We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Morzine - does what it says on the tin (+ then some!)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simply Morzine - Chalet Carving

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morzine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Simply Morzine - Chalet Carving
Ranked #59 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Morzine
Derry
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simply Morzine - does what it says on the tin (+ then some!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

2010 was my first time on a "luxury catered Chalet" type ski trip. I was not disappointed.
Simply Morzine are an pleasant and efficient small family firm who specialise in organising trips to one single ski resort. Their website is simple to use and the descriptions of accommodation and services are accurate.
This year I travelled with a group of 14 which included my wife and our two young boys (four and three), my outlaws plus some mates and their kids.
Liked - short (one hour) transfers from/ to Geneva airport (included in price). Chalet was spotlessly clean, spacious and well kitted out e.g. Wi-fi + Sauna (not tried simultaneously!). Location - Chalet Carving is 200m from one of the main ski lifts (Pleney). Food was consistently high standard. Service from chalet staff was friendly and efficient. Ski guide service was excellent. Resort - Morzine appears to be a smaller and quieter village - if there is a wild party scene kicking off then it passed us by. The chalet type accommodation really works with young kids as you can relax knowing they are in a safe "home from home" type environment.
Disliked - chaos @ Geneva airport on a Saturday (handover day for Chalets/ week long hotel deals + the Geneva Motor show didn't help!). Mother-in-law's face at breakfast every day for a week (but what can you do?!?).

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derrywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2010

Just got back from a fantastic weeks skiing in Morzine and Avoriaz .A party of 14, family friends, 2 teenagers and a 9 year old.
We have skied Morzine a few times now, always good but this time you could only describe as better then excellent if that's possible.
Chalet Carving could not have been better positioned. Sitting right at the foot of the Plenny Bubble, just behind the four man chair lift. None of that dragging skies and kids up and down the road getting stressed this time. End the day coming down either the blue or red runs and just about straight into your back door, doesn't get much better.
Five good bedrooms all with en-suites were really comfortable, the living area was also very spacious, we filled this chalet to capacity but it never felt crowded. Great views up the mountain from the sitting room. The children can also play safely, sledging just outside the back door.
On to the service, the team from Simply Morzine were second to none. Gium our host might be a snow boarder but he certainly gave us skiers a run for our money. He guided us around the vast area of the Portes du Solell on four of our days and was back in the evening making sure every whim was looked after. His partner Maggie was our chef, yes i said our chef, was absolutely fantastic. I would say that some of our party might be a little hard to please on the food front from time to time, but i can honestly say that i never saw anything but empty plates leaving the table. Cooked breakfast, afternoon tea and cakes, four course evening meal and enough good wine to round off any day could not have been better. Now you could not forget Poppy in all this, she kept the whole show running smoothly, keeping the place clean and tidy, making sure your wine glass was never empty, in fact you were not allowed to lift a finger. Thank you!
Too all the Team at Simply Morzine, thank you all, it Simply could not have been better.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redcow62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

This will be our second year in Chalet Carving, we are three families with children from 5 to 18. The location in morzine cannot be beaten being a few steps from the chair lift. The chalet is very spacious and comfortable and has a new addition, the sauna which is good to help tired muscles. The staff, Gium, Maggie and Bobbie have been really helpful, friendly and nothing has been too much trouble (even to organising 2 quad bike nights out). The food has been fantastic and the wine freeflowing. I would recommend this chalet to anyone wanting a fabulous holiday. The only problem is that nowhere else can compare. Also I can recommend The Edge Snowsports with Paul and Peter for skiing tutition.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelchick022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2009

We shared this chalet with friends, 6 adults & 8 children under 12. Chalet Carving is very comfortable, with lovely views up the Pleney. Superb position next to the Pleney lift & a short walk to the gondola up to Avoriaz. The chalet is comfortable & welcoming. Our hosts, Sam & Sarah were great - friendly, accommodating & a great source of local knowledge. They provided an early meal for the kids. Wii & games room occupied the kids so the adults could eat uninterrupted. Rooms are comfortable, some have low beams. We've been back 3 times!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PleneyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BUXTON
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2009

We and our friends (2 families) visited Chalet Carving, the sister chalet to Chez Pascal, over New Year 2008/2009. The chalet could not be in any better position, right adjacent to the Pleney slopes gondola/chair lift, directly down the street from the Super Morzine gondola to Avoriaz and 50 metres from the main apres ski venues in Morzine.
The owners, Lindsay and Thierry, were absolutely first class in assisting with the pre-visit arrangements of the chalet, ski lift passes, taxi transfers, ski lessons and ensuring that any special requirements of our group were adequately dealt with before we arrived. They also provided a warm welcome and local information to help us get the most out of our stay
The chalet was well decorated, extremely clean, warm and very comfortable with all the features you would hope to find - drying room, ski rack, boot warmer, log fire, honesty bar, under-floor heating in lounge/dining room etc...
Our week was made perfect by the pleasant and attentive service provided by Sarah and Sam, a lovely young couple (with great mates), who provided a varied breakfast, scrumptious afternoon cake and exquisite 4 course meal each day (apart from their one day off!!!)
The skiing was brilliant with good snow conditions right down to the chalet door. Bright sunshine virtually every day!!
If you are looking for a skiing experience to remember then Chalet Carving is the perfect place, we will never forget our visit to Morzine!

  • Liked — Chalet staff, food, wine, location, skiing conditions
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HYDROLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morzine hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel le Tremplin
Hotel le Tremplin
#19 of 50 in Morzine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel L'Equipe
Hotel L'Equipe
#34 of 50 in Morzine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.8 km away
Chalet Hotel La Chaumiere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Les Bruyeres
Hotel Les Bruyeres
#20 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.1 km away
Mountain Mavericks Hotel Le Cottage
0.3 km away
Hotel Le Samoyede
Hotel Le Samoyede
#27 of 50 in Morzine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simply Morzine - Chalet Carving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simply Morzine - Chalet Carving

Property: Simply Morzine - Chalet Carving
Address: 275 Taille du grand Mas | Le Pleney, 74110, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Morzine
Price range (per night): $113 - $217
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply Morzine’s Chalet Carving is arguably Morzine’s best-located luxury chalet. The chalet is at the foot of Morzine's main Pleney ski slopes and lifts, yet discrete and secluded, with the resort centre just 100 metres away. The ultimate 'ski-in, ski-out' chalet! The chalet is available catered in winter. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing