then not again. Even just more yogurt would have made it better.

Overall very positive, though, and it was a great and unique experience to be out on a farm, with a large family living and working on the farm, and to be fed a huge homecooked meal from very friendly, generous hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cfrydj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: sono tutte capienti
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carlo Alberto T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piccione
4.8 km away
Relais San Clemente
4.9 km away
Agriturismo Il Melograno
2.6 km away
Agriturismo il Rosciolo
Agriturismo il Rosciolo
#1 of 3 in Piccione
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 km away
B&B Tre Metri Sopra il Cielo
6.6 km away
La Terrazza fio...Rita
La Terrazza fio...Rita
#9 of 139 in Perugia
82 reviews
10.3 km away
La Locanda Paradiso
La Locanda Paradiso
#8 of 139 in Perugia
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo il Geranio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo il Geranio

Address: Strada della Mannara 2, 06134 Piccione, Perugia, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia > Piccione
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Piccione
Price Range: $102 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umbria is a land of farms houses, "The Geranio" since 1994 has been one of the first to inaugurate this new season in umbria region. Farm House Geranio comes from a family passion, to share stories and feelings with those who like to stop, slow down the pace of everyday life, perhaps before the fire with a glass of good wine. Find the time as a substance and not as a definition, that is "long life".Stop means, listen and hear what escape in haste, and is lost. Rediscover the pleasure of a chat in front of a dining table and enjoy typical regional dishes prepared with ingredients from our farm house. We offer the opportunity to stay in a place nestled in the hills of Umbria where peace, tranquility and mysticism represent the particular characteristics.The farm house is situated between Perugia and Gubbio, just 15 minutes from the international airport of St. Egidio and also at the center of the triangle Perugia - Assisi - Gubbio, a town within a few minutes. We are close to the E45 connecting other important towns of Umbria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Agriturismo il Geranio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing