We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Autumn breadk”
Review of Der Schoene Asten

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Der Schoene Asten
Ranked #43 of 53 Hotels in Winterberg
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We booked and then read some of the reviews and nearly cancelled our holiday. For €25 pppn hb you cannot expect the service of the Burj Al Arab. The rooms were clean, warm and comfortable. The only negative point was no wifi in the rooms, but this was available in the reception, bar or restaurant. Breakfast was the standard cold continental breakfast - no more, no less. The evening meal was warm and filling. Choice of vegetables, potatoes, salad bar and meat/fish. Empty dishes were quickly refilled and the self-service went smoothly with no long queues. The wellness centre was great. Ideally situated for walking. We wish the new owners all the best

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 300elizabeth66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2016

the people are very friendly and the room (101) was very clean, including the bathroom. Breakfast and diner were buffet and always enough choice to eat.
the friendly people around take away the dirty dishes from the table, so you always have a clean table while eating.
the hotel has several buildings which are all connected by tunnels, so it doesn't matter what the weather is, you can always reach the swimming / sauna or sporting facilities.
the hotel is situated on the side of a hill and teh views are beautifull.

Room Tip: room in the main building are ok, room besides the restaurant: NO PROBLEM, silent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saseric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016

Really nice hotel with a fantastic sauna/steam room/swimming pool. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the rooms although basic were clean and comfortable. We spent two weeks here and have no complaints and would stop again. The only downside was poor wifi that was very slow and only worked in the hotel bar. Apart from that, Live football on the big screen, large bar and DJ.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a big family meet up from all over Germany and England. We had a number of members with dogs and we were all put on the same floor which led out onto the woods which I thought was a lovely touch. The hotel had a nice little swimming pool more of a fun pool than for serious swimmers. The evening food was not amazing but the breakfast buffet was acceptable. The staff on reception were lovely and even looked after our dog when we ate in the restaurant. The bar staff seemed a little sparse for how busy the place was and we had to beg to be allowed to sit outside as it was so noisy in the bar. the hotel was an interesting maze of under ground passages which connected up the different buildings which was quite fun. I guess this is a typical ski hotel it was clean but a little devoid of character but it was big enough for the whole family and they were welcoming!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lora H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We where 10 colleagues on a short ski trip to Winterberg. We just needed a place to sleep and have a good meal. The photos and the description of the hotel was fine, but in reality the hotel need to be renovated. It´s old and worn, and the restaurants service is poor, sorry to say. We felt the supper, as we just had to be feeded and then of. At the bar, there was a DJ. He has probably been played there for 30 years and never changed.
Conclusion: We will never go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamilienJuhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winterberg hotels
1.7 km away
Hotel Winterberg Resort
Hotel Winterberg Resort
#14 of 53 in Winterberg
109 reviews
4.2 km away
Central-Hotel
Central-Hotel
#1 of 53 in Winterberg
66 reviews
7.1 km away
Landhotel Grimmeblick
Landhotel Grimmeblick
#11 of 53 in Winterberg
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Berghotel Astenkrone
Berghotel Astenkrone
#5 of 53 in Winterberg
67 reviews
2.7 km away
AstenRose - Landhotel am Rothaarsteig
3.1 km away
Dorint Hotel & Sportresort
Dorint Hotel & Sportresort
#34 of 53 in Winterberg
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Schoene Asten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Schoene Asten

Address: Renauweg 54, 59955, Winterberg, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Asten Village)
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Winterberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Winterberg
#19 Spa Hotel in Winterberg
Price Range: $121 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Der Schoene Asten 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Der Schoene Asten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenhotel Astenhof Winterberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing