We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (608)
Filter reviews
608 results
Traveller rating
564
32
4
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
564
32
4
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews banana bure our honeymoon outdoor shower meal plan wonderful staff welcome song mango packed lunch homemade cookies the cottages other guests taveuni island the main house close to the airport rainbow reef cd player fish
Filter
Updating list...
392 - 397 of 608 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We found Coconut Grove through Trip Adviser as we were looking for somewhere special to celebrate our Ruby wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed - from our arrival being welcomed by the girls singing, comfortable, clean and quality furnished room (Mango Bure), beautiful food and a relaxing setting right on the beach to our tearful departure again to the farewell singing.
Ronna and staff couldn't have been more helpful as they booked trips for us to the Lavena Coastal walk, Bouma Falls and Waitabu Marine Park (amazing snorkelling!)
We were so sorry to leave and can't wait to book our next visit!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakeview03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We came for R&R and that's what we got for 2 solid weeks. What a place to relax and get waited on hand and foot. Even when it rained we could relax on our bed( fantastic room) and look out over the ocean.Ronna and all her staff were the best but we received special care from Serah, Rosie,Bimla, Vina, Kata, Flori, Fina, and we made to feel at home from the extra special atttention of Millie.( dare I call her a dog?) and Creamsicle and Popsicle the kittens. We didn't do much sight seeing as we had been to Fiji twice before but we had everything we wanted right there. We would definitely go back again if only to be treated so well.

Room Tip: Although all the burres have ocean views, we felt really spoilt in the Banana Burre as it was only steps away form the beach.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosenbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

This was hands down our best vacation my wife and I have taken. Everything was amazing from the people to the food to the excursions. I mean everyone we passed, either driving, walking, or biking, on Taveuni would wave and say hello. I've never experienced that in all the places I've traveled. Not to mention all the free little extras like kava and music before dinner some nights, basket weaving and cooking lessons, a free 30 min massage on arrival (you may have to fight for it if there are two of you), etc.

I highly recommend getting the prepaid food plan if you choose Coconut Grove since it's got AMAZING smoothies, food, and desserts. You end up getting 3 meals a day for the price of 1.5.

As far as security we had no issues. There is a safe inside, the bures lock up completely, and there is a security guard who walks the premise at night.

The island of Taveuni is definitely less built up so prepare for some amazing relaxing days of unwinding with a good book or other self entertainment but the activities you can do during the day including free kayaks to great snorkeling out front of your bure are enough to tire you out for the night.

We've told all our friends and family how amazing it was and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shapirsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Loved the Coconut Grove. Rhonda and the girls were friendly and attentive the entire week. They took care of whatever we needed to make sure that we enjoyed ourselves.

Loved the snorkeling on the reef right outside the property. Loved the hammock on the beach beneath the palms. Loved the fact that there are only 3 bures on the property so you didn't feel like a tourist, but rather like a guest of the family. I recommend taking the bikes and riding into town one day. It's a great way to see the island.

The food is outstanding. We tried several other restaurants on the island, but none compared. Fresh fruit at every meal, Ika Vaka Lolo at dinner (Fish in Coconut Milk). Papaya curry for lunch. Nothing beats sitting back on the patio watching the ocean while eating your meal.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank El_Guapo242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Our week as guests of Ronna and her staff at Coconut Grove Cottages was the best week of vacation we have had ever, anywhere, at any price!

Coconut Grove has a just 3 bures and another guest room in the main house, so the service is very relaxed and personal. The staff offer really good massages at a very low rate in the massage bure on the beach. There are kayaks and bikes for the guests use and an excellent reliable cheap taxi service. The gardens are spectacular and provide daily fresh flowers for the bures. The resort also has its own extensive fruit and vegetable garden and the staff in the kitchen do an incredible job turning out food to order that is simply delicious. There aren't many restaurants on Taveuni, and Coconut Grove has to be the best.

Our bure was clean, comfortable and well laid out. The deck and outdoor shower had fantastic views of the moon and stars at night and the beach and ocean during the day.

The beach was clean and close, just a few steps away. The waters were warm and inviting and the snorkeling and kayaking were easy and fun, the reefs were quite close and very pretty, and there were some small islands just far enough away to make a great picnic spot.

Taveuni is the Garden Island of Fiji and very undeveloped. There are few resorts and houses for rent, so it definitely will appeal more to the eco-traveller then anyone expecting a more typical vacation spot. There are no nightspots, few bars and restaurants and few tourist sights. There are however great scenic views and sunsets; rain forest; miles of unspoilt Heritage Park to hike; too many waterfalls to count; lots of great beaches to enjoy; and miles and miles of reefs to kayak, snorkel and dive.

We’re not hikers so we gave the rain forest a miss, although fellow guests were very impressed.

We kayaked and hiked the Lavena Coastal Trail with a guide. It was so enjoyable we went back the next day to rent a boat and explore further down the southeast coast and enjoy all the waterfalls that drain this side of the Island. Lavena Village has few facilities, but CG staff had made all the arrangements and sent us off with a packed lunch. The guides were great fun and very informative and made the trip really enjoyable.

We went diving and snorkeling on the Rainbow Reef in the Somosomo Straits. Dive Taveuni did a great job. World class diving from a nice boat with a really talented local divemaster and lots of warm Fijian smiles. The reefs and the surface interval locations were equally stunningly beautiful!

On Ronna’s recommendation we went to the Mission church on Sunday at Wairiki. The massed voices singing in harmony was incredibly beautiful. No matter how you feel about religion this is not to be missed.

But without a doubt, it was the exceptional staff at the Coconut Grove Beachfront Resort who made our stay so enjoyable. Every one there has perfected the art of anticipating their guests’ every need and delivering service at just the right time with a cheery Fijian smile and a very warm “Vinaka”. We have never felt so well looked after, or so sad to leave when it was time to go. Not surprisingly, we’re already discussing our return trip.

Room Tip: The Banana Bure is the closest to the beach.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeysPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews