We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced and poor business sense”
Review of Kafe Koala

Kafe Koala
Price range: US$7 - US$13
Cuisines: Australian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Stop at Kafe Koala as you enjoy traveling around the Great Ocean Road. Visit Kennett River and enjoy the natural surroundings of Australian wildlife. See the Koalas close by (sometimes they wander into the shop) feed the King Parrots (yes they will eat out of your hand, bird seed available) or just enjoy the bush surrounds next to the beach. Drop into Kafe Koala for: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner or just a snack or refreshment. Great coffee, juice and drinks, award winning pies and pasties, home made cakes and biscuits, fresh salads and sides, ice cream etc... We have it all. A trip down the Great Ocean Road just isn't the same without stopping at Kennett River, pop in and say g'day.
Reviewed 28 December 2020

first of all lacking any hospitality, we ordered chicken nuggets and asked what time their chips finished it was 5:29 and they said 5:30 so we said we will just grab the money from one of our family members waiting out the front, we came straight back in and asked for a large hot chips in which we received a cold reply “sorry you can not order hot chips. you are too late” when we where 1 MINUTE late, absolutely ridiculous, we want the old owners back. Products are also ridiculously overpriced, $6.60 for 1.25L bottle of coke whereas 5 minutes always at Wye River the same coke is $2.85. Some of the items are also out of date! yes there is a covid crisis but these should not be on the shelf.

Date of visit: December 2020
4  Thank nothappy1873
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2020

Given the location - very isolated - I’ve upgraded the score to 4 stars. The coffee was not great, but I really needed a caffeine fix and this place delivered it. There was limited food available, but I believe that was more down to the quiet downturn from covid. Still, it made for a great trip for us.

Date of visit: November 2020
2  Thank Mike18838
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 August 2020

I haven't stopped here for years...I guess all those buses were a turnoff. The cafe has very good homemade offerings. The yo yo's were great with the coffee and the chicken and mushroom pies were delightful that night for dinner. A friendly cafe on the Great Ocean Road with lots of attention to their homemade cuisine. Very good coffee in a relaxing location on the west coast. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 701David
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 August 2020

We stopped here for a cuppa on our road trip... and it was a great choice. Now I should point out that I did not see a single koala... they were clearly in stealth mode... and there is not much you can do about it when a koala wants to act like a ninja.

But what I did have was a great cuppa... and good service. It's quite inviting inside and then when you get outside to look for koalas you will undoubtedly see some friendly ducks and parrots. Even when the koalas are being their ninja-like selves!

It's a lovely place to stop.

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Crystalline4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 April 2020 via mobile

I can’t review the food, as we went inside merely to have a look, it being on the Julia Bradbury TV programme. Our minibus stopped for us to see the koalas quite late in the day. There didn’t seem to be much food on display and there was a small shop section with a few under stocked shelves. It was small and rather basic looking inside.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank 378lizh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Kafe Koala also viewed

 

Been to Kafe Koala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.