We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average experience at the last leg of a wonderful tour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thessoni Classic Zurich
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Regensdorf
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2017

We stayed at Thessoni classic hotel in Zurich on the last leg of a wonderful tour. Hence expectations were on the higher side for myself, my wife and our 3 year old daughter. However, I must say we were a little disappointed with the room and the services ( perhaps to a lesser extent).

The room was a bit cramped as you will see from the pics posted and according to me is not ideal if you have small kid/ kids. Also the lighting in the room with almost all the lights on was still dull at best.

The bed and sleep quality was very good but if you are staying as a family, you would prefer a cot with a single queen sized mattress (if not king size) rather than two single mattresses put next to each other.

The location is a little remote and hence don't expect to get a cab by waiting on the roadside. Perhaps the bus is an option for those traveling solo with light luggage. Booking a cab through the hotel is expensive and using Uber is the best option. Not only is the latter quicker and reliable, it is also 45% cheaper as compared to regular cab options.

The breakfast was a little disappointing in terms of the variety. Also the staff at the restaurant had difficulty understanding English. They gentleman could not even tell us if a particular dish was veg or non veg.

On the positive side, the free wifi is really good. The lobby and the restaurants are clean and well furnished.

They have tried to make the rooms unique by having a sliding roof over the bed but not sure it would be to the liking of those staying as family.

Overall, having stayed at other hotels in Europe on the same tour, our personal opinion is that this hotel has some catching up to do to be at par with others in the same class.

Room Tip: Best to Opt for a room that has a view to the front street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hafees M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessoni c, Inhaber at Thessoni Classic Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

thanks for feedback and we apologize for not beeing happy with us

we have to clarify
you booked an leisure tour package with your tour operator
these one sold the room request to an agent
this one informs us about rates and offer he needs: so we sold rooms and list of breakfast items to agent. according to this list he ordered standard rooms and breakfast according to list. ( non veg 8 pax, vegetarian 12 pax)
WHAT YOU DID PAY FOR WE DO NOT KNOW, AS WE HAVE 80 JUST NEW BUILT ROOMS AND AMERICAN BREAKFAST BUT AGENT DID NOT PAY FOR.
If checking the webpage of us we do have large units even with kitchen for longer stay but you have been in hotel one night only. Thanks and we stopped already some weeks ago cooperation with this AGENT as he is paying to us not what selling to TO.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

We went there as we got a good deal on rooms.It's 15-20mins train ride from Zurich main station.Then it's a 5-10min walk to the hotel from the station disembarked.

I didn't like the room as the bath and toilet didn't have doors and separated by the curtains and we coming from middle east not used to these designs.I thought that's very mediocre idea.

The location is also very dry and dead.Not worth staying unless it's damn expensive in the centre Zurich and sleeping in the night is the only motive.

We found it very hard to describe the location to a taxi driver for airport drop off and we really did escape from missing the flight by 10 mins.

Overall disappointed.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank Faris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogerEvaBoppelsen, Geschäftsführer at Thessoni Classic Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

thanks for your comments

as you have seen there is the boutique hotel thessoni classic just in front of thessoni home our residence and named as boarding house
the rooms in thessoni classic and rooms are completly different.
as you have seen on booking machine, the pictures shows open bathrooms in studios the cheapest one and in suites etc covered bathrooms.
thessoni classic ist existing since 26 yeras and well known so easy to find for taxi drivers if they have navigation system

so it is up to you to book a room that is convienient to you and not booking rates !!

Roger Gloor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as part of our tour of Switzerland from Milan booked through GarTours (on Viator).

The hotel itself had a beautiful foyer and lovely fireplace and lounge area and the breakfast buffet was also lovely. The dinner prices and coffee prices were expensive we thought and we felt it was a long way from Zurich.

After being out on tour all day and arriving the first evening at 5.30pm, we were advised by the tour company to go around the corner to the local supermarket and buy some supplies of nibblies which we did. We expected to do this the next evening however we were told being Sunday it was closed therefore we ended up not having dinner - $150 for 2 adults and a child who eats nothing was out of the question, so this was very unsatisfactory.

Our room was well fitted out. Our floor had some damage to the marble which had a note saying this was caused by incorrect cleaning, but the shower was lovely and hot and the bed was very comfortable, as was our son (11 years old) bed. The room was old and abit outdated, but maybe we were given these rooms as we were part of a tour.

Overall, the hotel itself and the staff were fine, but it was not central enough for us - we'd rather have been closer to cafe's and places to eat not stuck out in the countryside so to speak. We have advised the tour operator of this fact, as everyone on our tour felt the same way.

The downside for us also was there was no tea/coffee facilities in the room, which we had in our Milan room, and the teas and coffees you had to order at the restaurant, and as it was bedtime when we felt like one, we didn't want to have to venture downstairs whilst our son was asleep to order one. It would be a great improvement if the rooms had these facilities.

Room Tip: No tea/coffee facilities in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogerEvaBoppelsen, Inhaber at Thessoni Classic Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2016

Thanks for your feedback. The train station to downtown is only 3 minutes to walk and you are in city downtown within 14 minutes without change. Thessoni team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Really high level hotel: rooms are really new and with high level forniture. Everyone from the hotel staff is really nice and kind.

At the breakfast you can find everything and the quality of the food is excellence.

The hotel is close to a bus stop and to a train station as well where you can take a train and being in the centre of Zürich in a few minutes.

Close to the hotel you have many shops and several supermarket.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefanoCappelletti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessoni c, Manager at Thessoni Classic Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

Dear Mr. Cappelletti

Many thanks for your kind answer at Tripadvisor.
Hopefully see you again soon and all the BEST for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

This is one of those places that leaves me rather indifferent. Was my room uncomfortable? Not really. Was it good? Not really.
I did like the covered parking. If you have a special car, this is a good hotel for you.
Breakfast was good enough.
Shame you can't have breakfast outside on the terrace. Would be fun.
I didn't sleep so well; I have to admit it was rather hot.
What I didn't like was the shower; and I was staying in a renovated room. I can't understand that in this day and age, you have to stand in a bath to shower. What I really hate is that the bathroom becomes flooded after a shower (something they seem to be well aware off since they provide an extra towel...).
Storage space is limited. And I didn't find the staff at the reception very friendly. Not your typical Swiss hospitality.
Would I stay here again? Only if I have to.
PS: there is a good, clean and modern gym at about 5' walk. It does belong to the hotel and is for free.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghibli608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessoni c, Geschäftsführer at Thessoni Classic Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

Many thanks for your assessment.
We hope to see you again at the Thessoni classic & home

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Regensdorf
1 km away
Movenpick Hotel Zurich Regensdorf
5.9 km away
Swissotel Zurich
Swissotel Zurich
#34 of 137 in Zurich
2,307 reviews
4.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Gastof Hirschen
Gastof Hirschen
#3 of 3 in Regensdorf
33 reviews
6.8 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport
0.3 km away
Thessoni Home Zuerich
Thessoni Home Zuerich
#10 of 54 in Zurich
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thessoni Classic Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thessoni Classic Zurich

Address: Eichwatt 19, Regensdorf 8105, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Regensdorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Regensdorf
Price Range: $212 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thessoni Classic Zurich 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are looking for a long term accommodation? Visit us at Thessoni home next door. FitnessLOFT and sophie'sWOHNKUCHE & Bar are available there. see Thessoni home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thessoni Classic Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Regensdorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing