We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveller rating
70
158
63
18
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
158
63
18
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusiness hotelclean and modern hotelbreakfast costconference roomlake mountain viewgood sized roomscomfortable bedsconvenient hotelbusiness tripbluetooth speakerroom rateperfect stayfree passmetro stationhotel staffeasy accessenjoyed my stay
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 313 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2018

The hotel is located 5km outside of Lausanne but is nearby the train station.
The best attraction of the hotel is the amazing views from the bedroom windows! Snow-kissed mountains with green grass - it's the picture-perfect postcard one envisions before coming to Switzerland!
The room is spacious and modern. The service is excellent. Overall, an excellent stay!

Room Tip: Check on hotel's website for deals. I booked on booking.com and paid more for the room than had I booked directly from the website!
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Adil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedricGerard, Front Office Manager at Starling Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Dear Adil,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel and share your experience with others.

It is always a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed so much your stay.

We'll let our teams know that you appreciated the service they provided.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again on your future trip to Lausanne.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

I stay here quite often as the hotel is very convenient for visiting friends, family and local sight seeing. Close to Lausanne, Morges but without the noise. Good sized rooms and some have great views of the lake and mountains. Breakfast is worth getting up for. Birchermuesli, cold meats, a variety of different breads and best of all....baked beans! These are no ordinary beans as they’ve been cooked with fresh tomatoes, carrots and smoked ham....absolutely yummy. Very friendly staff, underground parking and very often some great deals to be had. I should have given a 4.5 score but it wasn’t possible.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedricGerard, Front Office Manager at Starling Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to rate our property and share your experience with other travellers.

It is always a pleasure for us to read that our guests enjoyed their stay and such nice comments about our staff and services.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon on another occasion.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

The hotel is located on a polytechnic campus which makes it quite interesting. The campus is mostly very quiet except on Fridays when the students come out to have fun. Lake Geneva is a walking distance from the hotel. When having breakfast in the restaurant, the Swiss Alps are very visible in the background. You can walk around the campus when you get tired of the hotel. This allows you to see the Alps from a higher perspective since the campus is on much higher ground. The hotel staff are very friendly. Rooms are very neat though I found the room with double beds to be quite small.

Room Tip: Rooms in Building 3 have some nice views
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedricGerard, Responsable réception at Starling Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to rate our property and share your experience with other travellers.

It is always a pleasure for us to read that our guests enjoyed their stay.

For your next stay, do not hesitate to contact to check if a Superior room with Lake view is available, they are much more spacious.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again on another occasion.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

The hotel is very nice and placed in a convenient location in the neighborhood of EPFL. The cit center is at about 25 minutes by metro. Personnel is friendly, kind, and efficient.

The rooms are comfortable, quiet, and clean, with very nice, modern, and reasonably new furnitures. The toilet, placed in a booth, is somehow claustrophobic, but I have seen the same kind of toilet also in other hotels in Lausanne. Therefore, I guess it is a custom in this place.

Breakfast is OK, with a not too wide but of good-quality choice of sweet and salty food. The buffet is a bit unorganized and I had to put some effort in finding plates, spoons and napkins.

The bar is good, but quite expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alberto F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedricGerard, Responsable réception at Starling Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers.

It is always a pleasure for us to read that our guests enjoyed their stay and the service provided by our staff.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again next time you have the oportunity to pass by Lausanne.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

I have stayed here two times, once in 2017 and once in 2018 for 2 nights each time. Both times the service has been excellent, and the rooms were very clean!

Positives: wonderful mountain views, quiet rooms (you can hear nothing through the walls), excellent staff, gluten free bread and Nespresso coffee at their breakfast, comfortable beds, air conditioning, nice shower, good wifi, close to UNIL and EPFL (walking distance).

Negatives: I really don't have any complaints other than to mention that the bathroom isn't really separate from the room, which makes staying with colleagues a bit awkward sometimes but isn't such a big deal.

I would recommend this hotel, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedricGerard, Responsable réception at Starling Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to rate our property and share your experience with other travellers.

It is always a pleasure for us to read that our guests enjoyed their stay.

We acknowledge receipt about the comment about the bathroom open on the room, which is, we have to admit, very contemporain.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again on another occasion.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews