We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went in for a look, not to eat”
Review of Kafe Koala

Kafe Koala
Price range: US$7 - US$13
Cuisines: Australian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Stop at Kafe Koala as you enjoy traveling around the Great Ocean Road. Visit Kennett River and enjoy the natural surroundings of Australian wildlife. See the Koalas close by (sometimes they wander into the shop) feed the King Parrots (yes they will eat out of your hand, bird seed available) or just enjoy the bush surrounds next to the beach. Drop into Kafe Koala for: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner or just a snack or refreshment. Great coffee, juice and drinks, award winning pies and pasties, home made cakes and biscuits, fresh salads and sides, ice cream etc... We have it all. A trip down the Great Ocean Road just isn't the same without stopping at Kennett River, pop in and say g'day.
Reviewed 27 April 2020 via mobile

I can’t review the food, as we went inside merely to have a look, it being on the Julia Bradbury TV programme. Our minibus stopped for us to see the koalas quite late in the day. There didn’t seem to be much food on display and there was a small shop section with a few under stocked shelves. It was small and rather basic looking inside.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank 378lizh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2020

Made a detour here, as we had hear about the wild Koalas living in the trees. We were thrilled to find the little guys snoozing in the branches. We decided to have lunch while we were there. The staff were very friendly. I ordered the Chicken Parmigiana. The portion was huge, but was fresh and full of flavour.

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Swisshen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 March 2020 via mobile

Great place to get a snack near the resident Koala's. Also some interesting birds nearby.
As featured on the Julia Bradbury programme recently.

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 January 2020

We decided to visit this cafe for lunch and to see a koala. This is a cafe not a restaurant. The staff were friendly. The soup was good but if you like burgers I suggest going elsewhere. We didn’t see a koala but did see beautiful parrots. All up I think this place is a bit overrated.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank alistair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 January 2020 via mobile

The people running this cafe are so kind and generous. We were on a tour bus back from the great ocean road when our bus broke down and we were stuck in the middle of the road. The people at Kafe Koala were kind enough to respond to the call of help from our tour guide and provided the bus with ample water for the leaking radiator. While this did not work (we were stuck at the side of the road for an additional 6 hours before a replacement bus came), we really appreciate the kindness and hospitality that Kafe Koala showed us.

Despite it being 7pm with the shop being closed, they reopened it for us again and even gave us some free snacks for the road. They also opened up the toilets for us, which was a godsend. On behalf of us 50-something number of people, sorry for dirtying your toilet after you cleaned it and closed up for the night. Thank you for all your hospitality and help, you guys are amazing.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Deeohs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Kafe Koala also viewed

 

Been to Kafe Koala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.