We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Arkade(Cochem)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
7
6
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
6
4
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

Overlooking the river, right opposite central Cochem, this must be one of the nicest B&B:s around. Small-ish with a very personal and good service, willing and keen to help you with hints and advice on whatever you'd like to do while in Cochem. We had a room right on the top, overlooking the river an with a lovely view over Cochem and the Reichsburg Cochem. Those who find the stairs being a problem, it might be a good idea requesting a room on the lower floors... Good parking, and a nice and short walk to where everything happens. The room was very clean, albeit on the smaller side, the beds good, and the showe and bath (en suite) good, too. The breakfast is rather basic, lots of bread, though, and the coffee really tasty. As the pricing is very atttactive for the location I am more than happy to recommend the Ol' Ferryhouse!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Stefan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2015 via mobile

The B&B location is really good. It is opposite to the Cochem Castle. The view from the house is stunning.
Anyway we are not happy as we had special request and got the email confirmation from the owner a month before checking for river view room. Finally we got the room at the back with building view and could not change. The wifi is very weak. Heaters don't working well both in bathroom and bedroom.
Breakfast is ok. It is cold dish (bread, yam, cheese, coffee, etc) at 5EUR/person. Parking is free of charge in front of the house (but there are around 3 parking lots).

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank NorPim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2014

Our family had a very enjoyable 4 night stay at Altes Fahrhaus.

The couple running the place were both friendly and helpful, they greeted us upon arrival, and helped get us situated in our rooms. The rooms were clean and comfortable, plus the breakfast we had every morning was tasty and filling. Location is great, with nice views of the river, town and castle from out front (and from some rooms). It was also a very pleasant walk down river and over the bridge into town. The free parking out front was a plus.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone considering staying in Cochem.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank flexabull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2014

We were on the way to Lauenburg and this was our stopover accommodation. It is a small hotel situated right close to the river which makes it convenient if you are planning some outdoor activities close to the river. It is between Hamburg and Lauenburg and therefore convenient to access both.

The service was very friendly and we had some delightful drinks on the patio watching the people go by. While the hotel is a bit dated it is still acceptable. The breakfast was acceptable and comparable to a decent continental breakfast.

If you do not have a car then you can use the bus to get around although it is not as easy if you want to travel some distance. This is best used as a stopover close to the river as there is a river "lock" close by which is fascinating to see with the boats being lifted or lowered to continue their river journey.

Room Tip: Ask for a river facing room higher up.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PeterV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed in this beautiful old house for 5 nights in mid July and were delighted with our choice of accommodation. The hotel is front line facing onto the Moselle and directly opposite the castle and was an easy fifteen minute walk from the station.

We asked for a quiet room and were shown to No.3 on the second floor and it was perfect for us. The bedroom was a good size, spotlessly clean and well equipped and the bathroom larger than ours at home!

The owner operates an 'Honesty Bar' on the landing of the first floor with a good selection of snacks and drinks including chilled beers and wine. Perfect for late night nibbles.

Most notable was the friendliness of the owners and the excellent breakfast, which was very reasonably priced at €5 (July 2014). As well as cereals, fresh fruit and yoghurts on the sideboard, each table had a basket of warm breads, a selection of meats, cheeses and jams, fruit juice and tea or coffee. We were there the night that Germany won the World Cup and a lovely gesture at breakfast the following morning was a glass of sekt to celebrate the win.

Thank you Andrea for making us so welcome. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend your lovely hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Cochem.

Room Tip: There are only four rooms. Ours was No. 3 on the second floor with a sideways view from the window of the Moselle.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Jetlagged787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews