We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a Smile”
Review of Le Mogador

Le Mogador
Ranked #16 of 271 Restaurants in Royan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Gourmandises de l'océan & délices d'Orient. Lieu unique, le Mogador vous invite à entrer dans son univers culinaire tout en profitant d'un cadre privilegie, intimiste et convivial. Place à la gourmandise avec une carte variée, véritable invitation au voyage. Nous vous proposons de découvrir une cuisine régionale revisitée avec quelques spécialités de fruits de mer et tajines, mets orientaux . Le chef vous a concocté de nombreux mets avec passion. Nous espérons que vous allez être séduits. En plus de la carte, vous retrouverez sur l'ardoise les suggestions du chef. Notre restaurant vous offre une vue panoramique d'exception avec une terrasse ouverte, au charme singulier, du port de peche de Royan.
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Cosy restaurant with a very friendly and helpful young waiter.

Starters were pleasant (avocado/tomato/crevettes) for my husband and myself and our daughter chosen for the salad with magret fumé, lardons, grillon/pate charentais (even her small portion was huge for a starter).
My husband chosen the best dish: Sole! I had the risotto with st jacques, and an enormous gamba and daughter had moules orientale. It was nice, but I wouldn't order is anymore.

My husband had a coffee with a glass of cognac (please don't serve snickers with it again....but a wrapped plain piece of chocolate or nothing). I had an Irish Coffee (without snickers ;-) ) and daughter a the gourmand, 3 small desserts is not exactly what I call 'gourmand'.

The restaurant serves also dishes from Morocco which made them different to other restaurants. Next time I'll have one of the tagines.

The rating I would give is between 3 and 4, however, the 4 because of the waiter.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank aubellefleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Nice place, nice view, very friendly staff. Good and fresh food: with my husband we took fish soup and tartar of tuna, our 3 kids took kids menu. We enjoyed our meals and our kids were welcomed there. Highly recommended for families who are looking quality/price food

Thank Lyubasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
le Mogador Roya... l, Gérant at Le Mogador, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Hi and thank you for your recent and excellent advice.

This will help other anglophone travellers.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

This place is worth seeking out. We Found le Mogador on our last night in Royan, tucked away amongst sheds in the port. It has the most amazing views of the port and across to St Georges de Didonne from the terrace. We were the only English eating at the time. Other tables were flamboyant and happily enthusiastic over huge platters of fruit de mer, topped with enormous crabs or steaming platters of cous cous royale. We ate a more reserved dinner, starting with a fabulous champagne & brandy cocktail and a plate of the plumpest oysters, excellent fish soup, with all the trimmings, then chicken and preserved lemon tagine for me, and flash cooked tuna for my partner. Both finished with homemade tiramisu. Best meal in Royan this year. Paid 100 euros for 3 course menu, plus extra oysters, wine, cocktails and coffee.

Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
le Mogador Roya... l, Gérant at Le Mogador, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Bonjour et merci pour votre récent et excellent avis.
Good morning and thanks for your recent and beautiful advice.

We are delighted to see that english travellers have appreciated quite a lot of our dishes.

Don't forget to tell your friends please.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

I was expecting great things based on other reviews and while good it was not exceptional. Service was fine, location is nice, venue is pleasant. Value for dollar was not there. 6 Euro per scallop is expensive by any standard and significantly more than nearby restaurants.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank grizwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
le Mogador Roya... l, Gérant at Le Mogador, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017
Google Translation

Bonjour et merci pour votre récent avis.
Thanks for your recent advice and for your venue.

Les prix vous ont semblé élevés ...
Prices seems to be high according to you ...

Nous essayons de proposer le meilleur rapport qualité/prix.
We try to offer the best quality/price level.

Cordialement.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016

We had a fantastic good Couscous Royal. As the owner is Marockan you could expect that its good. As a matter of fact its the sister in law which is behind the receipt. Sweeter than Algerian.
We where here in early summer having a " plateau de fruit de mer". As it should be in Royan. Good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tommy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
le Mogador Roya... l, Gérant at Le Mogador, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2016
Google Translation

Bonjour et merci pour votre récent et excellent avis.

Les avis de nos clients étrangers sont encore plus marquants car ils témoignent d'une objectivité encore plus stricte.

Thank you for testifying.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Mogador also viewed

Saint-Georges-de-Didonne, Royan
Royan, Charente-Maritime
 
Royan, Charente-Maritime
Royan, Charente-Maritime
 
Royan, Charente-Maritime
Saint-Georges-de-Didonne, Royan
 

Been to Le Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing