We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great over night stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda La Isla Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Booked here as a half way point on our way to Puerto viejo,
Arrived just before dark and we were only guests, we were made to feel welcome by guy who met us. He offered to have a meal made for us but we declined and chose to eat just down the road at a place he recommended
The Room was clean and functional and really gave the feeling of been in the jungle with howler monkeys at dawn
Entrance is it the best to spot and is not the most inviting but don't let it put you off

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank dooseyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

This was our third stop in Costa Rica near Sarapiqui. These lodges are owned by Jean Pierre. He told us a lot about the history of this place and helped us organizing our rafting trip. The room was very good with nice beds and a good bathroom. Two seats in front of the lodges gave a nice view to there own little park where you could walk trough and enjoy the wildlife. We also had the pleasure to see the howler monkey family who stayed there in the woods. This was very special to see. While there are no real restaurants near this lodges Jean Pierre offers a great choice for dinner. We ate here for two evenings and the food was excellent. I really recommend this. Also do the chocolate tour which is done by Jean Pierre himself who will tell you the history of chocolate making and get a tour along his own cacao farm.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jeroen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

We just stayed over night on our way to the caribean beaches. Great and welcoming owner who provides you lots of useful recommendations. Had a great homemade breakfast and were enjoying the cool terrace with all the wild animals around. Highly recommend to walk the hotel owned trail! You can fall asleep hearing jungle sounds - so if you don't like hearing howler monkey bring ear plugs ;-)

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalteSteinberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

Hacienda La Isla is a nice place (an old converted farm) to see but not to stay in. The old building is very nice and it may be a nice hotel if some basic rules were respected.

First, the access to the hotel is quite difficulty to find, especially at night. You will also have to open yourself an old iron gate prior to the forest and to cross a dangerous bridge with limited visibility and no light at all! When arrived, I thought it was a mistake: everything was switched off, nobody at the reception, no other guests. Finally, I found the manager who was a nice guy. Moreover, when you arrived, you have no water nor coffee (I’ve stayed in many hotels in Costa Rica during my 2017 trip and it was the only one not to offer an arrival drink…).

The rooms are small, dark and badly lit and there is a terrible damp smell in the room, especially when you close the door. As there is no aircon, humidity level is very high.

The rooms also seem not to be very clean: numerous insects in the room (see photos; grids on one windows that mosquitoes could easily fly through but not the other insects seen in the room), damp smell in the bed, torn blanket, no shampoo nor soap in the bathroom (the two soap dispensers were empty), plant in bad conditions (see picture), etc.

Moreover, I was not able to eat at the restaurant, as it was closed due the cook’s vacations (I was the only guest…). It sounds like a joke.

Finally, the sound of the trucks is terrible and I also had a horrible sound of the broken toilets during the all night (and nobody to call for that, as the only person was the security guy who only speaks Spanish).

Conclusion: Do not stay at this hotel, even for one night (I was not able to sleep in said conditions prior to the next step of my trip in Costa Rica).

Pros: free Wi-Fi, nice building.
Cons: dirty, damp smell, lack of services, no minibar to get some water.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fbb381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

The hacienda is a converted farm in beautiful grounds. The rooms are basic with grids on some windows that mega- mosquitoes could easily fly through. The drinks are extortionately priced. The cocoa tour is contrived and don't be fooled by the chocolate bar story. We were shown some bars in very attractive wrappers that our Belgian host claimed to be designing and launching to market the following week. As our tour continued these bars were in stock in every tourist outlet in considerable numbers and had been for some time!
This left the members of our group with a nasty taste as none of them like being conned. The bars did taste good though.
The rooms were also damp when we were there, however the weather was very wet for those few days.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horquetas
14.6 km away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
199 reviews
29.6 km away
Selva Verde Lodge
Selva Verde Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sarapiqui
665 reviews
30.9 km away
Tirimbina Lodge
Tirimbina Lodge
#1 of 1 in La Virgen
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.8 km away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#1 of 1 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
145 reviews
8.6 km away
Casa Rio Blanco
Casa Rio Blanco
#2 of 4 in Guapiles
169 reviews
0 km away
Cinco Ceibas Reserve
Cinco Ceibas Reserve
#1 of 7 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda La Isla Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda La Isla Lodge

Address: Horquetas, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui > Horquetas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Horquetas
Price Range: $147 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda La Isla Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in the foothills of the impressive Braulio Carrillo National Park, the Spanish colonial-built Hacienda La Isla Lodge is very well located in the center of numerous top attractions of Costa Rica.A perfect gateway for your visit to the rainforests and the adventure sites (rafting, canopy, horseback riding, etc.) of Sarapiqui, the exotic Caribbean beaches, the active volcano Arenal or the world famous Tortuguero canals and sea turtles. Guests will encounter the mysteries of the rainforest while enjoying a comfortable stay in the historically designed rooms of the hacienda. Hacienda La Isla lodge is a unique departure from the common tourism experience in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda La Isla Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda La Isla Hotel Horquetas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing