We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sauerland Stern Hotel
Nearby Hotels
H+ Hotel Willingen(Willingen)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel-Ferienappartements Edelweiss(Willingen)(Great Value!)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
US$138
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posthotel Usseln - Ringhotel Willingen(Willingen)(Great Value!)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Willinger Hof(Willingen)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Friederike Urlaubs- und Wellnesshotel(Willingen)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sporthotel Zum Hohen Eimberg(Willingen)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$147
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
37
83
55
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
83
55
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconference hotelswimming poollobby areabreakfast buffetparking spacenice poollong weekenddining roomsummersternsauerlandgermanysaunasnowbalconiesdiscotown
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2016

As a group of 18 family members we arrived to this hotel trying to have everybody happy. For such a group the main advantage is the "all-in" principle, however as a demanding hotel guest myself I could not consider this hotel to be awarded with four stars.

The rooms are decent and fine, however do not offer rooms with two queens size beds which would be ideal for a family of two adults and two young children. The rooms offer couches for children to sleep on, however there are very hard buttons on the couches and therefore my children did not want to sleep on them after the first night.

Again, as a demanding traveler, I tend to avoid all-inclusive type hotels with long buffets and everything, however the food on this buffet was rather present and of very acceptable quality and varieties. The biggest disappointment was by far the personnel (waiters) that really do not have a friendly face, a customer service attitude or training what so ever. In some cases they were even rude while attending for drinks.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mjhvanrossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GutshofItterbach, Manager at Sauerland Stern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your rating on Tripadvisor. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our service team. We are very thankful for your rating/complaint as it helps us to find deficits in our service. Further we use this matter to improve the training and education of your waiters continuously. Our waiters have been alerted to these errors in order to avoid such matters in future. Once again we would like to apologize for all the inconvenience.
Best regards from Willingen,
Sauerland Stern Hotel


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016

Visited Stern hotel in Willingen for a mid week winter break. Arrived and saw a large complex in a great location.
Rooms were massive...no exaggeration! There are some living accommodation in large cities that aren't as big as this.
The main focus of this review is to commend and praise the high level of customer service.
Arrived and had an issue with my mothers electric wheelchair. The service that we received was first class. I have stayed in 5 star hotels and not seen this level of customer care. Attentive and supportive.
Then went out for the evening - taxis booked from hotel to centre of Willingen.Please note we took taxis as my mum could not walk or use the electic scooter.
A walk would be 5 mins max.

Had a nice meal at the Brahaus in Willingen. Typical German fayre - excellent beers.

Then came back to the hotel and wished to have a drink. The bar staff were amazing helping my mum into lifts etc.

Service with a smile - cannot wait to go back. The slopes with ski school is really close. A walk up the hill takes 3-5 mins.

Didn't use restaurant - the pool area was lovely though!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank griffref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SauerlandSternHotel, Manager at Sauerland Stern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016
Google Translation

Lieber Gast,

wir sind begeistert von so viel Lob und freuen uns ganz besonders über diese lieben Worte. Es ist toll, dass Ihnen ihr Aufenthalt bei uns so gut gefallen hat und Sie sich rundum wohl gefühlt haben. Dies ist immer unser oberstes Ziel und wir tuen alles, damit unsere Gäste gern wiederkommen. Aufmerksamkeit und Freundlichkeit stehen bei uns an erster Stelle und werden sehr groß geschrieben.

Wir würden uns sehr freuen, wenn wir Sie noch einmal bei uns als unsere Gäste begrüßen dürften.
Wir senden Ihnen herzliche Grüße aus Willingen,
Ihr Sauerland Stern Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2016

I stayed two nights at this place. This hotel is HUGE! More than 500 rooms. Room was big and the sleep quality good. Breakfast was superb and plenty to choose from. Efficient check in and check out. Great location right in the middle of the action. I did not use other facilities (pool, bowling sauna etc.) since I was there with a large (200+ people group) for a company anniversary. I wil return in the future!

Room Tip: Since the hotel is HUGE a room on the lower level could save some time waiting for the elevator.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank roman158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SauerlandSternHotel, Manager at Sauerland Stern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016
Google Translation

Lieber Roman,

wir sagen DANKE für diese super tolle Bewertung auf tripadvisor.de!
Das größte Lob für uns ist, wenn Gäste mit Ihrem Aufenthalt so zufrieden waren und uns gern noch einmal besuchen möchten. Trotz der Größe des Hotels versuchen wir unseren Gästen immer höchstmöglichen Service und Komfort zu bieten - schön wenn uns das gelingt.

Wir sagen bis zum nächsten Mal und grüßen Sie herzlich aus Willingen,
Ihr Team vom Sauerland Stern Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Older hotel that keeps the qulaity of the vacation the focal point. Rooms are exceptionally clean, location is great, and food is terrific. Vegetarian to Sirloin...they have feresh fish, fruit, calamari, salmon, pasta and the lists goes on.

The town is clean and typical of a resort town (many items of interest to see). Glass blowing shop, vintage collections of cars and memorabilia. Giant slide and gret views from ski tower at the top of the resort.

Room Tip: get the meal card with your room. All meals are buffet and include drinks and dessert.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiNo_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015

Near the center with 2 good supermarkets closeby and restaurants. Plenty of parking possibilities P1-P9. Kid friendly hotel with various options to keep the kids busy during the summer. Lagunan connects via a tunnel to the hotel ( left side) and on the right you can find a cinema, ice skating and Eldorado ( activities for younger children, table tennis). The children also gather in the center of the hotel on the 1st floor where the rooms connect. Although playing here seems to be prohibited I think it is permitted when the weather is bad. My daughter made many friends here. The disco can be enjoyed by the children as well on Friday and Saturday. There is bowling next door to the disco.
Dinning experience is not that pleasant as it is a huge place with thousands of people. Breakfast and dinner is average since they cater to large numbers. You can expect a long line at the warm meal section for dinner which is annoying. Food finishes fast too but they do re-fill after about 10 minutes. Although there are various desserts, they all seem similar and after a few days you can get tired of it.
The hotel rooms are not noise proof and we were disturbed every night by noisy children in the corridor and noises from other rooms. The hotel room door had a large gap and didn't shut properly which contributed to the disturbances. There were 3 lifts but very slow. Luckily we were on the 1st floor with the stairs next door to our room. Our hotel room had plenty of closet space and was a good size. Would be great if the rooms can be re-furbished with new carpeting.
Wifi is free near the reception area but you have to pay to have it in your room. 2 Euros per hr, 5 Euros per day or 25 Euros for 7 days.
Overall it was a pleasant experience and we found Willingen to be a beautiful place!

Room Tip: Higher rooms better views, however you have to be patient for the lifts
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews