We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Selva Verde Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Heliconia Island Bed & Breakfast(Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Bambu(Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cinco Ceibas Reserve(Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Mirador Prendas(Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Aban(Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Selva Biological Station(Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Tropical Paradise(Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (746)
Filter reviews
746 results
Traveller rating
332
282
88
27
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
332
282
88
27
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riveritalian restauranthowler monkeyscosta ricaprimary forestcovered walkwayair conditioningbuffet styleroad noisenight walkgrand toursuspension bridgemeal planceiling fanlong walkdining areathe main road
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 746 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2018

My trip was booked through a travel company I have used several times in the past. The lodge has an assortment of rooms. My room was in the main building which was located on the highway which some of my group found too noisy. It had A/C and a ceiling fan (which may be important in hot weather). It was well maintained with a large bathroom. There were large groups of rooms located well off into the lush grounds. The walkways are well lit and covered-as each day there was a period of rain. The lodge was located on the Sarapiqui River. Tours were conducted by knowledgable guides. It is a popular lodge for hikers, birders, kayakers and photographers. The food is local and the fruit is fantastic!! I hope to return next year.

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

This lodge is too amazing for words. The rooms were clean and neat. There was no TV or AC but I did not miss it. Our tour dined at the buffet and there is a bird viewing station set up near the dining hall. There are trails through the property and a suspension bridge over the river. I would love to go back to this lodge!

Room Tip: My room was close to the river and very quiet. Rooms at the front of the lodge are subject to road noise.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dee_in_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

In a protected area divided by the main road between Tortuguero and La Fortuna, this is a great little stop over to break up a very long journey. I would recommend the tours offered locally to see the wildlife, as the guides know where to find it spot then. We took some great pictures and the tour guide was very informative
Good sized rooms with decent enough shower. Staff all very friendly and food very good. If staying longer than one night, try and get a quiet room by the river. Either way you will be probably be woken up by the Howler Monkeys at 5.20am! That’s the joy of staying in a forest. We enjoyed our stay here very much and would recommend

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mackmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

This lodge was a great place to stay to explore Sarapiqui. We stayed in a room in the main part but would recommend a bungalow away from the busy highway. We asked to move but they didn't have a bungalow available. It is situated near 2 forested areas that were beautiful to hike in. One of the forests you had to have a guide with you. There were lots of activities to enjoy. I would really recommend the river safar as we saw so much wildlife from the boat. Staff was friendly and helpful and breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the rooms in the main part of the hotel. Highway noise is loud and rooms are small dark and cramped.
Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Phyl207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

You come here for the birds and the owners make a big effort to attract as many birds here as possible with fruit stations etc. I loved gallo pinto so it was a very welcome breakfast for me, with excellent coffee too. The rooms were a bit austere in that they were made of hard wood throughout and there was no air con, but the fans seems to work fine. There was a very interesting tour included, requiring a 0520 pick up (!) to the Selva Bird Station which is a must do. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darron1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews