We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally worth it when of season”

Lascaux International Centre for Cave Art (Lascaux IV)
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Montignac
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: For the first time, all of Lascaux is revealed. A complete new replica retraces the discovery of the famous decorated cave. But that’s not the end of the adventure: the entire site inquires into the position that Lascaux occupies in cave art and its relation to contemporary creation.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Although we had a great time during the tour (we were only 5). I am not sure the same works apply on a very busy day during the high season.
The cave has some amazing paintings, and some great work has been made to explain how Lascaux came to be.

Thank Francois_HD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"english tour"
in 23 reviews
"the real thing"
in 16 reviews
"take photos"
in 13 reviews
"cave art"
in 14 reviews
"book in advance"
in 9 reviews
"building housing"
in 3 reviews
"waiting area"
in 5 reviews
"international centre"
in 7 reviews
"original lascaux"
in 7 reviews
"exhibition area"
in 2 reviews
"spent three hours"
in 2 reviews
"unique experience"
in 4 reviews
"guided visit"
in 4 reviews
"email address"
in 3 reviews
"booked online"
in 3 reviews
"car park"
in 8 reviews
"movie theater"
in 2 reviews
Filter

40 - 44 of 1,163 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2018

I love the way this futuristic building blends into the hillside and that it is situated so close to the original caves. W speak French and English but chose our tour in the latter. Plenty of time to listen and ask questions. Very interactive and informative. The 2 nd half of the visit is done at your own pace. The cafe is worth a visit, too. Excellent quality and good prices.

Thank suzij552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Semitour, Responsable relations clients at Lascaux International Centre for Cave Art (Lascaux IV), responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thank you very much for your review ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

They have no respect for the eurpean culture. Our child did just make a little small sound and because of that they ask us to leave

Thank King N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

Was a bit apprehensive about visiting as their website could be better and was worried about the reproduction of the cave. Our tour was great, the reproduction was really interesting and overall the visit was very good. Left (as they said) with more questions than answers, but blown away by the beauty of the cave paintings and the sense of the space. Great modern building - hope it lasts 25,000 years!

Thank Moffattini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2018

It is hard living here, as there are so many places to visit. Some like Lascaux 4 are WORLD famous.
I have always wanted to visit, and being winter we thought it would be quiet and a nice day out.
We were told the English tour would start at 11:06 and it did with about 10 people not all English. We were met and welcomed by a pleasant man who told us what would happen and how we would have a tablet and earphones for use in the Area's e.g. French people could have that language while on the English tour. and then introduced us to our English speaking guide Camile who gave us more information before escorting us into the very spacious entrance.
There are a number of sections, all were very informative and well presented.
I would have had the full 3D film show first and then done the walk through the cave, the guide was very good answered questions took her time did not rush people. The quality and detail of the paintings done 20,000 years ago was incredible.
We then went into the 'Workshop' which is technically very good although you sometimes have to prompt the 'Tablet' to sync with the illustrations. The tablet also can be used to take your own photos of the DETAIL in the workshop, and with your email address those photos would be sent to you the next day. You could spend a long time in the workshop area, it is fascinating.
We left there and found (Not well signed) a small area with VAR goggles and a joystick where you feel fully immersed in the 'CAVE' experience, you move your head and the image moves you feel as if you are there. you can retrieve objects I found three, so must have missed some I think.
As we left we had hoped to have lunch in the restaurant on site but because our tour took as long as it did we were too late and the restaurant was full anyway. We were given directions to a good restaurant near the river in the town.
We would recommend everyone visiting or living in the area to visit, it is not cheap but it is VERY well done.

1  Thank Stewart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Semitour, Responsable relations clients at Lascaux International Centre for Cave Art (Lascaux IV), responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Thank you very much for your review ! We're glad you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lascaux International Centre for Cave Art (Lascaux IV) also viewed

Montignac, Dordogne
Saint-Leon-sur-Vezere, Montignac
 
Rouffignac-Saint-Cernin-de-Reilhac, Dordogne
 

Been to Lascaux International Centre for Cave Art (Lascaux IV)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing