We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveller rating
157
104
34
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
104
34
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjean pierrecosta ricachocolate tourhotel is situatedwild animalslovely roomnice nighta great place to staystayed here for two nightsfresh fruitrafting tripla selva biological stationnight walkhaciendagardengroundslagoon
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 319 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

This was our third stop in Costa Rica near Sarapiqui. These lodges are owned by Jean Pierre. He told us a lot about the history of this place and helped us organizing our rafting trip. The room was very good with nice beds and a good bathroom. Two seats in front of the lodges gave a nice view to there own little park where you could walk trough and enjoy the wildlife. We also had the pleasure to see the howler monkey family who stayed there in the woods. This was very special to see. While there are no real restaurants near this lodges Jean Pierre offers a great choice for dinner. We ate here for two evenings and the food was excellent. I really recommend this. Also do the chocolate tour which is done by Jean Pierre himself who will tell you the history of chocolate making and get a tour along his own cacao farm.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jeroen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

We just stayed over night on our way to the caribean beaches. Great and welcoming owner who provides you lots of useful recommendations. Had a great homemade breakfast and were enjoying the cool terrace with all the wild animals around. Highly recommend to walk the hotel owned trail! You can fall asleep hearing jungle sounds - so if you don't like hearing howler monkey bring ear plugs ;-)

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinoGaRRis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

Hacienda La Isla is a nice place (an old converted farm) to see but not to stay in. The old building is very nice and it may be a nice hotel if some basic rules were respected.

First, the access to the hotel is quite difficulty to find, especially at night. You will also have to open yourself an old iron gate prior to the forest and to cross a dangerous bridge with limited visibility and no light at all! When arrived, I thought it was a mistake: everything was switched off, nobody at the reception, no other guests. Finally, I found the manager who was a nice guy. Moreover, when you arrived, you have no water nor coffee (I’ve stayed in many hotels in Costa Rica during my 2017 trip and it was the only one not to offer an arrival drink…).

The rooms are small, dark and badly lit and there is a terrible damp smell in the room, especially when you close the door. As there is no aircon, humidity level is very high.

The rooms also seem not to be very clean: numerous insects in the room (see photos; grids on one windows that mosquitoes could easily fly through but not the other insects seen in the room), damp smell in the bed, torn blanket, no shampoo nor soap in the bathroom (the two soap dispensers were empty), plant in bad conditions (see picture), etc.

Moreover, I was not able to eat at the restaurant, as it was closed due the cook’s vacations (I was the only guest…). It sounds like a joke.

Finally, the sound of the trucks is terrible and I also had a horrible sound of the broken toilets during the all night (and nobody to call for that, as the only person was the security guy who only speaks Spanish).

Conclusion: Do not stay at this hotel, even for one night (I was not able to sleep in said conditions prior to the next step of my trip in Costa Rica).

Pros: free Wi-Fi, nice building.
Cons: dirty, damp smell, lack of services, no minibar to get some water.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fbb381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

The hacienda is a converted farm in beautiful grounds. The rooms are basic with grids on some windows that mega- mosquitoes could easily fly through. The drinks are extortionately priced. The cocoa tour is contrived and don't be fooled by the chocolate bar story. We were shown some bars in very attractive wrappers that our Belgian host claimed to be designing and launching to market the following week. As our tour continued these bars were in stock in every tourist outlet in considerable numbers and had been for some time!
This left the members of our group with a nasty taste as none of them like being conned. The bars did taste good though.
The rooms were also damp when we were there, however the weather was very wet for those few days.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

A very interesting hotel based upon an old farm. Very comfortable, but don't expect too much in the way of luxury. Grounds are beautiful, and the Cocao tour is interesting.
Make sure you have plenty of insect repellent, because they are around, and quite hungry

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AscotMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews