We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
FindHotel
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
129
89
43
18
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
129
89
43
18
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake lucerne an absolute joy terrace restaurant last month balcony views salle boats ferry efficiency francs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 306 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2019

have just returned home from a week staying at this lovely, calm, hotel. Our room was very light and spacious. All the service personnel were very efficient and caring. Both the breakfast buffet and restaurant meals were excellent. It goes without saying that this hotel has the best location in Weggis with a terrace restaurant right on the water's edge. The views are absolutely breathtaking. The boat station, bus stops and tourist information are only a matter of minutes away. The supermarket just a few minutes more.
This hotel is place of calm efficiency with a caring and friendly attitude.
We would most definitely recommend a stay here.

Room tip: request a lake view room
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjfclily
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcentralamsee, Manager at Hotel Central am See, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2019

Dear tjfclily,

thank you for your stay and for your kind review on tripadvisor.
We are glad to hear, that you really enjoyed your stay in our hotel and in weggis.
With great pleasure we would like to thank you for the comments
and we the Management and the staff are always with open arms
to serve our Guest.

We would be be very happy to welcome you again in our hotel

Your Hotel Central am See
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2019

We booked and stayed for one night in September. From start to finish we had issues with little things that unfortunately kept adding up and cumulatively added up to make it a very bad stay. The staff we dealt with seem to be very unsympathetic and cold when it comes to understanding our concerns. I reached out to the Director of the hotel explaining what my issues were, As some one in hospitality who traveled many many times, i wanted to relay some basic guest issue that could have been addressed or dealt with better even before we arrived. I did receive a response back with a simple your fault not ours, and a step by step explanations to why it is my fault. At no point did i request a discount or a refund, but in no way did I expect the hostile response received back from management. Overall my review is very Swiss character very far from anything really even for walking. Customer service was as weak or none existence as the Wifi signal. Better options closer to Luzern for the same price.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelC204, Manager at Hotel Central am See, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2019

Dear A L,

thank you for your stay and your rating on tripadvisor.

As we already wrote you we deeply apaologize, that you stay was not as you expected.
We reserved a nice superior room in our first floor for you, which is higly recommedned by other guests,
because of its stunning view and big terrace.
Regarding your small issues we already explained you the situation in our e mail to you. We would have been really happy to solve your sitaution directly in the hotel.
We do certainly understand your point of view, but experiences are always a subjective perspection.
We do have guests, that come every year, to stay in exactly the room that we booked for you.
The issues you mentioned to us unfortunately were not under our control, for example the blocked parking spaces.

We would like to apaologize again for the expactations, that we could not fulfill.

Your Hotel Central am See

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2019

We stayed four fabulous nights here and every dinner and breakfast was brilliant
(We stayed half board which is a good option)
Dinning on the lakes edge with great food staff and all with a sense of fun
Small pool adds something special
Our room was fantastic with great views over the lake and tiny marina

Room tip: Room 226 had a lovely balcony overlooking the lake And an other one off the bathroom (also separate bath and shower) Amazing
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcentralamsee, Manager at Hotel Central am See, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2019

Dear Sandy T,

Thank you very much for your stay and also for your kind feedback.
With great pleasure we would like to thank you for the comments
and we the Management and the staff are always with open arms
to serve our Guest.

We would be very happy to welcome you again.
Please let us know whenever you wish to stay again, so we can arrange another perfect holiday for you.

Your Hotel Central am See
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Ate at the restaurant which was expensive but still cheaper than other places. We arrived Saturday and parked out front to drop cases off. Unfortunately the staff did not tell us that the road outside is closed to vehicle on Sundays. We stopped outside to load our car and was confronted-by angry residents threatening to call the police. We narrowly missed a 250franc fine and three points on our licence when police arrived. The Swiss do not like motorists at all. Watch out for the speed cameras around the town.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank probbins2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcentralamsee, Manager at Hotel Central am See, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2019

Dear probbins2000

Thank you for your stay and review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our lake sided hotel.
Unfortunately the reception did not mention that the road is closed, because passing to our hotel is
allowed for our guests.
On sundays the road is opened for tourists and only for cars that want to come to hotel central or hotel Frohburg.
As our guest it should have been allowed to you to pass the road, so we are very sorry to hear that you had some problems.
Next time please dont hesitate to contact us in such cases, we would have been very happy to solve the situation for you.

Thank you again for your stay.
We would be happy to welcome you another time.

Your Hotel Central am See
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2019

This hotel has a magnificent location right at the Lake of Lucerne - but 'that's where it ends'. It is the epitome of the bad image of the Swiss hotel industry - bad service, expensive, arrogant! We booked 6 rooms for a small group but they managed to place one party in a sister hotel "Frohburg" and 'sold it' as upgrade. Compared to the nicely appointed rooms in the main hotel, the room in "Frohburg" may have been slightly bigger but with randomly assembled furnishing without taste and style. The balcony would require a major overhaul to make it fit the price. The cleanliness left a lot to be desired. In some rooms the shower gel/shampoo was either missing or, even worse, half empty - used by the previous guest. When politely expressing our frustration with the situation, there were a lot of excuses but no apology!

Date of stay: August 2019
1  Thank Globetrotting_Bebbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcentralamsee, Manager at Hotel Central am See, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2019

Dear Globetrotting_Bebbi,

thank you for your stay in our hotel and also for your feedback.
Your group booking was made for 6 double rooms. We kindly offered you free upgrades in
hotel Central and also in hotel Frohburg where you had a balcony and lake view.
We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with our service, since we even kindly changed your booking in advance, after you booked one room for the wrong date.

We would also like to apologize for the inconvenience about the cleaning.
Unfortunately you did not let us know this, so we did not get the availability to change something about the situation.
When asked by check out if everything was fine, we did not get any complaints from your group guests.

Thank you again for your feedback and kind regards from Weggis

Your Hotel Central am See
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews