We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!”
Review of Kafe Koala

Kafe Koala
Price range: US$7 - US$14
Cuisines: Australian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Stop at Kafe Koala as you enjoy traveling around the Great Ocean Road. Visit Kennett River and enjoy the natural surroundings of Australian wildlife. See the Koalas close by (sometimes they wander into the shop) feed the King Parrots (yes they will eat out of your hand, bird seed available) or just enjoy the bush surrounds next to the beach. Drop into Kafe Koala for: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner or just a snack or refreshment. Great coffee, juice and drinks, award winning pies and pasties, home made cakes and biscuits, fresh salads and sides, ice cream etc... We have it all. A trip down the Great Ocean Road just isn't the same without stopping at Kennett River, pop in and say g'day.
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

On our Great Ocean Road tour we made a lunch stop here. There is nothing fancy about it but it had a very good feeling of home. I really enjoyed the meat pie, which apparently use to include gravy on top, but it wasn’t necessary. Tasted like something grandma would make. My wife had the chicken wrap with fresh shredded veggies intermixed. The location is great too with Koalas sleeping in the nearby eucalyptus trees. Would love to go back one day and sit and talk with the locals.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank MichaelT419
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

After our walk looking for Koalas we stopped for lunch, which everyone loved & we were able to eat in the restaurant which was clean and tidy

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Hiphopfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 January 2018

We stopped here for a quick bite to eat before looking for koalas, and had some sausage rolls, chips and wedges.
The chips and wedges were fantastic - just the right amount of crunch, and beautifully salted. Definitely recommended!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mmmmt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 January 2018

This koala cafe is a great place to have a break after feeding the birds and spotting the koala. you can buy the bird food from this cafe at $2. The staff are friendly and will spend time sharing with you on where to spot the koalas.Just need to ask them.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rama8544
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Kafe Koala is a little oasis in the middle of the great ocean road nestled between a few big towns and with their amazing location (right at the start of the koala walk).
The staff are funny and friendly (they're also not afraid to gently tease).
we had the barramundi burger and it was really tasty! Definitely recommend stopping by and having a bite to eat, even if it's just a snack!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Avgoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Kafe Koala also viewed

 

Been to Kafe Koala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.