We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, great hotel with beautiful garden!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda La Isla Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We toured Costa Rica in September 2011. We were very surprised when we saw the rooms! Very beautiful and very clean! The food was also very good, as were the fruitcoctails. :-)
In the early morning, we went for a walk in their wonderful garden. Lots of animals and plants.
The owner was very friendly and took his time to chat with everyone who wanted.

Room Tip: Every room has its own theme. So, be surprised! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saapken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2012

An experience of a lifetime - staying in a rainforest in an Ecologically run hotel. The room was nicely decorated with an enormous bed. A fan was a welcome as it was hot and humid. The food was really nice and the portions were generous. The restaurant was open sided with a palm fronded roof and a lagoon on one side frequented by a resident caiman! The frog chorus at night was special to hear and we spotted several blue jeans frogs. The nature trail was good but being a rainforest there is no guarantee of seeing anything.

Room Tip: Choose a room in front of the chapel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmppr_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We toured Costa Rica in February 2012. Hacienda La Isla was hands down the nicest hotel we stayed. It is not big on features but is is classy with a great atmosphere and very personal. The owner, Jean Pierre, is originally from Belgium and speaks Flemish. He also has a network which he uses to arrange entertainment for his guests. The night tour with José from Frogs heaven was especially memorable.

The food in the restaurant was very tasty. The restaurant itself overlooks a nice little lagoon which is different every day. It adds to the whole secluded rain forest ambiance. The grounds are teeming with wildlife: lizards, monkeys, alligators.

The room was spacious. It did not have AC, so it was a little warm at night, but not stifling hot or uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This place is beautiful! The grounds are immaculate and you feel like you are at your own private Hacienda. We were there in June, and during the day, the rooms were a little warm. We had to leave the doors open at night to be cool enough. One evening a bat flew into the room, but I was pleasantly surprised at the lack of bugs (including mosquitos). We ate 2 breakfasts and 2 dinners at the restaurant and the food was FANTASTIC, albeit pricey ($30 dinner, $10 breakfast). Everything was very fresh at the restaurant (soup made from hearts of palm that were harvested that day, and yucca that was cooked the day it was picked from the garden). My son celebrated his 14th birthday while we were there and the chef made an AMAZING BBQ for our dinner that night (this option was less expensive at $20) and made a beautiful and delicious cake for our party of 15. Jean Pierre made our entire experience very smooth and arranged for an amazing white water rafting tour at a price much better than I had researched on the internet.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

This quiet secluded restored farm turned resort is with hiking trails through its 50 acres is rustic but with comfortable king sized beds and huge tile showers.
The food in the private for guests only dining area is 4 star quality both in flavor and presentation and the service was first class as well.
The owners were helpful and gracious and were in no way intrusive. We loved the dog Scotty a beautiful Irish setter. Rub his ears and he'll be your best friend for your stay.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank amoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horquetas
14.6 km away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
204 reviews
29.6 km away
Selva Verde Lodge
Selva Verde Lodge
#1 of 2 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
698 reviews
30.9 km away
Tirimbina Lodge
Tirimbina Lodge
#1 of 1 in La Virgen
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.7 km away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#2 of 2 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
153 reviews
35.8 km away
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
#2 of 12 in Turrialba
307 reviews
14.9 km away
Yatama Ecolodge & Reserve
Yatama Ecolodge & Reserve
#1 of 5 in Horquetas
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda La Isla Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda La Isla Lodge

Address: Horquetas, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui > Horquetas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Horquetas
Price Range: S$101 - S$146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda La Isla Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in the foothills of the impressive Braulio Carrillo National Park, the Spanish colonial-built Hacienda La Isla Lodge is very well located in the center of numerous top attractions of Costa Rica.A perfect gateway for your visit to the rainforests and the adventure sites (rafting, canopy, horseback riding, etc.) of Sarapiqui, the exotic Caribbean beaches, the active volcano Arenal or the world famous Tortuguero canals and sea turtles. Guests will encounter the mysteries of the rainforest while enjoying a comfortable stay in the historically designed rooms of the hacienda. Hacienda La Isla lodge is a unique departure from the common tourism experience in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda La Isla Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda La Isla Hotel Horquetas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing