We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
115
20
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
115
20
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free bikes each morning outdoor bathroom torrential rain local coffee eco retreat cook islands minute bike ride comfortable stay own pace back roads get away from it all hotel room little things nice pool an amazing place to stay beautiful island
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2017

Spent ten days here and it was absolutely magical. The location is superb - just off the main road next to a papaya plantation and near the beautiful Ikurangi Mountain. The hosts are a wonderful couple who went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Anything we requested such as a meal in or transfers to the airport were organised for us. The breakfasts delivered to your doorstep each morning celebrate the beautiful local produce. The rooms are beautifully appointed with wonderful linen - the outdoor shower and bath is an amazing touch, especially with the deluxe Ashley and Co toiletries from NZ. Also worth mentioning that the hosts are committed so environmental responsibility and sustainability which was great. There's a nice pool and free bicycles/snorkel gear you can borrow and the hosts are full of handy information about places to see, shop and eat. I cannot recommend this place highly enough, especially if you are after a peaceful location away from the overly-touristy areas.

Room Tip: Definitely stay in one of the deluxe tents rather than the cabins - you will not be disappointed.
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luana b, Owner at Ikurangi Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Hey guys! A huge meitaki Maata for taking time out to do a review of our little place. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and in the Cook Islands. We will let our friends at Ashley &Co know their goodies were a particular highlight! Thank you again and come back and see us soon. Kia Manuia, Luana & Matt and the Ikurangi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

I spent three nights here and it was comfortable, clean and it's a great option for those who want to stay off the beach and at the foot of the beautiful Ikurangi mountain.

That said, we had terrible weather for the duration. There was torrential rain. It was windy. It was overcast. I didn't get to swim in the pool or ride the bikes or do anything much really because of the awful weather.

Despite this, the tent is built on a large deck and was completely rain proof and I was completely dry the whole time. It has an open-air bathroom where I could take a luxurious shower under the stars, that weren't out at the time. The bathroom came stocked with lovely shampoos and body washes and the only thing I didn't like was the eco-toilets which were long drops.

However, the bed was extremely comfortable and there were plenty of nice touches such as the coffee plunger with local coffee supplied and a yoga mat and bath robes.

If the weather had been better, I'm sure I would have appreciated the facilities a lot more including the bikes and the pool.

Considering that Rarotonga doesn't have a lot of choice when it comes to accommodation, this resort is doing everything right to provide an interesting eco alternative to the beach.

The breakfasts, delivered to my door each morning were fabulous.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Odysseyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luana b, Owner at Ikurangi Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Kia Orana and thank you so much for taking the time to do a review of our place. We're so sorry that the weather was awful for all three days you were with us. We do hope that whilst you were not able to enjoy our bicycles and pool, that you enjoyed some relaxation from the 'real world'. We hope you do get to come back an experience Ikurangi in the sunshine someday soon!
Kia Manuia,
Luana, Matt & the Ikurangi Crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

This was our first glamping experience and our first trip to Rarotonga, and both were amazing. The best holiday. Ikurangi had a peacefulness that invited relaxation. Our tent and was large and comfortable. Loved the outdoor bathroom and the luxury of the robes. The verandah was perfect accompaniment to relax outdoors in our private space.
The bikes were a highlight. We rode everyday, and enjoyed the quiet rural location away from the busier resort locations. And enjoyed the pool at the end of our days.
The breakfasts were also fantastic. Always changing and delicious and filling. And catering for my gluten free requirement was no issue.
Josie, Luanda and Susan were a pleasure to meet and nothing was too hard for them to do for us.
An absolutely brilliant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanetteDoidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luana b, Owner at Ikurangi Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and helping us to create this special place for others to enjoy sustainably. We really hope to see you back again soon! Kia Manuia, Luana, Josie, Susan and Matt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Ikurangi Eco Resort is as described....its serene and a peaceful place to stay, inside the village but not too far from amenities. The luxury tents are tastefully kept , serviced immaculately and comes with healthy daily breakfast. We loved every day of the stay. The place is well run by Josie and Laurna. We felt its one of the best glamping experience in Aus/NZ/Pacific that we have come across.We enjoyed the swimming pool and there are free cycles for riding around.We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KingDeepu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luana b, Owner at Ikurangi Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Meitaki Maata for taking time out to do a review of your stay. We look forward to you guys coming back soon! Kia Manuia, Luana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Nestled in the back roads of the island is this beautiful and relaxing spot! We absolutely loved the breakfasts bought to your room each morning. We didn't stay in the tents but the Ares were super comfortable and we were so happy with our stay.
The only thing to add would be that it's a little hard to find if you don't have GPS, a sign on the main road would've helped :)

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gloria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luana b, Owner at Ikurangi Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Kia Orana! What a great review, thank you. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at Ikurangi with us. We hope to see you back again soon. Until next time, Kia Manuia, Luana,Matt, Josie and Susan!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews