We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb eating..an eye for detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Matei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Even though we were staying in a different resort along the road, we came here several times for breakfast, lunch and dinner. All the times the attentive and always smiling staff prepared delicious food (polynesian cuisine with a subtle 'western' hint) and made you feel at home . On the verandah you have a wonderful view over the beautiful garden, beach and coral reef and the 3 small islands in front of Matei. All in all a very good atmosphere and we ll definately try to book a 'beach' bure here next time on Taveuni (and bring some 'muntendrop')

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tukibek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

441 - 445 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2009

my wife and i spent the better part of our honeymoon at coconut grove in fiji(we were there for 7 days!). the most memorable parts of our stay were the friendly faces that helped us with whatever we needed; always with smiles and 'bula's!' and how they went out of their way to make sure we had the best time on our stay.

next, the food was fantastic. the first night we were there they had a buffet and laid out all the food on the deck siding and we all waited for the word 'go!' with mouths watering at the wonderful smells and amazing presentation. we had breakfast included in our plan and it was always delicious: banana pancakes, fruit smoothies, coconut bread, eggs, bacon, etc...it was all excellent. we paid separate for the dinners, but we ended up eating there every night as they had the best food on the island(we found this out by asking around).

finally, the huts/bures we stayed in were so relaxing, clean, and fun. they have outdoor, lava rock showers(just make sure they know if the hot water cylinder needs to be changed, and they'll take care of you in a heartbeat). there were plantation style shutters all around and even ceiling fans to keep us comfortable.

did i mention the excellent service? they sang us a welcome song when we got there and sang a beautiful good-bye song on our last day. they offer you a thermos of coffee at night(for us early morning coffee drinkers)...which was a fun twist. they always had they place clean, inviting, and relaxing; i couldn't imagine a better view for breakfast or lunch. they'll even help you book taxis/events if you let them know where you're going the next day.

bottom line: too much good to say, not enough room to write it. if you're looking for fancy foofiness, or glitz and glam....don't go here. if you're looking for verandas as the sun rises, amazing sunsets, delicious food, clean rooms, and service with smiles galore, then this is the place for you!

bula! to all our friends at coconut grove on the sweet island of taveuni; til we meet again(soon, i hope!)

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grallison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2009

I just had to respond because I am amazed that someone wrote that this resort is like being behind a store in a urban area. They must have had a falling out with the owner and tried to sabotage the place. This is the most gorgeous, tiny, friendly , charming resort I have ever seen. You are lucky to get a little bure here ( There are only 3, and I have mainly stayed in the only room in the main building, which is OK, too, but not the same). They are very nice, andscattered down a beautifully landscaped hill to a perfect little white sand beach. There is nothing urban about it. I have never seen outsiders traipsing through (stayed three times). One of the great things is that you sit on this amazing veranda to eat, with a perfect sea view, and Ronna introduces you to all the other guests (maybe 4-8 of them) Some other people come to the restaurant, too; for example, I met a group of Rotary Club dentists who were doing volunteer work on the island). I am still communicating with one couple whom I met there a year ago. Yes, it is on the main road, but everything is set way back. Everything has those perfect tropical views of the sea and waving palm trees. You can go sit on the beach, swim, take out a kayak, get a massage on the beach and never see more than one or two people. I can see it would be a little too "family-like" or small for some honeymooners who want total isolation together, but for a single person, it's great. My friends from the US (couple) loved it too. It's not super upscale, like a 5 star hotel, but it's really nice and the food is so interesting! Always a curry, fresh fish and some good meat. (and you can't always get good meat in Fiji; I have had pretty bad meat at some much more expensive resorts.) Even though the owner is American, I feel like it's a really Fijian boutique experience. That's how to think of it: boutique. If you like little, out of the way, charming places better than big fancy one, this is for you. Once they were full, and I stayed in a much more upscale resort, but honestly, I would go back to CG,even if the price was the same.

Ruth, Suva

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank friendoffiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

My partner & I spent 8 nights at Coconut Grove from 23rd October to 2nd November 2009. What a fabulous place, stunning location, fantastic people that make you feel so comfortable and the most amazing food. We arrived later than expected due to the plane being delayed (We were also delayed for over an hour when we left) The airline will apparently quite often put your luggage on a later flight, this did not happen in our case but we were told that some people didn't receive their luggage until the following day. Your luggage is weighted and also yourself with your carry on weighted before you travel as the plane only seats about 16 people. Coconut Grove is only a few minutes walk from the airport but we were met and transported immediately we'd arrived. We stayed in the Papaya Bure which is the smallest and cheapest of the three bures. It is located below and infront of the restaurant. The room was not large but adequate. The view from the undercover verandah was stunning. There is only 110v power in the room. A fridge and safe are supplied. Staff will supply you with a flask of tea or coffee for overnight as there is no power for kettles. Kayaks were available, also snorkels, goggles & flippers and also mountain bikes. The snorkeling is amazing, kayak to the islands just off shore once low tide has gone and see great coral and fish.
Definitely recommend having a massage on the beach. Our 'package' included a complimentary half hour massage but a full hour massage is even better and is $55FJ
Thanks Sera. Also a trip to Koru Levu out from Garden Island Resort is fabulous for snorkeling and also to see a bit of the island from the taxi. The Bouma waterfall was worth seeing and the Lavena Coastal Walk was very interesting. These are located over rough roads around the other side of the island.
Don't go to Taveuni if you want to wear high heels or blow dry your hair ( girls I mean)
and don't stay at Coconut Grove if you only stay at 5 star resorts. Coconut Grove is a unique experience and one that I would recommend to most people. I'm still missing the smoothies, coconut bread and great curries, but all the food was amazing. Ronna and the staff are really friendly, lovely people and make you feel so welcome. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jabenasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

We spent three nights at Coconut Grove the first part of October. We concluded our honeymoon with a stop on this island after trekking around Bounty Island and the Yasawas.

First of all, the food is amazing! I would highly recommend adding a meal plan to your booking. Try the smoothies!

Secondly, the staff is great! They made our trip extremely romantic and memorable.

Lastly, Ronna is an exceptional host! She constantly went out of her way to exceed all of our expectations! Their high marks on this site and Frommers are well deserved!

Thanks again Ronna and staff!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matei
1.1 km away
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 11 in Taveuni Island
357 reviews
1.6 km away
Makaira Resort
Makaira Resort
#3 of 4 in Matei
106 reviews
1.3 km away
Tides Reach Resort
Tides Reach Resort
#4 of 4 in Matei
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38,355.5 km away
Taveuni Dive Resort
Taveuni Dive Resort
#5 of 11 in Taveuni Island
75 reviews
14.5 km away
Matangi Private Island Resort
Matangi Private Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Matangi Island
268 reviews
15.4 km away
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
#1 of 1 in Waiyevo
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages

Address: 9 Matei Rd, Matei, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Taveuni Island > Matei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Matei
Price Range: $265 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property sits on the only white sand beach on Taveuni with unobstructed views. come stay with us if you want a couples only, noise free holiday. no stress no crowds. just relaxation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages Hotel Taveuni Island
Coconut Grove Beachfront Hotel
Hotel Coconut Grove Beachfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing