We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Chinese food”

May Hiang Restaurant
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

Don't let the rather dodgy shack-like exterior put you off. The food at May Hiang is good. Indeed, we had dinner at this place twice during our stay in Langkawi. Prices for dishes are all clearly marked in the menu e.g. small veg = x, medium veg = y. For one of our dinners at this restaurant, four adults shared seaweed/tofu soup, a Teo Chew steamed snapper, garlic kang kong, fu yong omelette, plain rice and puer tea for RM 114. It's not a restaurant that you would go out of your way for but if you happen to be staying around the Pantai Tengah area, it's a brilliant spot for Chinese food.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank KayJee_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

Went after reading very good reviews. Went slightly before they open but they welcomed us and start to serve us immediately. Very fresh live seafood. Delicious. I like the crab and butter prawn. The tofu and vegetables were also very tasty. Authentic Chinese food. The taste is very suitable not too salty or bland. There is sotong in the vegetable. This adds to the taste of the vegetable. Very nice.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Qin X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Dinner at May Hiang seafood Restaurant during second day of Chinese Lunar new year. We had live snapper , pineapple rice, morning glory , butter prawn. Food is nice and tasty. Not forgetting the affordable price.

Date of visit: January 2017
1  Thank darenleecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

Food tastes okay. But we waited about 40 minutes for only three simple dishes. People who are late are being served first instead which is not fair.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Chua E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Found this place while driving around & was very glad we stopped to check it out. Turned out to be one of the best seafood dinners we had this time around. It is right after turning into Pantai Tengah From Cenang. Bright yellow signboard which you can't miss. Simple, open & airy layout. Service is friendly & quick. Not sure what to eat just ask the friendly owner.

We had steamed fish, sizzling Japanese tau foo, oyster omelette, seafood tom yum soup, spicy squid & fried rice. The fish we selected was the wild variety vs the usual farmed. The seafood were fresh & all of them very yummy. Portions were decent as well. We were so stuffed with big grins on our faces.

Prices were cheaper than majority of the seafood restaurants around. However worth every penny. Highly recommended when in Langkawi. My new favorite seafood joint.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank poopshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed May Hiang Restaurant also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
 
Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to May Hiang Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing