We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, comfortable, but a little dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'Hotel de la Prairie
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Pros:
1) The restaurant was excellent. Large portions, very high quality, very reasonable prices. And the staff service was very, very good. Compliments to Chefs and staff!
2) Our room (#205) was spacious, quiet, clean, and with a large, comfortable bed. And the pillows were amazingly comfortable. We never heard noise at night, either from outside or from other rooms.
3) Bathroom was clean, shower only, very large cotton towels (2 bath, and 2 hand towels).
4) Sparling clean Jacuzzi and very nice dry sauna. Towels provided, wonderful rain shower in each changing room.
5) Wonderfully comfy cotton robe, with slippers, provided!
6) Staff are friendly, helpful and very professional. Management obviously has great pride in their hotel.
7) The Centrale Thermale is a 5 minute walk away. Note: for 35 CHF (Swiss Francs) you can get a package for 5 hours to use the health spa, all the pools, and the relaxation center with Jacuzzi, Japanese bath, 4 Saunas (2 dry and 2 steam)

Slight negatives:
1) The steam sauna was not working.
2) The full price is stiff. We got a great discount, and were well pleased! I suggest contacting hotel directly for best rates (Front desk speaks English and French).

Overall, with few choices of hotels, this one seems the best value. We really enjoyed our stay.

Notes:
1) They have a wonderful Science Fiction museum in the town, well worth a visit!
2) The Chateau museum is amazing, and you can get an iPod with a great guided tour in English or French. They have 3 of the oldest examples of wooden canoes in Europe, and a really eclectic but well presented collection of artifacts from roman to modern times.

Room Tip: All rooms seem quiet, with double windows. Suggest 2nd or 3rd floor, and not facing parking lot, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2015

We went to Yverdon-Les Bains for a romantic getaway because of our anniversary. We chose to stay in this Hotel and we don't regret it. We had a really nice stay and have had a deluxe room. The inerior was held vintage. The hotel is an old house but everything was definitely renovated, the style was very beautiful and it was very vlean.The stuff was polite and friendly at all times. We would come back.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Deniza_Ianev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_de_la_Prairie, Responsable relations publiques at L'Hotel de la Prairie, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2015

Dear guests

We thank you for your visit and your kind message.

We hope to welcome you on an other occasion.

Best regards

Bénédicte Chaudet Aires
Executive secretary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2015

Friendly and service minded staff. We got a nice room with a balcony. We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was really great! The price for the dishes are not low but the foot match the price. The hotel is clean and the SPA looked nice. If we are visiting the area again we will certainly book this hotel again!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rikki_Tikki_Tavi_43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_de_la_Prairie, Responsable relations publiques at L'Hotel de la Prairie, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2015

Dear guests

We thank you for having chosen our hotel and for your comments.

Our menu prices are adapted to our home-made dishes.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you on another occasion.

Kind regards

Bénédicte Chaudet Aires
Executive secretary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2014 via mobile

The stay was ok, but rooms are really small and everything is pretty old (not in a good vintage way)

The spa area is small but ok. But also not 4 stars. It looked like the spa was not cleaned over night...

I would think that 2 stars would be appropriate for this hotel - not more.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank GuidoOswald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_de_la_Prairie, Responsable relations publiques at L'Hotel de la Prairie, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2014

Dear Sir,

We thank you for choosing our hotel for your 3 night stay. You kindly booked an economic single room at Chf. 137.- per night without breakfast (12 square meters).

We offer 5 other room categories above the economic single room (from the standard single room to the suite).

We regret that you did not enjoy your stay but hope you shall return soon.

Yours sincerely

Bénédicte Chaudet Aires
Executive secretary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2014 via mobile

From the moment I walked into the lobby, I could tell this was a hotel that was carefully planned and we'll run. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The bed was firm and I slept very well.

The use of the sauna, whirlpool, and steam room was an excellent touch to help my jet lag. This area was very clean and had massage rooms available, should you so choose.

The staff members, each one I met, was extremely pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was good and service was willing totaling. on extra lengths.

I highly recomtrdcv

Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
Thank Darron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_de_la_Prairie, Responsable relations publiques at L'Hotel de la Prairie, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to leave a comment after your recent stay.

It was a pleasure to welcome you, always smiling and eager for discovery.

We hope you will come back soon to stay at our hotel.

Best regards

Bénédicte Chaudet Aires
Executive secretary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yverdon-les-Bains
0.4 km away
Grand Hotel & Centre Thermal
Grand Hotel & Centre Thermal
#3 of 7 in Yverdon-les-Bains
314 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel de la Source
Hotel de la Source
#2 of 7 in Yverdon-les-Bains
102 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel du Theatre
Hotel du Theatre
#1 of 7 in Yverdon-les-Bains
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Hotel du Lac Grandson
Hotel du Lac Grandson
#1 of 1 in Grandson
6 reviews
10.5 km away
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Grand Hotel des Rasses
#2 of 2 in Sainte-Croix
190 reviews
26.4 km away
Hotel Le Lac
Hotel Le Lac
#1 of 4 in Malbuisson
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel de la Prairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel de la Prairie

Address: avenue des Bains 9, Yverdon-les-Bains 1400, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Yverdon-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Yverdon-les-Bains
Price Range: S$213 - S$391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hotel de la Prairie 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Hotel de la Prairie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing