We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HEAVEN!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Matei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I won't go on and on because every other person has said the same thing, and it all was true! You know how sometimes you have an expectation from looking at the website and it turns out they only took pictures of the nice parts of the place...well this place went beyond our expectations. Pictures and words cannot encapsulate this place. The bure was awesome, the beach was pristine, and the hotel grounds were immaculate.

But the thing that sets this place apart was the service. You could not ask for a more amazing staff. They sang to us when we arrived and left, the room was always clean with cookies and tea/coffee whenever we wanted, and the food was out of this world. They even baked us a huge chocolate cake for our anniversary dinner on the beach (We didn't even ask for it)! The cooking class with Bimla was great and the massages on the beach with Rosi were fantastic (30 dollars for an hour massage and the 4th one is free, you can't beat that deal!)

Another great thing was all the amenities that the hotel has at no cost. There are kayaks, snorkels & fins, hammocks, bikes, it's so great to just have that stuff around. We kayaked almost every day, going out to the reef to snorkel or out to the secluded island where we busted up coconuts like "Castoway" and engorged ourselves on the beach.

And lastly, the price. Compared to the other places on Taveuni, this place is a steal! We had the meal plan and it was totally worth it. I've seen similar places like this in other parts of the world that would easily go for 800 dollars a night...you can't beat it!

We miss you all already, I hope all the babies come out happy and healthy!! Thanks again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trageseraf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 327 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at Coconut Grove for our honeymoon and we could not have picked a better place. The location is beautiful, the service is unmatched and the food served was the best we had in Fiji! I would highly recommend Coconut grove if you are staying in Taveuni!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mango Bure...amazing stay! Ocean view, 2nd closest to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Giannina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I would like to take this opportunity to give my comments on a delightful homey resort…. Coconut Grove has been around for many years and the experience shows in this charming 3 private bure resort. What I like most is the the delicious food…People from all areas of the island including the tourist of course eat here. Ronna the proprietor is delightful and knows her business and makes sure your stay is unforgettable. The private bures or cottages have a real warm bed and breakfast feel to them and you will more than feel at home. Of course the resort is right on a beautiful white sandy beach a wonderful place for sunset cocktails. If you don’t stay here drop in for breakfast lunch or dinner, I defiantly recommend it.................

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lovelyisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed at Coconut Grove for part of our honeymoon. Knowing what we know now we wish we would have stayed there the entire time. The entire property is so peaceful and the landscaping is beautiful. The beach in front of the property is one of the best on the island and there was never a single soul on it. The staff provided exceptional service and were extremely friendly. We ate at several other restaurants on the island and nothing even compared to what the Coconut Grove served. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hunter73Houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

To all concerned, we are the people who had the missing make-up bag! We did not post the review named "frightening".
My friends and I had the pleasure of staying at Coconut Grove in March and found it to be a warm, private and idyllic.
The staff was efficient, warm and cheerful and we would be delighted to stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmcnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophieFiji, Owner at Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

Bula Lisa and Katya,
thanks for this. We haven't a clue who falsely put that post up but it has been removed as of yesterday.
we try every day to do the best we can & appreciate your kind words so much.

you were wonderful guests & the whole staff join me in a big vinaka vaka levu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matei
1.1 km away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 11 in Taveuni Island
359 reviews
1.6 km away
Makaira Resort
Makaira Resort
#3 of 4 in Matei
106 reviews
1.3 km away
Tides Reach Resort
Tides Reach Resort
#4 of 4 in Matei
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38,355.5 km away
Taveuni Dive Resort
Taveuni Dive Resort
#5 of 11 in Taveuni Island
79 reviews
0 km away
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
#1 of 1 in Waiyevo
183 reviews
14.5 km away
Matangi Private Island Resort
Matangi Private Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matangi Island
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages

Address: 9 Matei Rd, Matei, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Taveuni Island > Matei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Matei
Price Range: $278 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property sits on the only white sand beach on Taveuni with unobstructed views. come stay with us if you want a couples only, noise free holiday. no stress no crowds. just relaxation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages Hotel Taveuni Island
Coconut Grove Beachfront Hotel
Hotel Coconut Grove Beachfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing