We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
21
12
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
12
4
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2016

On a recent alpine hiking trip I experienced many different accommodation types. Hotel Baeren has a great location in the center of Adelboden, on the main street. We had a balcony, which gave us a great view of the local action - especially for the summer street fair. We had dinner and breakfast at the Baeren - both excellent meals. Dinner in particular was one of the best of our trip. The service, however was borderline rude. From the first lukewarm exchange as we got our room, to the waitstaff that appeared put out to seat us or serve us, Would give a 5 for the food, and a 1 or 2 for the service. Definitely recommend the restaurant - if you're looking for a better service experience you may want to stay somewhere else.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank milesandmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We were booked into this hotel by our trekking trip company. It is centrally located in Adelboden and has a nice aspect on a square in downtown.

Our room was large with a comfortable bed. The restaurant was excellent and had a nice, compact wine list. Our dinner was traditional Swiss and of high quality. The service was excellent despite there only being two servers and the restaurant being quite busy.

We would highly recommend Hotel Gasthaus Baren to anyone interested in staying in Adelboden.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the square as the rooms facing the Main Street are rather noisy.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taos62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We had a balcony overlooking the main street which made for fun people-watching. Huge tub and shower. Comfortable beds with typical room layout. We had dinner and breakfast during our stay. Both meals were excellent.

The one negative was the service, beginning with reception, then seating at dinner, and again in the morning for breakfast and checkout. It felt a bit like the help were burned out / exhausted and just didn't care. Not rude, but close. I strongly recommend the food but would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tomaqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Awesome location here to access Interlaken, Gimmewald and Grindelwald! Out the window you are surrounded by mountains. Delicious breakfast each morning and has on site laundry - just make sure to get the price list prior to as the it is a slightly expensive. Ate dinner here one night which was convenient, it was an older crowd. Wonderful staff here and be sure to use super helpful tourist information desk that is right down the main street in Wilderswil.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jamesw0rldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2016 via mobile

Have stayed at the hotel a couple of years ago and thought it was great. Returned several times just to the restaurant and this time it was just as consistent as before. Nice food with self serve salad bar if you're having the a la carte menu. There is a separate area for fondue which I haven't tried and the restaurant also does daily specials.
Food is well-priced for Switzerland and the wine is also reasonable. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Demers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews