We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not happy with level of service or food.”
Review of The Bowd Inn

The Bowd Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Bowd
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked the Bowd for a party of six for 6:30. We arrived by 6:15 and the rest of the party by 6:25. We waited for somebody to come and take our drinks order until 7:10 when we asked for service. Two of our party ordered Ham, egg & chips, one scampi, two Hunters Chicken and one Hamburger. At 7:30 I had to ask why our drinks had not been delivered. We were then informed that they had run out of eggs for the Ham, egg and chips. The meals arrived at 7:40, while passing the scampi two pieces two shot off the plate on to a customers lap. The hamburger had uncooked onion mixed in the meat. One customer could not eat her Hunters Chicken as it did not taste nice. We have always enjoyed our meals at the Bowd but tonight was a disaster, they were advertising for staff and tonight it showed as the staff were thin on the ground. Can’t see us returning until they get their act together.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank 969bobh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter, Marketing at The Bowd Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I assume that you were in the same party as below (please see my comments). It is true that most of the hospitality industry is struggling to find staff and then when you do we have to train them to do the job. We have been fortunate to retain some of our experienced members but they do need time off from the demands of the industry.

We have had an amazing start as you can see by the reviews and I feel sure that this was an isolated incident which should not reoccur.

My sincere apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 1,215 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

1 member of staff that was running food out of the kitchen very rude back answering . We waited an hour for our food to arrive when it did 8 chips and no apology for the wait but said it was half an hr and I can prove it he said We sat down and ordered at 6.30 and food arrived at 7.30 first time I have seen this member of staff and no happy with the way we were treated .

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank rupert691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter, Marketing at The Bowd Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I am sincerely sorry that your experience was not what it should have been. I will be looking into your complaint. My apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Brilliant service staff were all so polite and welcoming is a very lovely pub and the food was outstanding and well worth the money will definitely be back.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank C4123GCryans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter, Marketing at The Bowd Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

What can we say other than a big thank you! Brilliant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Popped in on the off chance, having seen the sign for a carvery. Friendly greeting by Nettie who accommodated all our needs. Lovely lunch and great choices as well as the carvery. Hope to visit again soon.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sunrayx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter, Marketing at The Bowd Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write your very positive review, it is great to see people enjoying themselves again and supporting local businesses.

Yesterday was a little difficult because of a gas failure for an hour but with the patience and understanding of our customers this was overcome fairly quickly. Thanks everyone involved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were welcomed by Nettie having booked a table for lunch.

Friendly chat and made to feel very welcome. Served quickly and the food arrived not long after.

Fresh, hot and delicious home cooked food.

We've been here many times and this visit, post Covid didn't disappoint.

Nettie made it with her friendly and efficient service.

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank abally1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter, Marketing at The Bowd Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for recognizing the amazing effort that all our team are making to welcome back our much cherished customers. It is truly rewarding to see so many faces returning after such a long time. Thank you, one and all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bowd Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Bowd Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.