We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Tropical Resort(Pantai Tengah)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sunset Beach Resort(Pantai Cenang)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Desa Motel(Pantai Tengah)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Lodge Motel(Pantai Cenang)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambong Ambong Langkawi(Pantai Tengah)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,497)
Filter reviews
1,497 results
Traveller rating
383
687
260
105
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
383
687
260
105
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden villaoutdoor showerprivate beachsalt watersaltwater poolbeach frontegg stationsea viewfamily roomdeluxe roombreakfast spreadwithin easy walking distancecenang beachsun loungersrestaurants and shopswater sportslovely beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
961 - 966 of 1,497 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My wife and I returned two weeks ago from our holiday in Langkawi. We have been several times to Langkawi and have tried a variety of accommodations. We stayed at the Frangipani Resort for the first time. We selected a Beach Villa (sea facing, RM 940 per night, room# 302) and stayed here for three nights. Compared to other accommodations on Langkawi (and Bali) we felt that this was at least 30% overpriced for what it had to offer. The room was good and the outdoor shower a nice touch. It surprised us that bedsheets were not renewed every day and we had to take care to throw our towels on the floor otherwise they would not be replaced. The breakfast buffet was sufficient: a wide choice of items. What surprised us was the complete lack of shadow: there are almost no trees providing shadow and there are no parasols. During the afternoons we saw almost nobody at the resort due to this: everybody seemed fleeing from the strong sun.
Our room was close to the restaurant, which made that we heard the music every evening, which went on until after 11PM. If the music were good this would not be a nuisance.....
The gym is a small room with only a few fans, no towels or water. It has two running belts, one cycling machine and a set of dumbbells.
The location is good if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing time. Pantai Tengah is much quieter than Pantai Chenang and the Frangipani is located at the far end of the beach. There are only a few restaurants nearby but a taxi to Pantai Chenang is cheap and there is a lot of choice over there.
All in all we did not have a bad time, but we will not return here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NLinTKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

Many sincere thanks for your appreciative notes on our rooms and the location of our resort which make us extremely happy that you have noticed them. We will gladly share your compliments with all our associates, who will feel extremely proud to see their efforts are being recognized. We try our best to cater to guest’s needs and wants.

We encourage guest participation in our Environment & Energy Conservation Program to use the prepared card that says guests wanting to change the bed sheets daily, are to place the card on the bed.

Depending on demand, at times there are insufficient shades from the natural trees which we are now in the midst of arranging to get more umbrellas.
Guests who feel disturbed by the music at the Restaurant are allowed to change room depending on room availability.

Together with my team, we very much look forward to your next visit to experience the new enhancements and we are very sure you will not be disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed at Frangipani Resort for six nights. The overall impression is that this is very overpriced and that the owner is keeping operating expenses and investments to an absolute minimum. This resort is stuck in the 1980ies. The rooms and bathrooms are old. The hotel gym was smaller than a regular room - with no air conditioning, drinking water or towels. Impressively, there were no sunshades at the whole resort. Several of the waiters did not understand English, and to our surprise we did not get the food we ordered for dinner. In in-house band playing in the restaurant during the evenings...what a joke. When we asked the reception about restaurants in the area, they always replied that they only recommended a low-end Chinese restaurant which they got paid to recommend. We will not come back

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JesperandEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

Many sincere thanks for your comments that will help us to take remedial actions and improve our services.

As a Green Hotel, our hallmark is to create an awareness to Reuse, Reduce and Recycle to avoid wastage.

We do not put air-condition in public areas like the gym, because it is not good for health during exercises, thus a fan is in place for comfort. While the gym is not manned, bath towels are available from the pool area which is within reach from it.

Training courses for English class and customer service are in the pipeline and only proven Restaurants with positive feedbacks from other guests are being recommended by our Receptionists. We do apologize if it is not up to your expectation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I had read reviews on TripAdvisor before booking my 2 night stay here, and I hoped my stay would turn out to be excellent.

In fact, the location, amenities, pool and the restaurant turned out to be good. What was not so good was the quality of room and the service.

Room: Our room was a garden facing standard room; interiors are a bit old fashioned and small in size. Faucets in the bath tub were old and creaky and had to struggle with the shower adjustment knob.

Staff: Service was not upto the mark, the staff need better training in hospitality. For instance, the house keeping staff came to our room and asked whether we had any clothes for laundry. We told her that we wanted to give some under garments but they were not listed in the price list, so what should be done. Her response was one word - "Ok" and she walked away! Also at the time of checkout our luggage was taken from the room and left at the reception but there were no porters to help load the bags in the taxi. I had to do that myself. (All these were pointed out to a senior duty manager who listened to us with patience).

Surroundings: The pool, bar and the access to the beach are very good. There is a place for doing water sports just outside the resort. The sand is also clean and is well kept. A part of the beach is private for the resort.

Overall, just an average stay. Will look out for a better place next time I visit Langkawi.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VinodIyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Ok rooms are basic but clean and perfectly adequate! The location is the key to this resort-far enough away from cenang beach so you don't have to smell the petrol from the landrovers and motorbikes whizzing up and down or dodge the parasails taking off or landing, and within easy walking distance of some of the best restaurants on the island. Pool is also a must in langkawi if you don't like jelly fish! Breakfast was a good selection and filled us up till dinner. Overall a very pretty resort with a laid back hippy feel. Would happily return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L0uiseAndNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Travelling with our babyboy for the first time we thought we had found the perfect place- knowing that we would spend more time in the hotel room than we usually do, we wanted something nice where we could hang out. I was sooo disappointed - the bathroom was old with cracked tiles and a hole in the bath tub! I had been looking forward to some more luxury, not a place where I was disgusted to take a shower. Especially considering that the I don't think the rate was cheap - I would have expected this kind of bath room in one star hotel!

We did love the beach, the swimming pools and the surroundings. The staff was very kind and our baby boy was spoiled with smiles from them :-)
But pleeease update your rooms to 2012 standards!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tabinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Jeffrey Goh, General Manager replies -
Many sincere thanks for your appreciative notes on our beach, the surrounding & the staff which make us extremely happy that you have notice them. We will gladly share your compliments with all our associates, who will feel extremely proud to see their efforts are being recognized. As for the bathroom, we are in the midst of renovating to upgrade some of the rooms to suit the needs of our guests. We hope by your next visit, you will not be disappointed. Together with my team, we look forward very much to your next visit and experience the new enhancements for yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews