We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People factory but good if you like it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sauerland Stern Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Willingen
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Went here with a large group of colleagues, It is quit ea big place over 500 rooms. They offer big dining restaurant with buffet and so on. Not really for us but if you are here with a large group it is quite convenient. They offer Disco, separate bar, bowling, fitness (other building, possible to access from inside during day, but not at 7:00AM). And other restaurants.

Shuttle bus service is available and free of charge.

Service is very good and staff very helpfull. Parking space enough and decent priced.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaxPeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2017

It was exciting having a late evening arrival on a day with more than average snowfall.
Entering the hotel was with a wouw feeling, multilanguage reception available (even in the Nederlandse language) and entering the room with a magnifique vieuw.
There is a lot of parking space, even if you have some luck, covered space. The hotel is an excellent conference hotel but also to spend holidays for ski sport, mountain bikers, langlauf , hicking...
The hotel is located outside the centre of Willingen but in the middle of different sportmodi: ski (worldchampion 2017 schans jump will take place in Willingen) indoor iceskating, indoor family swinning fun. All this faciliteit and also the conference room are reachable via tunnels, so in fact you don't have the leave the hotel.The hotel has own pool, sauna...
As we were there for a conference, the food was served in buffetvorm in the different big restaurant rooms. There is a separate Italian restaurant. The breakfast was very good. The lunch and dinner buffet was not excellent but anyhow for the volume that had to be prepared good quality. It remains a very big hotel, one of the biggest in Middle Germany, with a lot of possibilities.
Free internet is only available in the lobby area. Internet on the room cost 5 euro for 24 hours. This is a bit disappointing for such a nice and big hotel.
When the conference of ENERGETIX will be held in this hotel next year, we will for sure prolong our stay for some holidays.

Room Tip: Rooms atu the backside have vieuw on mountains, rooms in front vieuw on conference centre and some s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank patrick c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016

As an organisation, we have been using Sauerland Stern Hotel for our annual conference for the last 3/4 years. This is a huge hotel with amazing conference facilities. No matter how big or small your event or conference is this place can handle it and has the facilities.
Adjoining to the hotel is a local swimming pool which has indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools. Yes, outdoor heated swimming pool.
The surroundings to the hotel is green, peaceful, open and very scenic. If you like walking then you will love this place.

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious and good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PrashShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

As a group of 18 family members we arrived to this hotel trying to have everybody happy. For such a group the main advantage is the "all-in" principle, however as a demanding hotel guest myself I could not consider this hotel to be awarded with four stars.

The rooms are decent and fine, however do not offer rooms with two queens size beds which would be ideal for a family of two adults and two young children. The rooms offer couches for children to sleep on, however there are very hard buttons on the couches and therefore my children did not want to sleep on them after the first night.

Again, as a demanding traveler, I tend to avoid all-inclusive type hotels with long buffets and everything, however the food on this buffet was rather present and of very acceptable quality and varieties. The biggest disappointment was by far the personnel (waiters) that really do not have a friendly face, a customer service attitude or training what so ever. In some cases they were even rude while attending for drinks.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mjhvanrossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GutshofItterbach, Manager at Sauerland Stern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your rating on Tripadvisor. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our service team. We are very thankful for your rating/complaint as it helps us to find deficits in our service. Further we use this matter to improve the training and education of your waiters continuously. Our waiters have been alerted to these errors in order to avoid such matters in future. Once again we would like to apologize for all the inconvenience.
Best regards from Willingen,
Sauerland Stern Hotel


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016

Visited Stern hotel in Willingen for a mid week winter break. Arrived and saw a large complex in a great location.
Rooms were massive...no exaggeration! There are some living accommodation in large cities that aren't as big as this.
The main focus of this review is to commend and praise the high level of customer service.
Arrived and had an issue with my mothers electric wheelchair. The service that we received was first class. I have stayed in 5 star hotels and not seen this level of customer care. Attentive and supportive.
Then went out for the evening - taxis booked from hotel to centre of Willingen.Please note we took taxis as my mum could not walk or use the electic scooter.
A walk would be 5 mins max.

Had a nice meal at the Brahaus in Willingen. Typical German fayre - excellent beers.

Then came back to the hotel and wished to have a drink. The bar staff were amazing helping my mum into lifts etc.

Service with a smile - cannot wait to go back. The slopes with ski school is really close. A walk up the hill takes 3-5 mins.

Didn't use restaurant - the pool area was lovely though!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank griffref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SauerlandSternHotel, Manager at Sauerland Stern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016
Google Translation

Lieber Gast,

wir sind begeistert von so viel Lob und freuen uns ganz besonders über diese lieben Worte. Es ist toll, dass Ihnen ihr Aufenthalt bei uns so gut gefallen hat und Sie sich rundum wohl gefühlt haben. Dies ist immer unser oberstes Ziel und wir tuen alles, damit unsere Gäste gern wiederkommen. Aufmerksamkeit und Freundlichkeit stehen bei uns an erster Stelle und werden sehr groß geschrieben.

Wir würden uns sehr freuen, wenn wir Sie noch einmal bei uns als unsere Gäste begrüßen dürften.
Wir senden Ihnen herzliche Grüße aus Willingen,
Ihr Sauerland Stern Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willingen hotels
0.4 km away
Best Western Plus Hotel Willingen
3.8 km away
H+ Hotel Willingen
H+ Hotel Willingen
#4 of 38 in Willingen
101 reviews
0.6 km away
Rueters Parkhotel
Rueters Parkhotel
#1 of 38 in Willingen
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Loft Hotel
Loft Hotel
#18 of 38 in Willingen
35 reviews
0.3 km away
Goebel's Landhotel
Goebel's Landhotel
#6 of 38 in Willingen
85 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Willinger Hof
Hotel Willinger Hof
#9 of 38 in Willingen
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sauerland Stern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sauerland Stern Hotel

Address: Kneippweg 1, 34508 Willingen, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Willingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Willingen
Price Range: S$235 - S$393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sauerland Stern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 524
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sauerland Stern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing