We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hearty, tasty meal to be had !”
Review of Fjorubordid

Fjorubordid
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Stokkseyri
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: S$36 - S$145
Cuisines: Deli, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Fjorubordid (Fjöruborðið - The seashore) restaurant is in the small village of Stokkseyri with 560 residents but over 50.000 customers pr year, only 10 minutes from Selfoss. Selfoss is the capital of the southwest, the golden circle, Þingvellir (Thingvellir) Gullfoss, Geysir, Seljalandsfoss, Skogafoss area. Just 44 minutes from Reykjavik and 75 minutes from Keflavik airport you can enjoy a wonderful afternoon of Reykjavik, Golden circle, Glaciers, Waterfalls and Northern lights. We are on the way to Vík (Vik), Vatnajokull and Skaftafell. Our langoustines are world famous and the langoustine soup is magical. It is suitable for numerous occasions and happy moments on ordinary days, but Fjöruborðið takes no responsibility for consequences or stirring adventures that could result from ingesting it. It has a will of its own and, as such, it is risky for those who don't want to venture beyond the average. Come and enjoy, summer or winter, Stokkseyri will become your adventure.
Reviewed 27 June 2016

We enjoyed two 3-course seashore lobster meals on the menu. Think there were 20 pieces of the sweet, tasty lobster. The trimmings (side dishes) went well with the lobster. Waiter was helpful to help us understand what to order. Food was served quickly. Large white tent area seemed like an extension of the restaurant - it was comfy enough, with an easy-going feel - where quite a few bigger groups could have a satisfying sit-down meal. The tiramisu was disappointing - hardly any taste of alcohol, cold have been richer. Overall, happy with the meal. Will go there again. Will recommend it to others.

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank dichinsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 380 of 912 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2016

We stumbled across this place quite by accident. We had decided to drive down to the coast to see the black sand beach. It was cold and starting to rain and not much was happening in Stokkseryi. We spotted this place on the way back to the car and decided to go in for a coffee. The maitre'd/manager, or whoever who greeted us said that we could have just coffee but this was the best lobster restaurant in all of Iceland. He informed us that people travelled thousands of miles to eat there. He was torn between being offended that we hadn't heard of the place, and wanting us to have lunch. In the end the smells won us over and we had a spontaneous, delicious lunch. Everything everyone has said before, the soup was delicious, the lobsters divine, the salad plate was very good and the home made bread and sauces excellent. And the desserts!! An altogether enjoyable experience.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank annek3040
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 June 2016

We got a big bowl of bite-size lobster with potatoes and veggies. It was excellent. Lobster was flavorful and tender. A little messy, but hey, so is BBQ!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

Highly recommend for a romantic dinner, superb food and service, surrounded by nature and the staff is so friendly. Love this place and have been here 4 times, every time they amaze me.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Agust O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 June 2016

We had read about this restaurant and just happen to be driving in its direction so we decided to get off of the main road and visit it. What a good decision. The lobster, the ambiance, the service and the deserts are all fantastic. You can order the amount of lobster by the gram. We had the soup, main and desert offer which had 300 grams of lobster. It was plenty and it was plenty good. The carrot cake was fantastic!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sealcoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Fjorubordid also viewed

Eyrarbakki, South Region
 
Selfoss, South Region
Selfoss, South Region
 

Been to Fjorubordid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.