We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (512)
Filter reviews
512 results
Traveller rating
391
87
22
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
391
87
22
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cosy bar barnard castle roaring fire beautiful village molton brown toiletries local walks country pub pretty village courtyard room residents lounge superb food main building lamb both nights well worth a visit stayed one night main course
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 512 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2018

Stayed overnight on a D,B&B basis. This is a proper old fashioned pub but with the added bonuses of a top notch restaurant and some lovely rooms in which to stay.

The staff we encountered need a pay rise as they are the icing on the cake, nothing was too much trouble and they were all very friendly, helpful and professional.

The dinner was from the top drawer, quality ingredients put together by expert hands. The breakfast too was very good.

Our room was spacious and clean and had a separate living area which had a sofa bed in it. The bathroom was again spotless, spacious and with top quality toiletries and lovely fluffy towels. We were on the top floor and it was a bit warm overnight but then again we went in the middle of a heatwave.

This isn't a place if budgets are tight but if you can manage it then it is very good value for money and we left on a high knowing that we had been well looked after.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TheFatPunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

This was our 3rd visit to this country inn. The last time we were in the area was 10 years ago and it has changed very little in the important aspects.
My meal, the venison pie, was delicious and my sister's fish was a hit too. A sharing platter between 4 was fine as a starter and 2 of the party had puddings. The tonka bean rice was particularly well received.
Have given it 4 stars as it was all a bit fancy for one of the party who would have preferred a simple steak.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lucky13s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

We stopped off here on a day out. The weather was nice and we took our drinks out the front. The hotel looked nice and toilets were clean with Moulton Brown hand-wash. Beautiful area, would make a good weekend getaway.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

Our room was in the Monks Cottage. Very spacious and all mod cons with great bathing accessories. Was particularly impressed by the policy not to have coffee and tea making facilities in the room. However you could ask for a complimentary tea or coffee to be brought to your room and a kettle, tea bags and fresh milk were supplied if asked for!
The staff were polite had a good sense of humour and worked very hard to make our stay memorable!
The food was very good all dishes came well served and it was a pleasure to eat them. Such a change from coking your own at home!
I did the Hill Billy cycle route from the hotel whilst hubby went fishing.
The previous day it had been very windy but we were lucky as the wind dropped for our selected activities!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

As people that work in the hospitality industry and have stayed in multiple hotels/inns, we can safely say this is one of the best out there. Everything from the incredible cleanliness of the bedrooms to the wonderfully attentive staff just made the stay truly relaxing. We are both flexi-vegans, and the chefs went the extra mile by producing a vegan curry just for us which was delicious (in fact, on both nights dinner was superb). Environmental consciousness is a constant theme with minimal use of plastic (they use pencils instead of pens at reception and, rather than the usual single-use toileteries, they use larger bottles to reduce waste) and locally produced food. The information provided to guests on activities and walking in the area is very thorough - all the hotel leaflets and information sheets are unique and beautifully designed. Overall just a very refreshing stay in an establishment in which every detail is carefully thought through.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Freya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews