We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda La Isla Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2009

My friend and I went in October to Hacienda La Isla. We have seen a lot of hotels and lodges in Costa Rica, but we think this one is one the nicest. The lodge was clean and beautiful, our view was excellent, and the dinner tasted real good. It is a very romantic place to stay and we can really recommand you. The owner Jean Pierre works very hard to make your stay so pleasant as possible. I hadn't see a blue jeans frog yet and Jean Pierre arranged that the gardener would catch a frog for me. It was amazing !!!

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank moonburgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 136 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2009

On arrival we discovered to be the only guests.
But despite that we were the only guests both Jean-Piere and his wife stood ready for us when we needed them.
They cooked lovely dishes and helped us with the reservation of the Canopy tours.
Besides the good service the hotel is situated in a beautiful are of rainforest en replanted rainforest. A nice trail leads you through it and down the road there are several information boards to provide you with extra info about the flora and fauna.

Summarized an excellent and very green hotel

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartijnSander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

The first thing we noticed at our arrival was the hospitality of the owner and staff. We were warmly welcomed by the owner of the 'hacienda ', who shortly explained the history and possibilities of his and his wife's hotel.
We were very surprised by the high standards of our lodge. It was very clean, had a king size bed, a safe and a comfortable bathroom. The lodge was very cozy and authentically decorated! It absolutely met our high (Dutch) requirements and standards!!!
After having taken a refreshing shower we went for a walk over the hacienda and its forests. We were impressed by the overwhelming nature and the amount of exotic animals in the direct environment of our lodges. A small selection of the animals we encountered during our stay: a caiman, a black river turtle, howler monkeys, a blue jeans dart frog (!), black cheeked wood pecker and many many other birds and species.
Furthermore Hacienda La Ilsa had a nice swimming pool, which was very welcome regarding the tropical climate.
The restaurant and lounge place (including flat screen TV) were nicely decorated. Striking was that these 'buildings' had only a roof and no walls, as a result of which we felt very close to the nature at any moment during our stay. Wonderful!
The breakfasts and dinners were typically Costa Rican and very well prepared. Lots of fresh fruit!

If you love nature and animals, this small paradise is the place to be in Costa Rica!! iii PURA VIDA !!!

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belt1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

We stayed at this beautiful place for 2 nights as part of the Flexivoucher system in Costa Rica. This is definitely one of the most beautiful hotels we have ever seen! Beautiful rooms, nicely decorated. The open restaurant served the best food ever and we even got company of a small cayman in the private pond of the property. Beautiful garden with lots of plants and animals (howler monkeys, bluejeans frogs, insects, horses, basilisc iguana). Would definitely recommend this hotel to all of my friends!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marloes82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Hacienda La Isla is a great please to stay and a sincere example of what Jean Pierre can do with a terrain which was kind of deserted. The food is great, the ambiance even better and the personal touch can not be missed. No big groups making lots of noise but a peaceful paradise where you would not expect to find such a treasury.

I organise tours in countries like Nicaragua, Panama, Guatemala and Costa Rica and Hacienda La Isla will definitely become HOT on our booking list.

Pura Vida!

Ed
www.edventure.biz - ed@edventure.biz

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed_Edventure_CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horquetas
14.6 km away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
197 reviews
29.6 km away
Selva Verde Lodge
Selva Verde Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sarapiqui
658 reviews
26.8 km away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#1 of 1 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.9 km away
Tirimbina Lodge
Tirimbina Lodge
#1 of 1 in La Virgen
169 reviews
35.8 km away
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
#2 of 12 in Turrialba
291 reviews
8.6 km away
Casa Rio Blanco
Casa Rio Blanco
#1 of 4 in Guapiles
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda La Isla Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda La Isla Lodge

Address: Horquetas, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui > Horquetas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Horquetas
Price Range: $107 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda La Isla Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in the foothills of the impressive Braulio Carrillo National Park, the Spanish colonial-built Hacienda La Isla Lodge is very well located in the center of numerous top attractions of Costa Rica.A perfect gateway for your visit to the rainforests and the adventure sites (rafting, canopy, horseback riding, etc.) of Sarapiqui, the exotic Caribbean beaches, the active volcano Arenal or the world famous Tortuguero canals and sea turtles. Guests will encounter the mysteries of the rainforest while enjoying a comfortable stay in the historically designed rooms of the hacienda. Hacienda La Isla lodge is a unique departure from the common tourism experience in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda La Isla Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda La Isla Hotel Horquetas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing