We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday we've ever had”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Matei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed for 7 days but wish we had booked for 7 weeks! Everythng was perfect from the moment we arrived & were greeted by the girls singing, to the (sad) moment we left, farewelled by the girls singing Isa Lei.
We split our stay between the Papaya and Banana bures. Papaya is the smallest but is still great. We stayed in Papaya first & I thought "this is great & it's the smallest - I can't wait to see the Banana bure!" Papaya was lovely & Banana was sensational, due to the fact it has a hot outdoor shower. Both bures were very clean & extremeley well maintained, and supplied with quality linen & towels. Both bures had sun lounges on their own decks and hammocks nearby.
The staff at Cocount Grove are amazing. Ronna is a lovely lady and has employed first class staff. A big thank you to Sereh, Bimla, Rosie, Kata, Vina,Flori, Fina, Petero, Robert, and Lagi ( sorryif I've missed anyone). The food was amazing & the service fantastic. The girls found me wherever I was each afternoon to give me my coffee & cookies, even when I was down at the beach.I would recommend that you don't bother going anywhere else for meals as the best meals on the island are at Coconut Grove. Make sure you have the banana and papaya breads, they are fantastic. We loved our candlight dinner by the beach.The fruit, vegies and herbs come from Coconut Grove's garden and are fresh & delicious. Every meal was beautifully prepared and tasted great. We were asked what we felt like for dinner & how we wanted it prepared.
Sereh does the best massage. Be sure to book at least one with her.The girls organised our day trips to Lavena Coastal Walk, Bouma Falls, Waitabu Marine Park, and Wairiki Church for Sunday Mass. Robert was our driver for each trip and was great. Nothing was too much trouble for Ronna and her staff, who made us feel as though we were part of the family. We are really missing them.
The beach was right in front of the property and provided great swimming & snorkelling. There are kayaks and snorkelling equipment available for guests to use.The grounds were well maintained , with beautiful flowers and foliage.
This trip was an early 25th wedding anniversary celebration and we could not have chosen a better place to be. We had been to Fiji 5 times previously and our stay at Coconut Grove was the best. When we next come back to Fiji, it will be to Cocount Grove.
Thanks again, Ronna and staff.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 64Jojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 342 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

* Coconut Grove - its owner and her staff - wonderful people! We were made to feel like members of their own family - a very special family - from day one to the sad day when we left.
* The room accomodations were clean, comfortable and exceeded the 'vacation-like' expectations.
* The beach front was always kept clean and the ocean surprisingly WARM! So perfect!!!
* The meals and the service were both beyond expectations - wonderful.
* A person cannot go wrong centering vacation time at such a romantic, laid-back, warm, beautiful place

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrisattheranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Apologies to Steve Irwin (may he rest in peace) for stealing 'by crikey' but it seemed absolutely appropriate for Coconut Grove. When you read through all the reviews below you will see why. My wife, Jeanette and I stayed for 7 nights and absolutely loved the place. The food is great and they even went out of there way to look after Jeanette who is a very choosy vegetarian, thanks very much to Bilma and Vina. Ronna who owns and manages the Resort (which is more like a cosy B&B) looks after your every whim. She reminded me straight away of that special Aunty you always wanted to spend your holidays with. Her team, which is really like an extended family are just fantastic. They are very warm and friendly, they love to have a chat, share a bowl of Kava or sing a song.
The restaurant looks out over the sea with great views and great service. You will certainly never go hungry. There is plenty to do on Taveuni Island island from kayaking along the coastline, to bush walking up to beautiful waterfalls or diving/snorkelling amongst amazing soft corals. If your lucky like me you may even get to see a black or white tip reef shark, they are beautiful creatures close up.
Many thanks to Ronna, Rosie, Serah, Kata, Pedro, Bilma, Vina, Fina, Flori and Lungi for a great week at Coconut Grove.

Room Tip: The rooms are a good size with an outdoor shower and verandah overlooking the sea. They are service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveW226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed in the Papaya Bure which was small but pleasant and comfortable with a great outlook onto the garden and beach. Good bed. An easy chair in the room would make it more comfortable when confined by wet weather. Food was very good but don't expect to lose weight while you are there. We were on meal plan and had to resist eating all courses on offer.
The highlight was the people at Coconut Grove. Ronna goes out of her way to ensure you are happy. The staff were very friendly, charming and attentive - this included those in the restaurant, gardeners/maintenance staff and taxi drivers. A packed lunch was provided for day excursions which can all be organised through the resort. It was great to arrive back from day trips or snorkelling and find a pot of coffee and cookies in the room.
"Fiji Time" is a myth as everything ran like clockwork, but in a relaxed manner.
Handy to the airport, a short walk to have a coffee, cake and home made "Kahlua" at Audreys, and straight across the road from "the Bula man". Audrey is a remarkable woman but resist eating too much cake late in the afternoon as you will be in trouble with Ronna if you can't eat your dinner. The Bula man is entertaining to spend 10 minutes with but his spiced peas are stale and his bananas will not be ripe tomorrow.
Nice beach, free use of kayaks and reasonable snorkelling.
Taveuni is a lovely island and deserves its reputation as the "Garden Island". It was cloudy a lot of the time we were there and we had plenty of rain. Weather prevented us kayaking one way on the Lavena walk (which is a must do, with a guide) and getting to the 3rd waterfall at Bouma. However, it was warm and still worth doing in the rain.
We had a great time and and will definitely return. Vinaka vaka levu to all the crew.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

I stayed four nights in the Papaya Bure and absolutely loved the accomodations, location, staff and incredible service. In addition to the cozy cottages, the restaurant was delicious at every meal and the staff helped me set up all my day trips around the island. A perfect place to stay for a romantic getaway or by yourself to rejuvinate and pamper yourself.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shheldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matei
1.1 km away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 11 in Taveuni Island
357 reviews
1.6 km away
Makaira Resort
Makaira Resort
#3 of 4 in Matei
106 reviews
1.3 km away
Tides Reach Resort
Tides Reach Resort
#4 of 4 in Matei
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38,355.5 km away
Taveuni Dive Resort
Taveuni Dive Resort
#5 of 11 in Taveuni Island
75 reviews
15.4 km away
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
#1 of 1 in Waiyevo
182 reviews
14.5 km away
Matangi Private Island Resort
Matangi Private Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matangi Island
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages

Address: 9 Matei Rd, Matei, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Taveuni Island > Matei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Matei
Price Range: $264 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property sits on the only white sand beach on Taveuni with unobstructed views. come stay with us if you want a couples only, noise free holiday. no stress no crowds. just relaxation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages Hotel Taveuni Island
Coconut Grove Beachfront Hotel
Hotel Coconut Grove Beachfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing