We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$537
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/10/22
Priceline
US$549
View deal
ZenHotels.com
US$437
View deal
Booking.comUS$549
Hotels.comUS$537
Destinia.comUS$621
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,290)
Filter reviews
1,290 results
Traveller rating
977
205
67
22
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
977
205
67
22
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palapa grill golf cart bedroom villa great exuma three bedroom washer dryer full kitchen paddle boards rented a car emerald bay ocean view sandy toes beach toys snorkel gear family vacation exuma market coco plum beach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 1,290 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2022 via mobile

Service was dissapointing to say the least. Restaurant was about 20% full. We waited for 45 min to get our drinks. Water hasn't been refilled until we requested it from the manager. My dinner was delivered 30 min after all of my friends at the table received their food. Fish was overcooked and dry. Otherwise food was great, but completely not worth the experience

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank Joanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
B P, General Manager at Grand Isle Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2022

Dear Joanna,

We thank you and yours for joining us for dinner and for sharing details of the visit. We appreciate the accolades of our culinary team, and they were thrilled to learn that everything was prepared with just the perfect flavor. Your added comments regarding the timing of your meal and the overall service experience are received with equal appreciation and we extend our sincerest of apologies for the moment of inconsistency. We hope you take comfort in knowing that this will serve as an opportunity for further growth, and we look forward to shining our brightest the next time we see you.

Happy New Year, and please do be in touch if we can assist in planning another dinner at the resort.

All the best,

Dean Spychalla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2021

This was our 3rd visit to Grand Isle and it did not disappoint. Unusually, there was a snafu with our reservation when we arrived and the staff upgraded our room. It was a 2-bedroom penthouse with 360 degree views. Large balcony, comfortable bed, immaculately clean, and, as usual, the kitchen had everything we needed for the 5 night visit. Wifi was reliable and staff were their usual friendly, and accommodating selves. We toy with renting a house but why would we? We have everything and more when we stay at Grand Isle. We will be back!

Room tip: We prefer to be up, not at garden level. (We've done both)
Date of stay: December 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Exumas4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
B P, General Manager at Grand Isle Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2022

Dear Exumas4me,

Welcome to our extended Grand Isle family and thank you for taking the time to share your spectacular review. We have long believed that it is the genuine welcome provided by our team which brings guests back time and again and the story you’ve shared within your review further affirms that sentiment. We thank you for passing along your praises and we hope to spoil you again in early 2022. If we can assist in planning your Exuma return, we invite you to be in touch. Until then.

Happy New Year,

Dean Spychalla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2021 via mobile

Overall, if you’re looking for a clean, courteous place to chill with little to no night-life, this is a beautiful, quiet and serene setting. We stayed in the penthouse with ocean view (bigger than what we needed).
Pros: The people at the resort were exceptionally nice and super clean. The beach, golf course and resort grounds are beautiful. We ate primarily at Palapa by the pool (food’s good - coconut French toast and spinach artichoke dip are great!). Alvin at Sandy Toes hut by the resort beach was a great bartender! Ask for the “Alvin special”! Paddle boards, kayaks and other beach items are avail at no cost.
Cons: It gets dark early in Exuma (could be the time of year) but there’s little to no night-life at the resort (although a Friday beach bonfire which they should promote!). Cable wasn’t avail in our room so we’d go to Palapas to watch sports, but flies and/or mosquitos come out when the sun goes down (bring bug spray). The 23 North restaurant was only open a couple days but some of the same food is offered at Palapas.
Watch-outs. Make sure to read the resort’s COVID protocols on their website. The resort will pay for your antigen test if you stay there. However, we missed that in the protocol and had proactively paid $75 for 3 tests thru VeriFLY that we ultimately didn’t need.
Most island restaurants are 15 to 40 minutes from the resort (most only take Visa, MC or cash - no AmEx) and roads are plagued with potholes. Note: We had a car service the first few days (shout out to the best driver Mr. Omar Romer (taxi 39) - nice, clean SUV and super courteous).

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 906terris
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
B P, General Manager at Grand Isle Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2021

Dear 906terris,

We appreciate your thoughtful review as we always take joy in learning more about our guest experiences. Your kind words regarding the attention to detail of our Grand Isle housekeepers leaves us beaming with pride and please know that this will be celebrated with the team. We are just as pleased to read that our other colleagues made you feel so at home, and we welcome you and yours to our extended Grand Isle family.

As you noted, our resort is meant to be more of a relaxing enclave and with that comes a great deal of outdoor daytime activity. From kayaking to paddle boarding to golf and time on the beach, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed new entertainment at every turn.

We appreciate your added feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Exuma, hopefully, one day soon.

Warm regards,

Dean Spychalla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2021

This was our second Thanksgiving to stay at the GIR. We are a family of 6 and the three bedroom is great. with three bedrooms, a living and kitchen/dining it allows us to spread out, eat in, or separate into smaller groups.

This time we were in 1311 and were within waling distance to the beach, pool, and Palapa restaurant. We had take-out from the Palapa Grill one night...pizza night. We ordered four different ones. I personally recommend the bacon blue, butI am the only one that ate it! The beach grill is always a favorite. So great to eat some grilled meats and have a drink right on the beach.

We did breakfast in our villa each morning which gave us leisure time and planning opportunities for the day. The oceanfront view and breezes are lovely.

Our family comments about this particular villa, compared to our previous ones, is that this one felt like it might be in the resort owners pool or rented out so much that they haven't had time to remedy some short comings. The patio chairs were all off balance and at night, during the breezes, they rocked back and forth so much it kept everyone in the closest room awake. We attempted several times to move them and adjust them, but it was most of them. We could hear our neighbors footsteps more this time and got on the teens in our villa several times before we realized it wasn't them. The kitchen wasn't as well equipped as in the past. Small things like no tray for silverware, so all the silverware was just all bunched up in a drawer. There were no leftover dry spices or salt and pepper in the villa (perhaps a covid issue), but those are always nice to find. In a villa for 6, there were only 4 drinking cups. So we were drinking cocktails and water from coffee cups. Also, it had a weird electric digital cooktop with no directions to operate it. After we watched 3-4 youtube videos, we discovered there was an unmarked, digital safety button that needed to be held in first. Directions for this would be helpful in the future.

It was clear that the rug in the main bedroom was not vacuumed regularly. My husband got on me that my shoes had brought in some sand, so I attempted to shake the rug and found a hill of sand from half the beach. I know I hadn't brought in that much! But likely this is life at the beach.

Over all, we love this location and over the years have considered buying a unit. we will continue to stay here.

Room tip: oceanfront is nice
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cristi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
B P, General Manager at Grand Isle Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2021

Dear Cristi P,

Greetings to you and yours and thank you for spending your Thanksgiving with us in the Bahamas! It was a joy to welcome you back and we thank you for sharing your review. As a leadership team, we place great value in understanding what our guests value most and where there may be opportunity to further elevate the experience. In reading your review, we see that our dining experiences continue to shine bright, and we will be sure to let our culinary and service teams know of their success.

As you noted, our spacious units are like having an oceanfront apartment and our three-bedroom units are ideal for larger families and small groups. While we are warmed to read that the space and location were both ideal, we are sorry to learn of the inconsistencies within the room and we thank you for making note of these opportunities. We will be working with our team to resolve these situations as we can, and we look forward to winning your heart in full next Thanksgiving, if not one day sooner. Until then.

Warm regards,

Dean Spychalla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2021 via mobile

This is our third stay at Grand Isle and I find myself leaving disappointed and completely ready to go home. Let me start with the positives.

Pros: Beautiful facility which is likely the best on the island, friendly staff, excellent beach, nice pool and beautiful grounds. The food is good but not great, and never really changes. We thoroughly enjoyed dining at 23 Degrees North, the only onsite restaurant with a dinner menu. Our villa, 1411 was beautiful and more updated than the last two we stayed in, but the A/C was a Nest and controlled by the owner/hotel. This meant no matter what, that Nest was cranking the air back up to 74 degrees at a moments notice. The resort offers free Covid testing for your villa guests in order to get home. The tests are done onsite and are so easy, with results emailed to you within the hour. We had ours within 20 minutes, which was the best and most efficient we’ve had around the world thus far. There are some exceptional staff— Annette, Gordon, Aaron, Emmerson, and Kevin— all of which work the bars/beach but no matter where you find them, they bring a smile to your face! It seems the resort has done some much needed maintenance on their facilities; paint in the dining areas and villas, reopening 23 Degrees North, new lighting, etc. The work gave it a mild facelift, but the jowls still sag if you know what I mean.

With that being said, let’s get real. This place is a mismanaged disaster. Whoever is “managing” this place should be fired. Immediately.

Cons: Let’s start with the front desk. We would call the front desk for various things and it would ring over and over and over. I would hang up and try again. Nothing. So I tried the concierge. No answer. Housekeeping. Nope. Security. Ha, right. No answer. Let me just say this wasn’t ONE TIME, it was multiple times during our 6 night stay. I thought perhaps it was our phone line, but low and behold, I did get through one time so I know the phones were operational. I would decide to walk down to the office and would find the team sitting there chatting and laughing. If this happened once I would be annoyed, but it happened FOUR TIMES. It’s not only beyond frustrating, it’s downright dangerous.

The housekeeping is a joke. Every day they would come whenever they wanted, if at all. It’s as if they had a check list of things to do in your villa and would decide which of those items they wanted to cover. Bed made, but no towels. New towels but they didn’t take out any trash or sweep/vacuum. Bed made but not completely with the pillows left on the floor. Or my personal favorite, take out the trash from the kitchen upstairs and let it drip coffee grounds and debris from the upstairs all the way down to the first floor and then onto the entry patio. We called (no answer as mentioned above) and then finally had to walk down to the front desk and got Jay involved after standing there waiting for 15 minutes. I had to show them a picture of how bad it was so they would understand. Thankfully within an hour they arrived back to clean up the mess. On our last day, we had no housekeeping at all. After calling at 6pm
to let them know and ask for towels, I couldn’t get through (no surprise there), so I walked into the empty lobby. I told them about the situation and they said, oh ok, let me make a note of that. GREAT! What’s a note supposed to do?? The only constant was when late afternoon hit, you would see the whole cleaning staff pile their happy faces into a golf cart and speed off into the sunset all laughing and playing on their phones, while paying guests used hand towels as a bath towel. It was beyond frustrating. It seems the housekeeping issues extended to the pool/beach facilities because guests could hardly ever find pool towels that were clean and ready for use. As soon as a clean load would come out, guests would scurry to snatch them up in case no more came out.

Another interesting issue is the amount of locals that frequent the establishments on site. We love meeting local folks and learning all about their island, but this is different. Let me give you some examples: they take over all the seats at the bar at night and then brag about how they drink for free or for cheaper than guests. One instance, we were at the bar for Thanksgiving Dinner— a night so busy they had to serve dinner until after 11pm and couldn’t take any more reservations. The bar was standing room only, and just as my family got up from our seats, an employee and friend jumped in and grabbed our seats. Wouldn’t you think they would prefer to accommodate their paying guests? Nope! The resort needs to seriously look into having a “no hanging out on off days” policy for the employees. I’m sure their margins would go way up once the “local rate” was removed from their bottom line.

As I mentioned above, they’ve done some renovations, which include some big changes to The Palapa Bar/Grill. While it looks fresh and beachy, the residential style fans with lighting that have been installed kill all ambience the Palapa once had. It is now illuminated like an airplane runway and all that’s left ambiance wise is a large, awkwardly placed TV blaring in the corner.

Next up, the BUGS. Whether you want to call them mosquitos, noseeums, sand fleas, Chingas, whatever… they’re INSANE. Bring bug spray and baby oil. Sandals Resort down the way would spray 2 times a day and yet there was rarely any bug spray offered to guests on site at Grand Isle. The concierge actually told a guest to go buy it at the resort store for a hefty price tag. I’m literally leaving the island with hundreds of bug bites all over my body. While this isn’t directly Grand Isle’s issue, I would suggest they consider spraying or offering guests bug spray/baby oil.

Over all, I’m so torn to write this review, because this is a beautiful, special place in Exuma and I’m not sure there are better options out there other than private homes. But I’ll tell you, this place needs a stern manager to whip this place into shape, or guests will quickly be finding another destination for their vacation and hard earned dollars.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank Jaime B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
B P, General Manager at Grand Isle Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2021

Dear Jaime B,

It was a pleasure to welcome you back to Exuma and we appreciate your Grand Isle loyalty. While we took great joy in reading your long list of things to love about Grand Isle Resort & Residences, we are sorry to learn of the moments of inconsistency and we appreciate you taking the time to share your valuable feedback.

As your comments note, our resort, like many others throughout the world, has made changes to our housekeeping program considering the current pandemic. With that in mind, we are thrilled to be offering a light daily service, whereas many other hotels are still on hold with a daily effort. That daily refresh includes making the bed and fresh towels as needed, though in reading your review, it seems as though other services were sometimes provided and sometimes not. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention as it will provide a topic of conversation in our ongoing team coaching with our hard-working team. Your added comments regarding beach towel availability have been heard and we are pleased to report that a much-needed part for our dryers is arriving within a few short weeks and we look forward to being able to launder towels much quicker as soon as those repairs are made.

Regarding locals enjoying our spaces, we certainly welcome guests from near and far, though we assure you that our food and beverage menus are the same for each of our guests. In a year like the last 12 months we’ve just experienced, we take pride in also inviting our employees to celebrate the holiday, and with that in mind, we welcomed our off-duty colleagues to join us in the restaurant after guest reservations had been accommodated. We apologize if this left you disappointed, though we felt it important to show our thankfulness and gratitude to the team.

We appreciate your added feedback, and we look forward to shining brighter the next time we see you. If we can offer our assistance in planning your return, we encourage you to be in touch.

Warm regards,

Dean Spychalla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews